We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Adding to the enthusaistic appreciation for Burlington House Hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Burlington House Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
LONDON
Level Contributor
149 reviews
117 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 347 helpful votes
“Adding to the enthusaistic appreciation for Burlington House Hotel.”
Reviewed 20 October 2013

A quick skip through the many reviews for this property confirms the enthusiastic appreciation guests have for this excellent Oxford B&B. It is welcoming, comfortable and immaculately clean. We stayed for three nights and confirm all that others have said about it.

Oxford is not a car-friendly city, and as a tourist it can be difficult to negotiate and a nightmare to find parking. One of the great virtues of Burlington House Hotel is that it is very easy to locate, a block or two down from the ring road and clearly signed. Parking is free and directly beside the hotel. The local bus service is frequent day and night, and takes you to the city centre in ten minutes. Walking round Oxford from the centre is easy and there are good maps available from the tourist information office.

The hotel is, as all the reviews say, clean and a period property that has been well modernised. Our bathroom was up-to-date with an excellent power shower. A minor niggle is that there was no conditioner in the bathroom.

The bed in our room (No 1) was very big and deeply comfortable.

We looked out along the Banbury Road towards the Summertown shopping centre and the city centre and with triple glazing there was no noise from the road.

We were welcomed and given all the helpful information we needed for our stay. The fresh orange juice we were offered on arrival was welcome after a journey from London.

In terms of value for money it must be hard to beat.

We have no reservations about recommending Burlington House Hotel and if our best friends were going we would probably say to them... don't expect enormous rooms. Our room was perfectly fine but not large - there may be other larger rooms in the property. The stairwell is wallpapered and the dado and doors are painted in a Farrow and Ball grey which may make it appear narrower than it is. Similarly the breakfast room is quite small. These are trivial observations and hardly affected our comfort. It is possible that guests may find them adding to the coziness of their stay.

The quality and choice of the breakfast was excellent.

Nes, as others have observed, is helpful and willing and charmingly makes it clear that he is always available to make guests as comfortable as possible.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boulbon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

463 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    320
    94
    32
    9
    8
See reviews for
48
225
38
69
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

Nes seems to be a One man Band in the B&B and runs it very well! From booking to leaving, it was a painless and enjoyable experience. Most comments seem to include the excellent breakfasts, which we happily endorse. Summertown is close enough to the City centre to be a short bus ride away, but the local area has some interesting shops and (important to us) good eating places a short walk away.
I would happily recommend this B&B to my family and friends, as well as to passing visitors.This visit was with my sister, but now we know of it, my husband & I shall be staying there quite soon.We both appreciate good showers, cleanliness and a warm welcome and these were all there, "in spades", as they say.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rasata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elyria, Ohio
Level Contributor
263 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 August 2013

My daughter and I were finishing a 10 day trip in England with a few nights in Oxford and booked Burlington House after reading a write up in the NY Times. It is rated as 5 star by the AA (England's AAA) so we expected quite a luxurious accommodation.
As other's have written, the location is in Summerfield, convenient and a short walk to some nice restaurants and a short bus ride from Oxford, though we chose to walk into and out of town one day and it was maybe 30 minutes of exercise each way. If you'd rather a bus, they seem to come every 10-15 minutes so leaving your car in the Burlington off street parking is really the way to go.
We got to the B&B to check in later than I had hoped to (got lost) and Nes greeted us with a rapid fire download of how the place operates, where to go, what to see, where to eat and headed out to the gym. Our room, #7, was a good size with two twin beds facing the street. There were large windows and despite the triple glazing (three panes) we could still hear a good bit of noise from Banbury Road where the B&B is situated.
As others have said, the rooms are tastefully appointed, beds very comfortable and ours was quite bright with the shades pulled. However, it was hard for me to ascertain why this place was rated with 5 stars and others we had stayed at were 4 stars. As this is a townhouse, understand you will be bringing your bags up and down stairs so don't pack too heavily!
We tried one of Nes's recommendations for dinner that night and he knows what he's talking about...if you have any questions about where to go or what to do, ask...he can help you.
The next morning we discovered the reason for that 5th star...breakfast. Fresh squeezed orange juice, homemade bread, free range eggs...bacon actually cooked properly and to order! Want cereal? They make their own granola...yummy and their own yougart...heavenly. We ate everything! This was the only B&B we stayed at where we were offered a menu in the morning and offered a choice of something cooked for us...we tried the full English breakfast one morning and omelets the next. Everything they source is organic...local produce if they can get it. We left every morning with a big smile on our faces (and no need to eat until dinner)!
As we spent a couple of days here we found Nes to be one of those high energy, always on the way to do something sort of people, but once you corralled him, he was happy to help with plans and directions.
We enjoyed our stay and maybe next time will try a different room for a change of pace.

Room Tip: The rooms on the front of the building face busy Banbury Road which takes you into Oxford, so if you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wamrazing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2013 via mobile

Lovely B&B in a great location, the host was great - very friendly and helpful and gave lots of useful local information. The room was really nice and breakfast was really good as well. I've paid a lot more to stay in much worse places! Burlington House was great value for money and we had a very enjoyable stay, we would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Natalie Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level Contributor
118 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The owner Nes could not be more helpful and I would thoroughly recommend the hotel for his welcoming and caring attitude, without being fussy or nosey. A perfect balance of host and concierge.

A beautiful house tastefully decorated, with large and comfortable beds and a powerful and hot shower. Spotlessly clean and very cheerful housekeeping colleagues. The fan in the room was a nice touch in the heat.

Tasty granola and home mad bread, a wonderful spread at breakfast.

Summertown is a short walk away and the Oxford Wine Cafe was fun to catch up with friends in.

Do stay here, a real treasure.

Room Tip: Room 8 had a huge bed and was a spacious room. The mirrors were well placed to maximise light and il...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKJEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2013

We spent four nights here and though it wasn't a holiday visit and had its share of stresses, we came away feeling relaxed largely due to our visit to this hotel. Both Nes and Malcolm were very helpful and made us feel very much at home. Our twin ensuite was a spacious room with a sparklingly clean bathroom and a strong shower..and the most comfortable bed of any hotel we've been in. My mother's single room upstairs was perfect for her. The breakfast was even better than we all expected..and we ate way too much and enjoyed every bit of it! We even left our car in the space on the premises for the duration of our stay and enjoyed walking into Summertown or Oxford. In short, we are very glad to have stayed here.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moraga, California
Level Contributor
203 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

We only had a one night visit to Oxford and we were very happy with our choice of the Burlington House. Nes greeted us with enthusiasm and provided with very useful information about Oxford and how to use the buses into town center. As parking in Oxford can be very difficult this was valuable insight. It is only a 10 minute bus ride from a bus stop in front of the hotel direct to the center of Oxford. A short walk from the hotel to Summertown one can find restaurants and pubs without having to look in Oxford.
Our room was a good size (top floor) and the bath/shower was modern and roomy. No problem of low water pressure that can be a problem in some B&B's/hotels.
Breakfast was ample and a hot option is available to your choice.
Overall, a great stay and would stay again.

Room Tip: The hotel has no elevator so if you have difficulty carrying bags up perhaps 3 flights of steps ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eurotraveler280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.9 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
2.1 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,149 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
2.0 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burlington House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burlington House Hotel

Property: Burlington House Hotel
Address: 374 Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 7PP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#5 Family Hotel in Oxford
#7 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Burlington House Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Recently refurbished boutique B&B nestled in the heart of Summertown, just north of Oxford's dreamy Spires. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Burlington House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing