We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent Hosts”
Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Excellent Hosts”
Reviewed 6 March 2013

We had some special requests (a very late check in, specific furniture in the room) and the hosts were very gracious and accommodating. Other reviews complain about the noise, however we were in a room with a window overlooking the back and it was very quiet. The only noise we heard was through the door when people were in the hall, however this was not a problem and very brief. Our room was a bit small but this is a period house and that is to be expected. As we did not have breakfast I can't comment on that aspect. The free parking was definitely a plus for us and we were also very glad to be within easy walking distance of the city centre. There is also a bus stop right outside with very frequent service. Just down the road is the Head of the River pub which turned out to be a perfect place for us to enjoy a pint and some food. A suitcase stand would be very welcome in terms of improving the room as we had to put our suitcase on the floor. Overall, Newton House is a great value in Oxford which can be very expensive. Friendly, welcoming hosts, free parking, and good location are top features.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank T F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

207 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    85
    57
    17
    13
See reviews for
47
98
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cyprus
Level Contributor
52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

our winter stay in uk has seen cold damp weather but brightened up by a cosy guest house and joys of oxford. Just a short walk(10 mins) to city centre and providing exactly what we wanted a chance to explore on foot the spires of Oxford. Superb breakfast, comfortable if basic bedroom and adequate ensuite facilities.Whilst certainly not luxury the room is good value if fairly cramped.Wouls stay here again if wanting a convenient walking base for city.Busy road our front but did not affect our rear bedroom which may not be same for front rooms.Tiny bathroom but what more do you want for price!TV and internet excellent. One light not working in room no problem so not reported.Still cant wait to get back home in the sun!

Room Tip: rear rooms are quietest compared to breakfast room facing road
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bobincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portsmouth
Level Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 February 2013

A fantastic little B&B that was welcoming, clean and lived up to all our expectations. The fried breakfast and selection of juices, jams and options really was unexpected. Infinitely better than a lot of the "chain" hotels who charge an arm and a leg for the equivalent. It is also cooked to order rather than being left to sunbathe under a heat lamp too.

The lady who greeted us on arrival was wonderfully polite and helpful.The room we stayed in (top floor) had just been given a lick of paint and had everything you could possibly want in a B&B...

Highly recommended and will definitely stay again when we come to Oxford.

Room Tip: Not sure what the complaints are about the noisy road... We had a front-facing room and didn't h...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013

Just needed a place to stop overnight near the centre of Oxford without paying silly money, and this ticked all the boxes. Friendly staff and a good location (about 15 mins walk from the centre) at a reasonable price. I did find the decor a little on the shabby side and there was some noise at night from the road, but it was very clean, offered free Wifi (which worked), a comfy bed and a good breakfast. Overall pretty good.

Room Tip: If you can, get a room on the top floor (less noise from the road).
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rvk_london
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

We stayed here for two nights whilst my OH attended a conference and I explored Oxford. We chose the Newton Guest House as it was close to the city centre, and appeared to be one of the cheaper options for bed and breakfast in Oxford.

First impressions:
The B&B is on a very (very, very) noisy main road into Oxford. The car park is round the side of the B&B and is very difficult to get into. There is no official “entrance” – you basically have to knock on either the front or back door (or call one of the phone numbers if no one is available to let you in!). There isn’t a reception area – just an office, but the chap who showed us to our room was very friendly and gave us a map.

The room:
Unfortunately, we were put in the front room (room 11) so could hear every single vehicle that passed AND every single conversation outside. We thought this might improve at night – it didn’t. The only room still available to book was a twin room – but we figured we’d just put the beds together to sleep...how wrong we were! Each bed was a different height and neither was massively comfortable; it got to the point where I felt like Goldilocks!
Room 11 is right next to the front door and the walls are paper thin; I think they usually get round this by ending “check-in” at 9pm. However, an extremely loud American lady arrived at 10:45pm on our first night when we had been trying to get to sleep; the night manager made no effort to quieten her or move her away from the front landing area. The proximity of the front door also means that every time a guest enters at night, or leaves first thing in the morning, you are rudely woken (if you manage to sleep at all) by the sound of a slamming door. I must say that on the first night I only got a maximum of 4 hours sleep, and actually went out and bought some earplugs the next day in an attempt to quell the noise. Please note: this did not help the noise – which demonstrates how loud and badly sound-proofed the room was.
The room itself was fine – it was clean, the decor was nice, there were a plethora of lights to choose from, there’s a wardrobe in the room which was handy, there’s a hair-dryer and a good amount of electric plug sockets. There are tea and coffee making facilities (top tip: if you like your tea strong use two tea bags) and the room has an ensuite. The shower is pretty tiny, and being in my third trimester of pregnancy, I found it a rather tight squeeze to get into! The power of the shower is rather pathetic as well.

Breakfast:
The Breakfast room is a medium-sized room in the basement. You could help yourself to yoghurt, cereal and juice (Orange or Apple – not the highest of quality). If you want something more substantial the cook (I can only assume she was the cook) comes to your table and asks you what you would like. We both requested a bacon sandwich... when it arrived it was difficult not to suppress the sleep-deprived giggles; each sandwich had two pieces of over-salted, obliterated bacon inside what I can only assume was smart-price bread. I wouldn’t pay any extra for breakfast if it’s not included in the price of your room – there are some very nice cafes in Oxford that do breakfast.

Overall:
If I’m completely honest it’s probably one of the worst B&B’s I’ve ever stayed in. Unfortunately, Oxford is stupidly expensive when it comes to hotels/B&Bs – Newton House cost us approx £80 per night, which I feel is horrendously over-priced. If my OH’s company hadn’t been paying for the room I would have demanded the money back.

The only positives I can think of: there was free wi-fi...and at least it was clean!

Room Tip: Try and get a room that doesn't face the road. Take your own teabags if you like a good, stro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
5 Thank Hannah J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Langar, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
183 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Whilst it's nothing to look at from the outside, the bedroom we were allocated was decorated in quite a modern style and the bathroom was clean but small. The bed was comfy and everything in the room worked (kettle, hair dryer, lights, etc.). Breakfast was good with choices of full English, vegetarian or continental as well as cereals. Small car park at rear and the buses run right past the front door. If you're a light sleeper, ask for a room at the rear.

It's only a 10 minute walk into Oxford, crossing over the river and past a few good places to eat as well as Christchurch College.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FreakinSweet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2012

Was given room 4 which is a comfortable, pleasant room with good bathroom. Breakfast is hearty.
Staff are more or less invisible apart from breakfast. There is a small shop next door for anything you need. Bus stop outside. 5 minute walk from River and a nice pub on one side and lovely restaurant on the other. Would use again.

Room Tip: would go for top floor as floorboards are very creaky
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Enid S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
1.1 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 95 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Black Horse
Old Black Horse
#37 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 82-84 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing