We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent value for money”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Newton House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Newton House
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
West Midlands
Level Contributor
45 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Excellent value for money”
Reviewed 30 November 2013

My son and I stayed here for one night while walking the Thames Path. It is situated just a fdew minutes walk from the river and ten minutes walk up to the centre of Oxford. We booked a twin room with en suite bathroom for £79 including continental breakfast. Our room had a double and single bed plus a single futon. This made access to half of the large dressing table a little difficult, but we were only had rucksacks with us and so it was not an issue for us. The TV was OK, but a small screen and a doorknob was loose. However, there was plenty of tea, coffee and chocolate drinks, Soft towels and a powerful, hot shower. Full English breakfast was included along with juice, toast, cereals yoghurt and fruit. Friendly, accommodating staff.

Room Tip: Room 4 was upstairs and overlooking the Abingdon Road. Not too noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    83
    56
    17
    13
See reviews for
47
96
4
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Visited for 2 nights weekend with a group of friends. A brilliant position with a bus stop outside and only 10-15 minutes to walk into Oxford. Good points - rooms clean, bed comfortable, breakfast good with plenty of choice, staff friendly, car park free though a bit congested, Not so good points - no communal room which being a group, we would have appreciated, decor a little dated and overpowering in some rooms, rather noisy at the front of the property. However, reasonable value for money .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RozNorthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Terribly run down, needs refurbing, creaking stairs, mouldy bathrooms, so awful i didnt want to lie my head down and seriously thought about moving hotels however it was the christmas light show so all hotels were completley fully booked
Definitely not worth the £125 for one night.
Breakfast was tiny and the bread was mouldy!!
when I told the staff they apologised but then did not recall anyone elses toast which may have been mouldy too so I felt sorry that other people may have eaten the mouldy bread and been ill.
Would definitely not stay here again and recommend everyone to stay well away

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jackie c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Wellingborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed in a twin room for the one night while visiting Oxford for a ghost hunt at the castle. Check in was quick and easy, Manager offered to leave us a key as we thought we would be checking in late but in the end this wasn't necessary. Room was small but clean, slightly noisy though in the morning as we were right on the main road. Breakfast was lovely, especially the vegetarian sausages. Would stay again but would ask for a room that wasn't facing the road.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lianne J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We had stayed in the family room and it was excellent . Spacious and had kettle in it. Staff were very friendly, Location is excellent , 10 min walk to centre and its a pleasant walk. Breakfast was nice and parking was added bonus . Would visit again.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank akshay7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 October 2013

Friendly staff with quality food and service, the manager gave me a tour of the rooms and demonstrated the themed decor etc that was very comfortable. The location was 10 mins walk from the city centre and the views were so relaxing. I would recommend anyone to stay at the Newton house in future.

Room Tip: Ask the staff for a tour.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Russell Chapman C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

Just on the edge of town, only a 10 minute walk to the centre of the action, but also close to the river and some good pubs etc. Rooms were excellent, clean and comfortable, and the breakfast was very good. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Matt H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
481 reviews
0.9 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
621 reviews
0.7 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#31 of 44 in Oxford
65 reviews
1.9 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
0.2 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#11 of 44 in Oxford
1,654 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Newton House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Newton House

Property: Newton House
Address: 82-84 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4PL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Newton House 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Newton House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newton House Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing