We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tammy.” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bath Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bath Place Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Dundee, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tammy.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2013

I loved the quirky set-up of this friendly hotel. Going in & out to reach the various rooms/buildings would not be too easy for anyone with mobility problems. My, garden, room, was clean & comfortable I very private: the breakfast good & unhurried; the staff unobtrusive & helpful. Having the Turf next door was a bonus!
Fairly expensive for solo travel, but I would certainly go there again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TammyTessney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    60
    101
    39
    30
    46
See reviews for
66
93
22
44
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2013

A beautiful, historic and characterful hotel with extremely friendly and attentive staff.

We needed a room for 5 - 2 adults and 3 children - a tough ask. Our room was perfectly equipped, clean and characterful.

The location of the hotel could not be more central and perfect for exploring Central Oxford.

The room guide is exceptionally well written, with excellent recommendations for places to visit and places to eat.

We will definitely visit again and recommend you do the same!

A beautiful hotel steeped in astonishing history.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DianaCK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed on the basis of a friend's recommendation, and were not disappointed. The quaintness of the old buildings was charming, yet hotel was comfortable and warm within, with a cosy lounge to sit in. Our room was en-suite, and, though next to the Turf Tavern, was quiet. The location couldn't have been more central, yet away from traffic. The breakfasts were a delight, with bowls of fresh natural and fruit yoghurt, fresh fruit and compote of dried fruit, cereals, cheese, a basket of warm rolls, croissants and toast. There was also a plate of ham and salami for meat eaters. The staff were polite and helpful. Would return if visiting Oxford again.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aramsr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eugene, Oregon, United States
Level Contributor
21 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

Nothing can beat this hotel for location, and the price is within the pretty-low parameters of state reimbursement. Cobbling hotel rooms out of a 15th century building can't possibly afford the amenities of purpose-built modern hotels. But there's charm, and an almost-always-helpful staff (it seems that the lower you are on the staff hierarchy, the nicer you are!). Enjoyed breakfast, our room was very cozy despite the recent frigid snap, and I'd surely recommend to others.

Room Tip: We liked our first-floor room-- but we're urban types and don't mind the occasional noise fr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yonkers
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Location, location! The Bath Place Hotel is in the perfect spot for easy walking all around central Oxford. Fab location. We stayed for 2 nights during the coldest spring on record in the UK, and the staff was obliging about keeping up the heat, even giving us an extra space heater for our room. The rooms are small but they were comfortable, the windows open which is always a plus, the bathrooms are modern and more than adequate, although bigger towels might be nice. Breakfast was more Continental than a full English, but there was plenty to eat and delicious as well, and one can order cooked food for additional charge. And the hotel has its own (pay for it) parking literally down the block, which in Oxford is a huge advantage. Depending on how you feel about atmospheric history, you may or may not enjoy the awareness the crooked staircase and slanty floors give you about the centuries of other people who have lived and walked in this truly historic building. We found the owner and other front desk people very pleasant and helpful. Considering the cost and further afield location of other Oxford hotels this is a reasonable place to stay, particularly if you don't have a lot of time and want to be right on top of the main city attractions, literally around the corner.

Room Tip: Quieter if you aren't facing the pub next door, which in any case quietens down at midnight
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ShawFanatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kenwood, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2013

Comfortable, convenient and full of Oxford charm. We loved turning down the narrow lane to our hotel--quiet and peaceful while right around the corner from shops, colleges, and cafes. Very helpful staff and lots of choices for breakfast. Our daughter is at Oxford and we'll be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank JudyH354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2013

When we arrived the heating wasn't working (despite outdoor temp close to zero) and the reception smelled of dogs. My room was up a very steep staircase, small, cold, dark and damp and both the bedroom and the shower needed a thorough clean. The bed was well past its best, saggy and uncomfortable. Late at night the rumble of barrels from the pub next door prevented sleep. Overpriced, tired, grubby and in need of staff who care.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Susan480
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 626 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,122 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Place Hotel

Property: Bath Place Hotel
Address: 4 Bath Place, Oxford OX1 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bath Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bath Place Oxford
Hotel Bath Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing