We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“We've been staying here for nearly 20 years .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bath Place Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bath Place Hotel
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Tenants Harbor, Maine, United States
Level Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“We've been staying here for nearly 20 years .....”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2013 via mobile

..... and will definitely come back. Bath Place Hotel is a jumbled set of 17th C buildings on a tiny cobbled lane off Holywell Street, right around the corner from the Bodleian and everything else you'll want to do in Oxford. It's clean, charming, and well-run, with a great breakfast buffet and free wifi. Some of the rooms are small; some of the stairs are steep; if this bothers you, you'll be unhappy. But if you love to stay in quaint, unique, old places, you'll love Bath Place as much as we do. Parking is available nearby for a price and farther away for free. We chose free and enjoyed the walk (about 3 blocks).

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    61
    101
    39
    30
    46
See reviews for
66
93
22
45
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Tokyo, Japan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 October 2013

I really like this old building and the fancy interior decoration very much. Recently a lot of hotels in UK underwent heavy refurbishment and changed into boring modern places. However, Bath Place Hotel continues to keep traditional taste and modern necessity at the same time. It is true that the building is small and if you take a room upstairs you have to climb up the stairs, but it is the way the building was constructed and perhaps altered in the long history. I do admire the way it is. Therefore, although the room I occupied was a small studio, I was satisfied with the room, the bathroom and all. The large, soft bead was especially comfortable. The dining room where I had breakfast, the lounge where I checked my emails had nice and cosy atmosphere.

Of course, the staff are very helpful and kind and I was pleased with their assistance. They helped me out to carry my luggage with smile. I had an impression that they were working hard to make this hotel pleasant and attractive to the customers.

As I had to do some business in the university library, this hotel has the ideal, perfect location. There are other places which have traditional settings and modern convenience, but they are much more expensive; there are other hotels which have modern facilities at similar rates, but they are simply function-oriented and blunt. This hotel is just fit for my preference. I will definitely come back again, hoping it will not change.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pompador
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockholm, Sweden
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 September 2013

This is a very charming hotel with a perfect location, quiet in a little alley right in the center of Oxford. Right beside a really nice pub with large beergarden, noisy but it closes around 11 pm so it is quiet at night. The hotel has really quaint rooms, all individually decorated. The house is like 400 years old with tilting floors and we absolutely loved it. The beds are ok, not too hard, the staff was very helpful and the breakfast had everything we wanted. We will definitely stay at Bath place hotel whenever we come back.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ulla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 September 2013

Rude unhelpful staff , charged me £1 for a city map !!! free at Tourist info in city centre! dirty room , tatty bathroom, very noisy and absurdly expensive for what you dont get! Breakfast was well up for a Fawlty Towers award ! enough said I will never darken this dump again !

Room Tip: book another hotel!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank George R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Melbourne, Australia
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013

We had an extra person at very late notice when most of Oxford was full. The staff at Bath Place Hotel were extrordinarily helpful in accomodating us and finding room. The hotel is close to whatever you might want to do in Oxford. Breakfast was excellent and there are many resturants and bars nearby. The rooms are small but comfortable and full of old world character. Reading about the history of the place and the famous people who have stayed there added to the charm. This is not a large characterless hotel with all the sterile mod cons. It is a comfortable and friendly hotel - more like a B&B.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2013

This lovely little hotel is a gem of a place tucked neatly away in a cobbled cul-de-sac . Centrally located - and with a fantastic pub/beer garden just next door, it is a perfect base from which to explore Oxford. If you expect all mod cons and chrome-plated facilites then go somewhere esle but if you want eccentric charm, comfort and the most delightful staff we have encountered for a very long tome, then you will love the Bath Place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank brindleyej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2013

Upon our arrival, which was a long standing booking and paid for in advance, we were shown to our small, rather tatty room. The pleasant girl who took us up opened the door with a flourish and announced quite cheerfully, 'And this is your bathroom. The bath cannot be used however as the spring loaded plug is broken.' 'Is there a shower?' I asked, 'No.' she replied. 'Just a shower mixer tap. But there is no hook on the wall and no shower curtain, so you have to sit in the bath and get showered that way.' I was aghast. ' Is there a deduction in the room rate for this room with no working bathroom? I asked . 'No', she said pleasantly. I asked how long the room had been like this, she replied 'Oh ages, no other guests have minded.' I minded.
The price of this small and shabby room with no real means of washing (the hand basin was minuscule) was £125.00 per night. This rate included the skimpiest continental breakfast imaginable, not even a glass of orange juice. I made a quiet, but determined, fuss. They fixed the plug. The reason I am so appalled is that they were happy to let a room with no proper means of bathing, and at such a ridiculously inflated price.

Room Tip: Ask for one with a fully functioning bathroom and avoid room 7. The repair looked pretty temporary.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sarratttraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
0.3 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 640 reviews
0.2 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 622 reviews
0.6 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#37 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bath Place Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bath Place Hotel

Property: Bath Place Hotel
Address: 4 Bath Place, Oxford OX1 3SU, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Bath Place Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 16
Also Known As:
Bath Place Oxford
Hotel Bath Place

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing