We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Euro Bar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Euro Bar
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
180 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“Never again”
Reviewed 3 February 2013

We had friends stay at the Euro Bar who said that this was probably the worst hotel that they have ever stayed in. It is next to a bus station and the clientele is very downmarket. It is not a good example of Oxford. The food at breakfast was very average and I would not book anyone into the hotel again.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArtyOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    4
    15
    39
    18
    54
See reviews for
22
28
14
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hitchin, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

I booked this "Hotel" at the last minute, not having found anything about it on Trip Advisor. It is advertised as a Three Star Hotel, which according to the www.Oxford web site, will have a bathroom. I was amazed to see in the confirmation e-mail that it did not have a bathroom or any private facilities. They required two days notice to cancel the booking even though I had only booked the day before. I booked it through Booking.com and although they did at least answer my calls and respond to my e-mails (something that Eurobar has not done) they have not arranged a refund. The price charged for a room without private facilities was ridiculous and gave me no advanced clue on its status.

Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Dampman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London
2 reviews
Reviewed 18 November 2012

For the price of this hotel, I was pretty astonished at the poor quality. We had a very small room filled with unnecessary, broken furniture. Very tatty decor and the room wasn't entirely clean on arrival. Mould in bathroom. The cafe/breakfast area is attached to the bar so we had breakfast whilst surrounded by strong alcohol smells which was very unpleasant.

Room Tip: I think we were lucky to be on the top floor as other reviews suggest it's very noisy downstairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susie_Dent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shellharbour, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

Stay somewhere else, over priced and loud. No sound proofing in the floors and right in front of bus terminal. Luggage is stored behind bar (risky) if you need to checkout before you leave. I recommend staying just outside town if you can as Oxford is expensive in general.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerard H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
54 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2012

stayed here 1st July 2012 after doing the london-oxford cycle. Room on top floor absolutely fine, shower/toilet was shared but most importantly everything was clean. Guy who checked us in was nice and helpful and kindly let us leave our bikes in the basement for the night rather than outside on the street. Bar downstairs is a little dingy and full of older 'regulars' from early in the morning. Can't comment on the breakfast as we didn't have it. Noisy too but right in the centre of the city surrounded by bars and a coach station so we expected this. I would never stay here with my girlfriend or if I wanted a nice little city break, but it's totally fine if you just need somewhere to crash for one or two nights. I would stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank andy2581
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
68 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

A bunch of us stayed here last week for a night out in Oxford and it was all that we needed. Triple room was perfect for myself and 2 other friends, and the others made do with sharing doubles.

The location is excellent, 4-5 minute stroll from the train station and absolutely central in this small sized city.

Our room was spacious but basic, water from one tap came out yellow for quite a while so wouldn't trust drinking much of the tapwater. Shower was fine, beds were adequate.
Would have preferred an iron and ironing board to a tv in the room to be honest but one of the guys in another room managed to get hold of one from reception that we took turns with.

The service differed depending on who we dealt with, it's a sticky floored sort of dingy corner pub full of odd blokes when you enter, and have to ask the barman/maid to check in.

We were not told what time breakfast (included) was or anything, and when we checked out at 12 and enquired on the off chance that it was still being served the eastern european bar maid looked at us like imbeciles, turns out it finishes at 11. Great full english over the road in the four candles pub for £2.99 anyway.

Also, returning to the hotel late at night it took us a while to work out which door we could use to enter as it was never pointed out or mentioned to us.

Overall, cheap and basic but all you need for a few hours sleep after a night out. Wouldn't recommend to anyone with a job interview in the morning as it was quite noisy 2-3am with revellers in the streets outside.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank barnabybleach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We stayed here for one night and found our room to be very clean and comfortable. It's very conveniently located near the train station. Our experience with the people working there was also very positive - very friendly and helpful staff. Breakfast was fine - was just disappointed with the instant coffee, considering that there was a proper coffee machine right there in the breakfast room. Really appreciated the price, the comfortable room, the tasty breakfast, and the friendly service.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank allenericnina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#14 of 44 in Oxford
641 reviews
0.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#38 of 44 in Oxford
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
673 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Museum Hotel Oxford
Museum Hotel Oxford
#39 of 80 in Oxford
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#19 of 80 in Oxford
195 reviews
0.2 mi away
Oxford Backpackers Hostel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Euro Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Euro Bar

Property: Euro Bar
Address: 48 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Euro Bar 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Euro Bar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Euro Bar Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing