We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good service, Nice breakfast and a Comfy Room in a Good Location!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lonsdale Guest House
Ranked #62 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Good service, Nice breakfast and a Comfy Room in a Good Location!”
Reviewed 10 February 2013

I was booked into the Lonsdale Guest House by a company I was working for. At first, I was a little disappointed to not be in Central Oxford - but, in reality, Summertown has everything you need for a one night stay!

There's a nice selection of restaurants just a short walk from the Lonsdale, or, for those who prefer to eat in, there's a Tesco, Sainsbury's and M&S also withint 2-3 minutes walk. For Central Oxford, there's a choice of frequent busses on the road, or a 25-30 minute walk (depending on your speed).

The Guest House itself was clean and welcoming, and the host very warm and friendly. I slept well, and had a lovely breakfast the next morning - so all in all, a pleasant experience! Very handy little Guest Hosue for those who want to visit Oxfrod, and not pay the Central City premiums!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Snb70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

33 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    7
    12
    7
    4
    3
See reviews for
3
14
1
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Merthyr Tydfil, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 January 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for about two months , working in Oxford , the landlady always very polite , and helpful with local info, location is excellent, breakfast lovely served early ,which suited all 10 of us as,we all started early, very clean rooms and very warm, WiFi good , all in alll a great value for money b and b! Thank you Claire!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cmak1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2012

Just stayed in this guesthouse for 1 night. We had a room with ensuite which was very nice. Room clean and well equiped. Enjoyed the tea and coffee choice in the room. Breakfast was lovely, excellent choice and service. Even a vegetarian option for the cooked breakfast. We will be booking this guest house again next year!

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank emma h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

the room I had is on the top floor, with it's own separate bath, there is plenty of room, free wifi, good breakfast, bus stop and restaurants right outside and the woman who runs the place is very nice. The downside to a guest house is there is no front desk, so there is not always help when it comes to getting a cab or with other questions. But a fine place, I will be back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank snowydog18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 December 2011

I paid about £50 to stay in this B&B which is about the starting rate of B&Bs in Oxford. It seems quite popular so book in advance. It's based in Summertown, so only really worth it, if you need to be that side, as I needed to be.
The owners are super friendly and as I was driving there, rang them several times as I was running late and they booked a taxi for me to greet me once I reached so I wasn't late for a dinner I was attending and they gave me great directions. It has free private parking in front of the B&B.
The room was ok, could have been done in a more modern way but typical of B&Bs in this price range. Surprisingly there was a fitted shower inside my room which meant that I could shower without having to leave my room! I was worried about getting the carpet wet when leaving the shower, which was a cubicle in the cormer of the room, but dried myself inside it to avoid that. There is also a sink in the room, so the only reason you need to leave is to use the toilet. (ie it wasnt an ensuite.) When I stood outside my room I could hear everything the couple next door were saying through the door (when I was locking or unlocking my door) so soundproofing isnt great, though when I was in my room, I couldn't hear them. I slept soundly and it was quiet at night. There was a strange scent in the room when I entered it upon check in, may have been a room spray, anyway it was too strong for my liking. The room had biscuits and coffee offered, which i really appreciated and think these inexpensive extras make a nice touch in B&Bs. There were also plenty of toilettries provided.
The breakfast was excellent. I had waffles and cereal and great coffee and juice. I was really impressed by what they offered in terms of continental breakfast as I don't like cooked English breakfasts. Overall it was pretty good and I would definitely stay there again. They seemed to bend over backwards for their guests too.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Elephant777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lina Guest House
Lina Guest House
#52 of 81 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 64 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marlborough House Hotel
Marlborough House Hotel
#33 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 327 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
Oxfordbnb
Oxfordbnb
#8 of 81 in Oxford
5.0 of 5 bubbles 97 reviews
0.4 mi away
Noa Residence
Noa Residence
#15 of 21 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 16 reviews
0.7 mi away
Parklands B&B
Parklands B&B
#14 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lonsdale Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lonsdale Guest House

Property: Lonsdale Guest House
Address: 312 Banbury Road | Summertown, Oxford OX2 7ED, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Hotel Style:
Ranked #62 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Lonsdale Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing