We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A very nice stay”
Review of Balkan Lodge Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Springfield, Illinois
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A very nice stay”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This hotel is on one of the main bus routes from the town center (though getting there from the train station requires changing buses, which isn't as convenient). We found it to be clean and fairly comfortable. The traditional English breakfast was good. I would definitely recommend to others.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank graysnow18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    15
    20
    19
    9
    4
See reviews for
12
34
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Glasgow
Level Contributor
41 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2012

Situated on a fairly busy road junction although back from road. It didn't affect sleep but may have done if weather had necessitated window being open. Bed was extremely comfortable. Room facilities were good and tv signal good. The toilet/shower room was cramped and basin was very small. I would have had difficulty if the toilet door had had to be closed. Breakfast was excellent except tea which was not freshly made but in a large flask. Car park situated immediatly behind hotel. Walk to town was pleasant if lengthy but buses are frequent (£1.90\ single). A few shops/pubs close by.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank xx1xx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2011

I was a little worried what it would be like after reading other reviews, but was pleasantly surprised. I agree with other people that the decor was dated, but I thought it more important that everything was clean, which it was. My party had 3 rooms so I was able to compare and although they all had different layouts, they were all pretty equal. I thought the rooms were spacious, and so were the bathrooms. We all had minor complaints about taps not turning off properly, or radiators not working so well, but they weren't important enough to complain about. The breakfast was adequate, and although mistakes were made, they were corrected promptly. The TV's all worked well, and biscuits were provided with the tea/coffee facilities. All in all, I was very happy with my choice.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

We booked the hotel through booking.com last minute based on its locality near to Oxford City centre and the rate. The hotel is ideally located, just a short bus ride away. The hotel is adequate and clean but the decor was quite dated both in our double room and reception areas. It could do with brightening up. Room was basic, comfortable and clean. Staff were very friendly and the breakfast was good. All in all it served its purpose for an overnight stay after a busy day in Oxford sightseeing.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoneroamingBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 October 2010

Stayed one night with my partner as we wanted somewhere near the city but it was a university graduation weekend so most places were already booked up.

Good points: on main bus route into city centre; couldn't hear street noise from the room; taxi from city centre cost less than £10; free parking; well sign-posted from the street

Bad points: worst nights' sleep we've ever had in a hotel, as we were woken by noise from other guests consistently between 11pm and 3am, and again at 7am, plus the central heating was extremely noisy and clangy; remote control for the telly didn't work; had to wait 10 minutes just to be offered tea or coffee when we arrived at breakfast, since only 1 person seemed to be working; the man on reception was quite abrupt when my partner questioned whether he had already paid through the booking website

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rsr310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Rossendale, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 26 July 2010

Hotel was clean and reasonably presented but oudated decor and 'tired' furniture. Good location but for a similar price or a lttle more you could do a whole lot better. Very basic, no frills! Very noisy in the room, paper thin walls. Hard mattress. Tiny TV. Breakfast was adequate but often a long wait for service as only one server (same person who was also running reception.) Had to ask for cutlery etc and orders were wrong on a couple of occasions (and we only stayed 2 nights!) No major problems and like I said it was clean but you could do a lot better for your money I fear.

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DrKirstenD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 30 May 2010

Our main issue was value for money...it was just too expensive for what we got in return.

Bedroom - Clean and free wifi was a plus, but it was small, a bit chilly, had a small double bed,a tiny tv on a shelf close to the ceiling (therefore quite difficult to watch - also no BBC 1, just channels 2-5), scratchy towels in the bathroom (definitely seen better days), poor shower pressure. Free toilertries didn't look enticing, glad we brought our own. Paper thin walls, could hear voices next door.

Breakfast - Average. Reasonable selection of hot and cold foods, but overall, not the most enjoyable breakfast we've ever had. (some of the cooked food was only luke warm)

Staff - friendly, service could not be criticised.

Carparking - Off road carpark, but it has less spaces than rooms so may get full at times. (we had to squeeze our car into the last space, which was fairly tiny)

Overall, acceptable for a cheap hotel (i.e around £60 a night) but at £88, it was just too overpriced. Will not be returning.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Baker324
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.2 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
2.5 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
1.4 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
0.9 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 207 reviews
1.2 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Balkan Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Balkan Lodge Hotel

Property: Balkan Lodge Hotel
Address: 315 Iffley Road, Oxford OX4 4AG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #29 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Balkan Lodge Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Balkan Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Balkan Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing