We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very unhelpful and disappointing attitude”

Mulberry Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mulberry Accommodation
Ranked #24 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Reviewed 12 July 2011

My father in law was very ill and we were told by the Churchill Hospital staff that he was due to be operated on either that night (1st June) or the next morning. We waited and as it did not appear likely the operation would take place that night we decided to book a bed and breakfast. I explained the situation to the Mulberry B&B and they advised they had two rooms available which we then reserved. Unfortunately at 10pm the hospital decided they would carry out the operation and as it was very serious we were unable to leave to pick up the keys from the B&B and I called to advise them we would have to cancel. It was a terribly upsetting time and I was very disappointed to be told over the phone that 'we are a business and not a charity' and would still be charged for the rooms. Please bear in mind that the rooms were only booked at around 6pm that evening and so were likely to have remained empty if we had not reserved them. It was very disappointing to hear such harsh words at such an upsetting time (which the B&B were aware of) and I actually put the phone down in tears. Although I cannot comment on the rooms etc I can comment on the very unsympathetic and upsetting attitude of the owners.

Stayed: June 2011, travelled on business
10  Thank missd187058
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

48 - 54 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 June 2011

My wife and I stayed in a double room with en-suite. The room was not huge but adequate, it had everything we needed and was spotlessly clean. They even had free wi-fi internet access, which you don't always get in a B&B.

The location is on the main Headington Road, easy to get to from the motorway and with ample off road parking. The owner, Gordon, was very helpful. We were given front door keys to "come and go as you please" which was good because we knew we would be out until after midnight.

Breakfast was a traditional full English and was delicious, let down only slightly by the suasages which were rather average. There was also a choice of cereals. Service was quick and very attentive.

All in all good value and I would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank gwynee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2010

This little guest house suited my needs very well. It was clean, well appointed and comfortable. The owners were very helpful and as a non smoker it was nice to have a room which was fresh. The shower was lovely and hot. The English breakfast was very tasty.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CossyWombat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2009

We stayed in the self catering house as our son was having an operation at a local hospital. The owners were very kind and helpful advising us of all local amenities and facilities. We could not find a more perfect place to relax in the evening after hospital visiting. There was no problem with our son staying with us before and after his operation and the owners always enquired on his welfare and our needs without being intrusive. I would not hesitate to stay again or recommend a stay here. If we need to return we hope we can go back!! Ignore any negative reviews, people need to understand that these people are running a business and in this day and age have to be cautious and protect themselves. We found them and their property to be perfect.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sheilaE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2009

My family stayed in the self catering house for a week. It was the perfect location for our trips to London as the bus route was right outside the house, and also we were in close proximity to shops, etc.. Oxford was only a short bus ride away. The house was very clean and very well equipped. The garden, etc was kept in very good condition. We had everything we needed to hand. On arrival Gordon, the owner, showed us around the house and explained where everything was. We were delighted with our choice of house and would definitely go there again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank poppyDublinIreland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2008

When I arrived in the UK to take up a long term contract to work I needed somewhere quiet, reasonable and on a good bus route to get to work and also to explore longer term accommodation options. (Also a place that provided vegetarian options for breakfast). Mulberry Guest house had all these features and more. The proprietors were very kind and helpfully provided me with tips and guidelines that helped me to find my way around Oxford as well as concerning different residential areas and shopping options. I extended my stay while my more permanent accommodation was being completed and consider that I was most fortunate to start my Oxford, UK stay in such a pleasant and convenient place. I moved to more permanent accommodation a few blocks from the guest house as the area is conveniently situated for the regular bus service to town as well as to London and Heathrow as well as being well supplied with the Headington shops a couple of blocks away. My room was small - as is usual in the UK - but clean, neat and well kept with its own shower and toilet. Oh, and though it is located on a busy road the double glazing means that it is extremely quiet.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Safaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2008

The only B&B in six weeks of tavel that wanted payment up front, Not as friendly as we had hoped. Twin room, but no ensuite. Expensive. Quite a way out of town, on road to London. OK breakfast.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank BIGTEZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Dial House
Dial House
#35 of 44 in Oxford
104 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Guest House
Oxford Guest House
#29 of 85 in Oxford
112 reviews
0.7 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 85 in Oxford
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Sandfield Guest House
Sandfield Guest House
#6 of 85 in Oxford
235 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Oxford Osney Arms
The Oxford Osney Arms
#18 of 85 in Oxford
168 reviews
0.4 mi away
No photo provided
The Black Boy
#46 of 85 in Oxford
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Accommodation

Address: 265 London Road, Oxford OX3 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £68 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulberry Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mulberry Accommodation is a long established, family run, consists of two detached houses offering well maintained comfortable guest accommodation. We are pleased to offer a choice of accommodation: Bed and Breakfast & Self Catering with free Wi-Fi and parking. Situated in a popular area of the city of Oxford, about two miles from the city centre. For one or more nights stay on a bed and breakfast basis, we would like to recommend the Mulberry Guest House. If you require an accommodation for one to six persons, for a week or longer, with the privilege of your own: kitchen, washing machine, tumble drier, linen, towels, garden, free parking, free internet connection and so on Then the Mulberry Self Catering house is for you. We assure you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay at the Mulberry whether you are on holiday or business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing