We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent B and B”

Mulberry Accommodation
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Oxford
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Mulberry Accommodation
Ranked #22 of 81 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
West Midlands
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Excellent B and B”
Reviewed 7 July 2008

I stayed here on Saturday night with a friend. We both had two double rooms for single occupancy. These rooms were very clean and tidy and contained all the ammenties specifed. Gordon the owner was extremely businesslike from booking-in to departure. Nothing was too much trouble, from showing us how to use the room lock, to extra breakfast (very filling!) to information on bus times (10 mins to city centre from stop outside) and directions to the theatre. He is a very quiet and pleasant man who has been in the business for 22 years and certainly knows how to run a B and B.

I have noticed the bad review for this property in 2004. Take no notice of this, this is quite clearly a case of "sour grapes" from someone from another country who has an "axe to grind" . We we do not want her here again!

  • Liked — Clean and tidy and a friendly owner
  • Disliked — Nothing!
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
5 Thank REC52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    41
    10
    5
    0
    6
See reviews for
19
13
13
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Thrapston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2008

Overall I found Mulberry Guest House an excellent B&B. It's actually located several miles east of Oxford city centre in Headington. This is actually a blessing since it's a very quiet area and Oxford's excellent bus network means you're not more than a few feet/metres from a bus stop. The buses take less than 10 minutes to reach Oxford centre. A 5-10 minute walk from Mulberry puts you in Headington centre with access to grocery stores, restaurants, Starbucks, etc.

When I placed the reservation in Feb 2008, I paid 55 pounds for a double ensuite at a single rate; very reasonable for the Oxford area. I stayed in Room 4. It was clean, everything expected was there, and even had a garden view, but it was a bit on the small side. Breakfast was excellent and the spacious breakfast sunroom was a pleasant way to start the day. Gordon and his wife are very nice but they basically leave you to yourself unless you talk to them. Anyone requiring constant engaging conversation may feel they're being ignored and should probably look elsewhere.

And finally, a hidden gem at Mulberry is free WiFi. I wish I had asked sooner!

  • Liked — free wifi
  • Disliked — room a bit small
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank MassimoOne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2008

5 nights stayed by my elderly mother when visiting me. She found it warm and comfortable. She had a double room charged at single rates (no singles). The room was clean and well equipped. The owners gave prompt attention and were courteous. Breakfast was a good selection of cereal and cooked, which was well presented. Overall she enjoyed her stay.

  • Liked — Comfort
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed April 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RollsRoyceOxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 5 October 2007

We stayed at the Mulberry 1 night, 30SEP in the B&B, not the separate self-catering property.

The place is extremely clean, well kept and a very comfortable bed - as long as you don't expect a big room (this is the UK after all..) and are aware the bathroom is really miniscule and only separated by a slide door in our room - not great. - it's absolutely fine for a couple of nights.

Location: it's not dead centre of Oxford, but the bus route is right outside and you're 10 mins max into the centre of town. Note, it's also on a main road, but didn't seem to be that busy.

The owner Gordon is a soft, gentle guy, very friendly - we were able to leave our bags there on the day of departure until later that evening which we REALLY appreciated, as note it's almost impossible to find left luggage areas in stations these days.

Overall, recommended.

  • Liked — Friendly service
  • Disliked — Tiny bathroom
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank stallang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2006

Our family of four stayed at the Mulberry self catering house for a period of ten days. We found the owner (Gordon) we professional and prompt during the booking process. We chose Oxford as our home for ten days as it was central to all of our travel plans all over England. The house met all our needs and expectations. It is very modern, clean and tidy. We found the kitchen well equipped for cooking all of our meals. Gordon was also very helpful with local knowledge and directions. The only thing that is different is that the price of accomodation is based on occupancy of number of people not by renting the house for so many days. We found the price reasonable and we had a great vacation. The broadband internet connection worked excellently and we used it alot. Gordon and his wife obviously take great pride in their houses. Keep up the good work!

  • Liked — Clean and fuctional
  • Disliked — The washing machine took a long time to go thru it's cycle
  • Stayed August 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank 31moppie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2006

I had recently a business trip to Oxford. It was hard to find a place to stay for a reasonable price. Most of the BB's were full. I was happy to find a room at the Mulberry Guest House,located in Headington, little outside the city itself. Everything from reservation, checking in, staying there and breakfast functioned well. I liked the room, as well. It was clean and it was nice. The only thing, still, is that it would be a good hint for the management give also offer prices - even though the price level in Oxford is pretty much the same as for London, at least for BB's. I would give a better rating otherwise, but finally, it is also question of money. So, offers from 35-40£ per night would be welcome, at least in silent periods! Enjoyable stay anyway, and I can recommend this place for others, but it will be preferably to notice that if you do not have a car, you will need to take a bus to the city centre.

  • Stayed February 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Misu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 13 January 2004

We were treated quite shabbily by the couple at Mulberry House and would recommend travellers to think twice before staying here. We planned to stay in the B&B then move to their cottage and were quoted a rate for 4 people. My husband decided to join us for the last night only, which I indicated on the form. I then received a message saying the price had gone from 300 pounds to 600 pounds! When I called to query this, the owner's wife was quite rude and said we were untrustworthy and they wouldn't be able to keep their eye on us, that we might be "sneaking" more people in! When I cancelled the reservation, she hung up on me.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Mulberry Accommodation, responded to this review, 11 March 2004
We have quoted the lady from Belgium for certain number of people, but later she broke the contract by adding more people to the list. Therefore the quote had to be changed accordingly. The lady from Belgium never stayed with us, how can she write such a negative report? I believe the lady wrote the report because she was too upset for not getting something for nothing!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.6 mi away
Dial House
Dial House
#35 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
0.1 mi away
Oxford Guest House
Oxford Guest House
#28 of 81 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
0.7 mi away
Pickwick's Guest House
Pickwick's Guest House
#70 of 81 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
The Conifers Guest House
0.7 mi away
Red Mullions
Red Mullions
#2 of 81 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
3.5 mi away
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
Diana's Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 81 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mulberry Accommodation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mulberry Accommodation

Property: Mulberry Accommodation
Address: 265 London Road, Oxford OX3 9EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #22 of 81 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Mulberry Accommodation 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mulberry Accommodation is a long established, family run, consists of two detached houses offering well maintained comfortable guest accommodation. We are pleased to offer a choice of accommodation: Bed and Breakfast & Self Catering with free Wi-Fi and parking. Situated in a popular area of the city of Oxford, about two miles from the city centre. For one or more nights stay on a bed and breakfast basis, we would like to recommend the Mulberry Guest House. If you require an accommodation for one to six persons, for a week or longer, with the privilege of your own: kitchen, washing machine, tumble drier, linen, towels, garden, free parking, free internet connection and so on Then the Mulberry Self Catering house is for you. We assure you of a warm welcome and a pleasant stay at the Mulberry whether you are on holiday or business. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing