We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem down in Jericho”

The Old Bookbinders Ale House
Ranked #3 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: French, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Brunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A real gem down in Jericho”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

For us every visit to Oxford has to include a visit to The Old Bookbinders.
A jolly good real ale pub that is also an authentic bistro restaurant.
The staff and owners are very friendly and remember your drinks order from one night to the next!
The French food is excellent. The fish soup is just superb and handmade by the chef. The steak haché is a firm favourite of mine.
Our only quibble is that they calculate 10% of your bill on presentation (that's discretionary obviously) but they sell themselves short as the food is exceptional and the food/service is worth more than that.
Highly recommended!

Helpful?
Thank Colt-Son
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

487 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    339
    124
    18
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Epic mix of an old English pub with a French chef”
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We were in Oxford for the night and looked at previous reviews and decided to give it a go. We were not disappointed !
The beers were splendid and we'll kept.
The menu offered a 3 course option which was very well presented and cooked to perfection. Brilliant service all evening and very reasonable. The pub is just off the beaten track but only 10 min. Walk from the town centre. Really worth seeking out and we will be back. It's almost a reason to visit the town.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Fantastic French Country Cuisine”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Michel makes great french food - moules frites, coq au vin, sirloin steak. Great value, good beer, and excellent ambiance. Really sunny outfront for a late afternoon bit of sitting and taking in the 'ambiance' of canal street end of Jericho. Love it!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LiveandPure
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wallingford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great pub, brilliant food”
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I visited the Old Bookbinders for the first time this weekend and was very impressed! I ordered salmon in a lemon, white wine and garlic sauce and it was excellent; a huge piece of fish, cooked to perfection with a lovely sauce and plenty of vegetables. Brilliant service, I would definitely recommend this place to anyone!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Verity27M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
63 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Great impromptu meal out”
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We live in Oxford but had not tried this pub before. It's an easy walk from the bus stops on the Banbury or the Woodstock roads. We were given a polite welcome when we went into the bar and given a pleasant table in the window overlooking St Barnabas' church. Thereafter drinks were served (including a sample to see if the wine we had chosen was what we really wanted), the order taken and the meal served in very good order. The soup sounded interesting but I decided on the pate, then the crepe with smoked salmon, then the dessert du jour - another crepe, with apple and cinnamon and caramel. Management started with a mozzarella salad, she then also had the crepe and she finished with an ice-creamy, chocolaty kind of pudding.
We both enjoyed our meals very much, we liked the attractively old-fashioned style of the place and we were impressed by the service, which was unaffectedly friendly (whoever it was who served us - we had four different people, I think).
It was quiz night so we arrived early and paid the cheaper 'pre 7 o'clock' price. I didn't look to see how much more it would have been after the watershed, but we paid £35 for two three course meals and two large glasses of wine (with an automatic 10% added as a tip, so the total was £38.50). This was very good value; it's 'only a pub', but it is a jolly nice one with a very good chef and a very good team. Long may it prosper.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephen D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Bookbinders Ale House also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Old Bookbinders Ale House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing