We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Same dog different collar”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Same dog different collar”
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Despite professing to being a totally revamped travelodge, this may have new beds and decoration, but the same old Travelodge trademark brown stained toilet. They have although managed to replace the rusty shower rails!
Room cleaning was terrible. Just about managed to make the bed. Dirty cups not removed and replaced and litter bin not emptied. When pionted out to reception we were told "yes this is always happeneing"
Only one set of towels suppled for two people in the room.
Would I stay there again....unfortunately I might have to!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank hopeful516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    65
    60
    40
    27
    28
See reviews for
70
83
11
36
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Wallasey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights around our son's graduation ceremony and as we only wanted a room opted for a Travelodge. Key positives were that it was easy to park, the receptionist was friendly, the room was clean and nicely fitted, excellent bed, good range of TV channels and a very quiet night. The downs for us were relatively minor but to be balanced they were: no WiFi access unless you paid £5 per hour!, cold water was almost hot and water pressure was poor on the second morning. If the room had cost more then it did we could have been bothered but only a tent would have been cheaper and it was definitely much better value than most 'proper' hotels. We will happily use this place again.

Room Tip: As for one not facing the carpark. Not that its noisy but the sun hits this side of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I had read some poor reviews about this hotel, but gave it the benefit of the doubt after seeing it had been renovated.

Now a very nice, clean and quiet hotel with incredibly friendly staff which are a credit to the company.

A couple of issues remain though. No member of staff at the reception when we arrived - we had to press a call button and wait for them as they were busy doing something else, and the same issue when we checked out. The other larger issue was that in the morning there was no water pressure at all in the shower. Impossible to shower, so had to cram into the tiny bath instead. Would recommend this hotel, but only if you are already used to the Travelodge experience... It is what it is!

There's a supermarket directly opposite which is convenient. In my opinion this hotel is a little overpriced for what it is and it's location. Also, not the hotel's fault directly - but the taxi company they called for us was outrageously expensive (at about £5 a mile!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Aitch_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I chose this hotel because it was relatively low cost and available when the British Grand Prix was happening. At check in I was asked what seemed to me unnecessary questions, the room smelled of smoke and there are no toiletries provided. The extra bed in the room was uncomfortable. Overall it is what it is, a budget hotel. Don't expect frills. Not as good as a Premier Inn

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

London
Level Contributor
65 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2013

My fiancée and I stayed here before the refurbishment and it was not very nice. As we like going to Bicester for shopping the location is very good, so what a pleasant surprise to see that the hotel had been refurbished! The rooms feel so much cleaner, the new beds so comfortable, new tv and even 4 pillows on the bed. There is a harvester next door and a large Asda close by. You will get a good nights sleep here as the location is quiet and peaceful.
Good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank THEREDMAN13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
southampton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2013

We stayed here for a Saturday night for a weekend away in Oxford. Quite a long way out of town, but fine if you have a car. Great for eating options as next door to a supermarket and a Harvester. Room was functional and clean and all you expect from a Travelodge. When you book them at sale prices you just can't go wrong for a family of 4!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Claire B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2013

stayed21-23 june 2013. refurbishment has worked wonders for the place , VERY clean and new beds are comfortable. Staff are obviously very proud of their "new" hotel and are very keen to help , and the reception was more than helpful sorting out Taxi's for us all weekend.The breakfast boxes are excellent if you are in a hurry in the morning. Well done guys , you made our son's graduation weekend a hit.

Facilities around hotel are very good , parking is not an issue. The Harvester restaurant is very popular

Only complaint is Travelodge make it so difficult to contact an individual hotel

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank clearbeer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Oxford
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
597 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
1,635 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
151 reviews
8.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,028 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Oxford Wheatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Oxford Wheatley

Property: Travelodge Oxford Wheatley
Address: Harvester 40A London Road | Wheatley, Oxford OX33 1YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Oxford Wheatley 2*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Oxford Wheatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley Hotel Oxford
Travel Lodge Oxford
Oxford Travel Lodge
Oxford Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing