We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oxford stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Rustington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Oxford stay”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

This stay was the best Travelodge stay we have ever had and we intend to return to this particular Travelodge in the future. The only small complaint that we have is that there was an unidentified noise outside our room (exterior) that did not help with trying to sleep. We discussed this with other customers and one mentioned a trunker over the road at Asda.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Colin Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    68
    62
    41
    27
    28
See reviews for
71
84
13
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Stayed here last weekend (02-08-2013 to 04/08/2013) with my Girlfriend for a planned Shopping trip to Oxford.

Location is excellent as the hotel is in easy reach of M40, Hotel was recently refurbished so room was of excellent standard and bed was comfy. Reception was excellent when we wanted extra tea bags and milk. The flat screen TV was excellent and had a good range of channels.

Harvester on site was excellent for Dinner and Breakfast, just to point out if your planning to dine there on a Saturday night get there at a decent time for a seat as sometimes it can be busy. I booked a table of 9 as was meeting Family who lived in area and they where great for sorting this with in 30 minutes. The breakfast choice is ideal, they do a range of cooked Breakfasts which are ideal from the Small to large and it was excellent as you get a choice of sides, e.g hash browns, potato squares. They do Baps and Pancakes/Waffles and a choice of drinks e.g unlimited tea/coffee, soft drinks.

The site was ideal as we planned to pop into Oxford and took the Bus leaving the car safe at the hotel, it was easier to do this than trying to pay a fortune for parking in Oxford City Centre, even trying to find a park and ride.

As we enjoyed the weekend at this hotel we will be booking this again, as this was good value when booked and the recent refurbishment has made this ideal place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2013

I booked this Travelodge last minute and was worried about the reviews on here. I stayed last night and I had no reason to worry. It has been newly refurbished and is looking like a brand new Travelodge. Spread over two levels it has ample free parking. We arrived later and the staff were very friendly - we were checked in at 9.30 pm straight away. It was lovely and quite although I would suggest that if you are parked facing the car park and plan sleeping past 7am you should close your windows as a lot of people leave early.

The room was spotless and the Huge comfy bed with soft pillows made for a lovely nights sleep. The shower pressure is a bit sluggish so adds a couple of minutes to your shower - nothing major. There was a new flat screen T.V. and tea making facilities. There are no toiletries as this is a budget brand but who really ever uses these anyway? There is an Asda opposite should you need anything like that and a Harvester on site around the corner and the food there was lovely.

I know this place has had a bad rep - but please don't be put off as the refurb really has made it top notch value for money. I will be staying again soon.

Room Tip: Close windows if you are facing the car park as people leaving early might wake you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scubalassy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2013

Despite professing to being a totally revamped travelodge, this may have new beds and decoration, but the same old Travelodge trademark brown stained toilet. They have although managed to replace the rusty shower rails!
Room cleaning was terrible. Just about managed to make the bed. Dirty cups not removed and replaced and litter bin not emptied. When pionted out to reception we were told "yes this is always happeneing"
Only one set of towels suppled for two people in the room.
Would I stay there again....unfortunately I might have to!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
2 Thank hopeful516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Wallasey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2013

We needed a place to stay for a couple of nights around our son's graduation ceremony and as we only wanted a room opted for a Travelodge. Key positives were that it was easy to park, the receptionist was friendly, the room was clean and nicely fitted, excellent bed, good range of TV channels and a very quiet night. The downs for us were relatively minor but to be balanced they were: no WiFi access unless you paid £5 per hour!, cold water was almost hot and water pressure was poor on the second morning. If the room had cost more then it did we could have been bothered but only a tent would have been cheaper and it was definitely much better value than most 'proper' hotels. We will happily use this place again.

Room Tip: As for one not facing the carpark. Not that its noisy but the sun hits this side of the building and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 3 July 2013

I had read some poor reviews about this hotel, but gave it the benefit of the doubt after seeing it had been renovated.

Now a very nice, clean and quiet hotel with incredibly friendly staff which are a credit to the company.

A couple of issues remain though. No member of staff at the reception when we arrived - we had to press a call button and wait for them as they were busy doing something else, and the same issue when we checked out. The other larger issue was that in the morning there was no water pressure at all in the shower. Impossible to shower, so had to cram into the tiny bath instead. Would recommend this hotel, but only if you are already used to the Travelodge experience... It is what it is!

There's a supermarket directly opposite which is convenient. In my opinion this hotel is a little overpriced for what it is and it's location. Also, not the hotel's fault directly - but the taxi company they called for us was outrageously expensive (at about £5 a mile!).

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank Aitch_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2013

I chose this hotel because it was relatively low cost and available when the British Grand Prix was happening. At check in I was asked what seemed to me unnecessary questions, the room smelled of smoke and there are no toiletries provided. The extra bed in the room was uncomfortable. Overall it is what it is, a budget hotel. Don't expect frills. Not as good as a Premier Inn

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
1 Thank Alistair G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
609 reviews
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
15.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
167 reviews
7.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Oxford Wheatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Oxford Wheatley

Property: Travelodge Oxford Wheatley
Address: Harvester 40A London Road | Wheatley, Oxford OX33 1YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #31 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Oxford Wheatley 2*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers and Travelodge Hotels Ltd so you can book your Travelodge Oxford Wheatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley Hotel Oxford
Travel Lodge Oxford
Oxford Travel Lodge
Oxford Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing