We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

After reading some other reviews, I was apprehensive but didn't need to be. Lovely rooms (all three of them), quiet and clean with new comfy beds. Super value at £34! Drove next day to Thornill P&R in Headstone for Oxford. Would definitely return!

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank welshnik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

222 - 228 of 249 reviews

Reviewed 16 November 2013

Really nice little Travelodge in a great location near an Asda and a Harvester pub. The staff were friendly and helpful and the beds really comfortable. Would happily stay here again if visiting the Oxford area.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
Thank peterwalker45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 November 2013

If visiting Oxford this Travelodge is ideally situated and has been nicely refurbished . Local shops and restaurant are handy. The only downside is that if you have noisy neighbours , you will hear everything.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

Clean and tidy room. Hotel situated next to a Harvester, but quiet of a night time and no disturbances. Plenty of parking outside the hotel and Asda just opposite opens early for anything you might need.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Dannyplym
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We booked for two nights and arrived about 10.30pm. No one was in reception so we rang the bell to call someone.We had to ring three times before someone eventually turned up.
Next morning discovered there was no cold water, only very hot from every tap and far to hot to take a shower. We complained.
When we returned that evening, again no one at reception, we found that the room had not been touched, bed still unmade, cups not washed. Also corridors looked as though they hadn't been cleaned that day.Still only hot water.Rang for receptionist and asked for change of rooms. He said he'd checked water temperature, maybe he had but that doesn't fix it. He at first said the place was full up but after protesting he reluctantly managed to put us in another room.
There was cold water to start with but we soon only had hot water. Had to go to reception again to ask for cold water to clean our teeth with. By this time it was a different receptionist who was quite helpful. We found the whole experience very unpleasant and will never go there again.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank paddington_7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Oxford Wheatley, responded to this reviewResponded 28 October 2013

We are really sorry to learn of the problems you encountered at our hotel paddington_7. We do expect our staff to provide high levels of service at all times and if the reception desk is unmanned then all reception staff should carry a pager to alert them that a customer is at the desk. We also expect our customers to have access to both hot and cold water at all times, we would like to take this opportunity to investigate the concerns that you have raised, please use the contact us button on our website to provide us with more information which will allow us to offer a resolution.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Nice new beds and pillows made our stay very comfortable. Harvester next door was excellent. Plenty of parking spaces. Coffee and tea were replaced each day. A biscuit would have been nice. Not far from the park and ride to get into Oxford which only took 10 minutes.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank fiftytripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 October 2013

Myself mum and my sister stayed here,the room was dark when we entered it as the curtains was closed and dim lights on.After an hour i was going mad itching and scratching.we put the big light on and the carpet was covered in dog hairs and i mean covered. I have allergies to dogs.We did not know that they allowed dogs that carry fleas in the rooms.its not right they should have dog only rooms if they are going to take pets.But i think its dirty and they should not be allowed.it spoiled my weekend.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
3  Thank Wendy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Dianne from Customer Care at Travelodge Oxford Wheatley, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2013

We’re really sorry about the poor experience you had in our hotel Wendy G. We do allow dogs to stay in our hotels however our rooms should be cleaned to a specific high standard. Please can you give us some more detail of your stay so we can address your concerns. To help us contact you please can you visit our website and select the Contact Us button to give us more detail and be sure to click on the ‘link from TripAdvisor’ option when submitting your details.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
8.0 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#29 of 44 in Oxford
223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
5.1 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
1,053 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Oxford Wheatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Oxford Wheatley

Address: Harvester 40A London Road | Wheatley, Oxford OX33 1YA, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £54 - £103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Oxford Wheatley 2*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Oxford Wheatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley Hotel Oxford
Travel Lodge Oxford
Oxford Travel Lodge
Oxford Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing