We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“As expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 21 May 2014

As expected really: Cheap 'n cheerful.
Clean rooms, helpful staff.
On a bus route into the city centre and within walking distance of wheatley village for a choice of food & drink.
Asda nextdoor had cheap fuel for the drive home.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Dominic R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (250)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

199 - 205 of 250 reviews

Reviewed 21 May 2014

We booked Travelodge Wheatley for an overnight stay having stayed in Travelodges on numerous occassions before. It wasn't too difficult to find - drove past the turning as sign not obvious until at the junction but able to turn around & come back! The staff member on duty wasn't very communicative. Didn't know how to smile. The room was actually very nice. We had booked a family room and it was good to find the beds made up, however, there were only 2 towels, 2 mugs and not enough tea/coffee/milk for 4. I am sure this was just an oversight by the over-worked housekeeping staff though and we went to reception for everything we needed. We wanted more decaff coffee, milk & sugar. You would have thought the man on reception had had to pick the coffee beans & sugar cane himself and milk the cow! It took some hard work to get across that we all wanted a drink! Then the hair dryer. It didn't appear to have a PAT test sticker on it and when I switched it on the element glowed red and fortunately it died before it could cause any damage or injury. I was in pyjamas so had to dress and visit our happy chap on reception with wet hair. He did not seem to understand that the hair dryer was dangerous and he was unconcerned that we had no way to dry our hair. The other 3 hair dryers were all out. We have stayed in numerous Travelodges over the years but this experience has tarnished our good impression of them. I feel it was the reception staff who made us unhappy with the stay this time rather than the problems as problems can be overcome but miserable, unhelpful staff with apparently no customer focus and a lack of comprehension are a more difficult obstacle. I will say we remained polite, smiling and probably a lot more forgiving than others would have been. I would stay at Wheatley Travelodge again but keep my fingers crossed that "Mr Happy" has found another job elsewhere that he enjoys when I visit again!

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the car park as it is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SarahRoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2014

My expectations weren't very high before arriving at this hotel, as my two previous stays in travelodge a had been very basic and a little disappointing. However everything about this hotel was different - the location was easy to find and felt safe and inviting. The staff were pleasant and friendly. The room was clean and well maintained - it smelt of clean bedding when we first walked in. The staff provided a hair dryer and iron very quickly when asked. The bathroom was clean and the bath comfortable. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Rachel105
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed one night at the Oxford Wheatley Travelodge. It was recently refurbished and the room was clean and modern. It is about 10 miles from the city centre but it is still covenient since it is difficult and expensive to park in Oxford. The price was also very attractive.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank new_world_travellers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

Having stayed in a couple of Travelodges and not always been impressed, I was very pleased to enter the room here. It was clean, smelled fresh, the carpet was not worn and two pillows each!! Very Good

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
Thank Louise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Stayed two nights with children. Staff were polite, but not really interested. Room was ok & yes it has a new big bed. What is the point of putting a new bed in a room with an old & tired bathroom?The linen was clean, but the rest of the room had had a very basic wipe over. The carpet had food on it. The bathroom was dusty & the bathroom floor had not been cleaned properly. The bath had hair in it. The teacups had clearly not been washed since the last occupants. The bin wasn't emptied properly either. Really, Travelodge you need o review the calibre of the staff you employ.

On the plus side, it is convenient & the park & ride to Oxford two miles away is great.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank J D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from Customer Services at Travelodge Oxford Wheatley, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

We are truly sorry to learn that you were unhappy with the cleanliness of your room J D. Our cleaning staff follow a strict routine in the cleaning of our rooms and we would expect them to be cleaned to our high standards. We would like to provide a resolution for the issues you have raised. Please could you visit our website and select the Contact Us button and when doing so please specify you have left a TripAdvisor review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Stopped here for weekend in Oxford.
Staff at reception were very helpful and friendly, room was clean and bed very comfortable, best nights sleep!
Excellent pub nearby, served really good food and were very friendly.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Travelodge
1  Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
8 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
0.9 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
644 reviews
15.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#24 of 44 in Oxford
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
3.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge Oxford Wheatley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge Oxford Wheatley

Address: Harvester 40A London Road | Wheatley, Oxford OX33 1YA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £50 - £90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge Oxford Wheatley 2*
Number of rooms: 212
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travelodge Hotels Ltd and Ebookers so you can book your Travelodge Oxford Wheatley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Oxford Wheatley Hotel Oxford
Travel Lodge Oxford
Oxford Travel Lodge
Oxford Travelodge

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing