We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Idyllic location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Middle Aston House

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Middle Aston House
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Idyllic location, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

This country House hotel is set in beautiful grounds with a lake and mature woodland.The main business seems to be conferences and courses, so most accommodation is in 2 separate building adjacent to the original house. The romms here are simply furnished but comfortable with very good bathroom and TV and free WiFi. Good food if rather unimaginative, but very friendly staff, good breakfast but very cramped dining area. Overall a good base to explore thsi area but don't expect four posters and antiques.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    34
    32
    19
    11
    3
See reviews for
10
34
2
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
s glos
Level Contributor
94 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014

Stayed with the American Classic car club for a rally at Blenheim as soon as we arrived nothing was too much trouble for the staff they were very friendly .the rooms in the main building were clean and fine for a weekend . 2 packets of biscuits please !! Breakfast was good if a little chaotic as you had to get your own tea and toast and a buffet cooked breakfast but it was hot and well cooked , with a little tweaking this hotel would be excellent . It is basically a conference and wedding venue and that is reflected in some of the decor some lamps rugs etc would be good and make it more relaxing . Very good value hotel in a beautiful setting around a lake and by the way thanks to the barman who saved the day with coffee !

Room Tip: Main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank walkerpayne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here on 27th July 2014 as we were going to Rally of the Giants (American Car Show) at Blenhiem Palace on Sunday. Well what can I say the grounds are stunning, the rooms though small were spotless and comfortable. The evening meal was good and the staff extremely friendly. Breakfast also good. Overall great stay will definately go back and would recommend.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank sueboots19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bristol
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 July 2014

Looking at the beautiful pictures and the fact it is a wedding venue, I was expecting this to be same sort of standard as Dumbleton Hall but was very disappointed. The setting is lovely but the food and rooms let it down. After a wait of 30 mins and watching other dinners served before we were I was presented with the worst onion and goats cheese tart I have ever seen ! It had 4 whole shallots and a tiny piece of goats cheese my husbands description of his meal was rubber chicken. Although there were children staying there was no children's meal and just a choice of 4 things all with new potatoes and no alternative vegetables. There is only one type of coffee. The rooms in the newly built area are so badly designed that my husband hit his arm off the wardrobe during the night a few times as this is rammed up against the bed. There is only one bedside cabinet so no where for him to put anything or a drink his side. perhaps someone should have visited other budget room hotel (because that's what this is) like Premier Inn to see how to design a budget room. I appreciated we only paid £59.95 supposedly a deal but I would not have wanted to pay any more, not a place I would recommend.My husbands comment it they really need to get their act together as this could be a lovely place to stay. Certainly the food situation needs to be addressed very quickly perhaps a new chief !.

Room Tip: Perhaps rooms inside the hotel may be better than the purpose built ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moirabristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

Lovely location, nice grounds, grand house and outbuildings. The double room in one of the outbuildings was small but clean and modern - perfect for a night away (staying for the F1 GP). Our expectations were soon demolished with our evening meal in the restaurant however. Limited choice (about 4 per course), and the £14 Steak with onion rings and chips was more Little Chef or '2 dine for £4.99' than Michelin star. My wife's chicken with bacon was mediocre - presentation was almost non-existent. The service was very slow (45 minutes to get our meal) and the waiters/waitresses were disorganised promising to bring a drinks list and forgetting or not remembering which table food was to be delivered. Maybe evening meals was new to them? They did redeem themselves a little the next morning though - the breakfast buffet (cereals and full English) was nice, and efficient. For the price I expected much better. Would stay again, but eat out in the evening.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank AdrianRB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

But service could be improved. Arrived around 5.30 and the receptionist was doubling up as barmaid until more staff arrived. There was a limited choice at dinner -4 starters, 4 mains and 4 desserts - but was ok. Dining room (there were 4) was basic and no atmosphere. Room was clean and adequate for one night. Grounds were beautiful.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank teabags157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Didcot, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
56 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 June 2014

We were guests at a wedding here, the house and grounds were beautiful. It is mainly a training centre but that means there are a lot of rooms available - ideal for a wedding. They are absolutely fine, if not luxurious, clean, functional and comfortable - nothing to complain about at all. Staff were lovely, good breakfast,

Room Tip: Not enough information to say
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DidcotBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.2 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 152 reviews
16.3 mi away
Egrove Park
Egrove Park
#30 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 14 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.6 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
14.2 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#31 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
15.9 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Middle Aston House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Middle Aston House

Property: Middle Aston House
Address: Middle Aston, Oxford OX25 5PT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Middle Aston House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing