We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely cafe, great food!”
Review of Magic Cafe

Magic Cafe
Ranked #245 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Cuisines: Cafe, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Seating, Wheelchair Accessible
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely cafe, great food!”
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a charming little cafe, with a great atmosphere. The food is terrific and excellent value.

Highly recommended!

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank markh86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    22
    14
    2
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Witney, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere to meet friends or family over a vegan or vegetarian lunch”
Reviewed 12 January 2014

We visited the Magic Cafe yesterday as a family treat. With 2 vegans and one vegetarian amongst us we were looking forward to some lovely, cruelty free nosh.

The meals (green Thai curry) were very tasty and reasonably filling, but there was slight disappointment that they came with white rice instead of wholegrain. The mains came in at £5.70 each, which was just reasonable for the size of portion.

The kids selection of meals could have done with some work.

The atmosphere was nice and relaxed, with diners sharing tables. It was a nice open space too. This venue could have easily packed more tables in to cater for the lunchtime crowd, but we're glad that they haven't as it would subtract from the airy and relaxed vibes.

The plates, cutlery and mugs where a mismatch which was nice and quirky, but also sensible.

There was plenty of room for pushchairs for those with babies and toddlers and a large noticeboard for locals to use.

One of our party had a lipstick stain on a dirty mug which she was served her tea in, but this was quickly resolved by one of the staff.

The toilets were clean and tidy and accessible for those with disabilities.

All in all, a lovely place to enjoy a meal with friends, family or colleagues.

Will be back!

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hendred, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Always delicious food”
Reviewed 29 September 2013

There are always just a few vegetarian dishes available to choose from but I have been here many times and have always been blown away by everything I've had. Really nice atmosphere as well, wish I lived next door :)

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank Kim G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Relaxing, cheery, uplifting”
Reviewed 24 May 2013

I really like the Magic Cafe - the food is healthy, filling and excellent value. The atmosphere is very relaxed. I've only been there at lunchtimes, and there have always been loads of Mums and babies in there, but they seem pretty chilled too. Definitely worth a visit - the street on which it sits (Magdalen Road) is pretty interesting too in terms of bookshops etc and the legendary 'Goldfish Bowl'!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great value vegetarian food”
Reviewed 31 March 2013 via mobile

I have visited The Magic Cafe several times it always feels like a big secret however on arriving especially on a Saturday it is also bustling. The food is also served in large portions which have been cooked with passion, limited menu is made up by the fact that they have a team out back ensuri g the magic cafe crowd are well fed. The magic poured into the food is shared by customers community spirit that is felt on there large tables. If you are lucky you may even get a musical treat with acoustic sets playing.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank clsew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Magic Cafe also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Magic Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing