We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world feel”
Review of The Turf

The Turf
Ranked #17 of 54 Nightlife in Oxford
Attraction details
Nairobi, Kenya
Level 6 Contributor
201 reviews
31 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 155 helpful votes
“Old world feel”
Reviewed 14 May 2012

Pub number 2 of our pub crawl in Oxford. My favorite. The actual pub is so old and quaint. Low ceiling. The oldest pub in Oxford. Even when busy service is good. The ales were great. There is outdoor deatng, but it does not have the same atmosphere as he pub itself. So if you are in a large group, you will end up sitting outside.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank roadwarriorafrica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    27
    4
    5
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“arrogant...”
Reviewed 2 February 2012

A so-called real ale pub, but they refuse to accept their beer is undrinkable even when three different people are telling them so. It's a shame because the beer is usually fine here, but showing such scant regard for customers makes me recommend you go to one of many nearby pubs where you will get better service and a better pint: King's Arms, White Horse, Chequers, Bear, Old Tom, Far From The Madding Crowd, Royal Blenheim, Eagle and Child, Lamb and Flag will all get my custom before I set foot in the Turf again.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
Thank Oxford_Stone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Dirty & expensive. Standing room only in term time. Undergrads love it!

Helpful?
1 Thank Johnoxford01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Turton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
292 reviews
119 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The Turf is hidden away on Bath Place in the beautiful city of Oxford. You will have to look for it as it isn't easy to find, we stumbled across it having gone off the main streets to escape the crowds. The place itself serves local ales and tavern fare. There are numerous signs describing the history of the place and of those who have visited, including Inspector Morse, of course.

Recommended and worth the trouble to find it.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank RADCTurton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“Amazing”
Reviewed 7 September 2011

I have been to the turf many times and can easily say it is my favourite pub in the whole of Oxford city centre. The atmosphere is indescribable it is whatever you need it to be, great for groups of people or couples. I have never been dissapointed, the food is great my favourite thing on the menu is a spinach and red leister burger it is simply out of this world really really tasty! You do have to look around for seats but there is always something for everyone! Staff are really friendly and always able to help!

Helpful?
Thank Charlottafood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Turf also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The Turf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing