We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic 1 night stay ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bear and Ragged Staff
Ranked #11 of 85 Oxford B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were fortunate enough to secure a room for 1 night over the August bank holiday period and would most certainly be looking to return at some stage in the not to distance future.

Parking facilities on site were great, staff were all very welcoming and friendly and accommodating. Food was fresh and well cooked & the breakfast was full of choice and delicious.

We stayed in Room 1, the room had a modern and contemporary feel complete with a spacious bathroom, tea and coffee facilities with fridge (complementary milk & water supplied) and a great comfortable king size bed.

Could not recommend enough for those looking to explore the country feel of Oxford but also with close links to Oxford city centre. We look forward to returning. Thanks

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank enjoy_travelling89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (332)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

185 - 191 of 332 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2014

Very helpfull and warm welcome for our couple arriving there without any reservation during summer holidays ... Mention spéciale : delicious food with local products : un régal ! Warm atmosphere and cozy room, a typical and charming countryside address. We would love to come back.

Room Tip: Lovely and quaint rooms in the oldest part
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bourli
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The second last day of our Thames Path walk brought us to The Bear. The room was excellent, spacious and very comfortable. But the food was especially great. We had read reviews of the food and we weren't disappointed. The menu is extensive but very creative, and after a week of pub menus, this one made us want to stay a few days to try everything.

Breakfast was just as good and the service was efficient and friendly. The location was off the beaten Thames Path but well worth the detour.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JJFlash138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014

We stayed here for 3 days, and everything was great, the rooms, the food, the surroundings and the staff. And it was very closed to Oxford center.
The breakfast was good and plenty
Would love to come back here.

Room Tip: Go see the city Bibury, very beautiful city.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Majken B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014 via mobile

The outside is charming and we were hoping to have the same lovely experience others rave about in other reviews. Enjoyed the ultra modern bathroom and the decor in the eating area is nice.

However, close by there are more nicely decorated rooms with soft linens which we have enjoyed since. It is a bit pricey for bare rooms and lackluster service.

The service we received was spotty at best. The worst was when I told an attendant that the milk bottle in our room had sour milk. It made me sick. She promptly told me that fresh milk was placed in the room every day. No personal concern or apology. The milk was cold and not left out by us as she implied.

At dinner our server seemed distracted. This results in my husband's order was wrong. We received an explanation and the assurance we wouldn't be charged extra for the wrong order that was served. I was tired and went back to the room before they corrected his order.

Unlike other places, there was no friendly greeting in the morning. The cold buffet was mainly boxed cereal, two tired pasties on a small plate, sliced fruit that wasn't refreshed when emptied. The only thing I can think of is that we were there on a weekday. A pity though since it was 169 pounds for one night.

Note that they do not use duvet covers for the duvet. So your bed linens consist of bottom sheet and the polyester duvet. Most other places use a nice cotton duvet cover when omitting the top sheet. One other review mentions the lack of top sheet. I had thought that would be fine. Didn't realize that there wasn't a duvet.

So many better choices I think. However they did provide the one thing my friend said you need on every trip: the sour experience to make all the nice moments seem sweeter.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Summerjoe J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

A fantastic weekend spent in Oxford . The rooms were lovely and very comfortable. We visited on a very warm weekend so one small criticism would be that our room was very hot. We ate in the restaurant both evenings and the food was well presented and tasty.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thestones2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a great little place with lots of history. We stayed in the Landlords wing, which I would recommend. Gorgeous old staircase through tiny doorway, lovely room with tea, coffee, small fridge etc. Really nice modern bathroom! Very short drive into Oxford, loads of free parking on site. The only negative comment is that the staff varied a lot - in particular some of the young guys confuse efficient with officious. The morning staff including the chef were all lovely and happy to chat and share.

Room Tip: Landlords wing is probably the most interesting.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.6 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
746 reviews
3.6 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.6 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
752 reviews
3.4 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.6 mi away
Sabine Barn B&B
Sabine Barn B&B
#6 of 85 in Oxford
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bear and Ragged Staff? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bear and Ragged Staff

Address: 28 Appleton Road | Cumnor, Oxford OX2 9QH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 85 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range: £96 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bear and Ragged Staff 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Not only does the Bear and Ragged Staff serve fantastic food throughout the day, its conversion to a Country Inn is complete with the opening in December 2012 of the last five of nine rooms. The Bear is now in a position to offer a full suite of services to the discerning traveler whether on business or just looking for a home away from home for a few days.Our food ethos can be summed up very simply, local where possible, absolutely fresh, prepared in our own kitchen. The Bear's food offering can best be described as eclectic, mainly British food, prepared with loving care and attention in well equipped kitchens, beautifully presented and served by well trained floor staff. And all this with a wine list carefully selected for quality and value. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Bear and Ragged Staff reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing