We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fabulous”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
pembrokeshire, uk
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“fabulous”
Reviewed 19 November 2011

My name is Kimberley, Im from sunny Pembrokeshire, Wales and came to Oxford and stayed at this hotel. It was amazing. My boyfriend and I had an excellent stay, the staff were so polite, especially at the reception. They made us very welcome and the place was spotless.The food was also brilliant and we will definately be returning to Westwood hotel next time we visit Oxford!
10/10 Excellent!!!

Room Tip: They're all good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kimberley B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    87
    59
    21
    24
See reviews for
73
131
11
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2011

My husband and I looked around for a great place to stay for a few days to relax and sight see and after reading very pleasant reviews on this site. We were eager to arrive at the Westwood Hotel in Oxford.

We arrived to be greeted at reception and taken to our room. After settling in we inspected the room in further detail and found old stains on the carpet, the bed was uncomfortable and the rooms was not "luxurious" like the hotel is described.

It gets worse... When we went down to the bar before dinner we ordered 2 cocktails and 10 minutes later we were given which were made by complete armatures who do not know what "with a twist" means which all bartenders should know. The Norwegian bartenders put the wrong ingredients in and they did not know what on earth they were doing.

The only reason why we weren't so angry was because is was so damn funny to watch them flounder about unable to get anything right from chilling the glass to putting the garnish on...

While we were at dinner I ordered the Lamb Shank and I asked one of the Norwegian waiters (who had served us at the bar) how the Lamb was prepared and he said "in the microwave"...

So I ended up paying £10 for a microwave meal... On closer inspection of the cutlery and plates, there were stains of food from what must have been previous meals on the side plate and on my knife...


By breakfast our backs were in pain from the bed and we were ready to leave if one more thing went wrong which was very much expected.

We ordered Fried Egg, beans, bacon, no mushrooms and a hash brown. Well what we received was a burnt fried egg, mushrooms..., bacon, hash brown and no beans. We also ended up waiting 10 minutes for tea and coffee and another 8 minutes for some bread.

It was at breakfast I found out where the waiter/bartender was from when he didn't understand what I said half the time and so I asked where he was from and the other waitress. It seems at this hotel they higher people from other countries, with no experience or training at the bar. And this is a luxurious 3 star hotel??? I expected more...

So we immediately checked out as soon as possible, and couldn't wait to find a better place close that provided a decent service.

We will certainly never be returning as long as they keep people employed who don't know what on earth they are doing behind the bar...

All I can say is good luck to who ever goes to the Westwood Hotel next.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ClassyLadyUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2011

We recently stayed at The Westwood Hotel for a friend’s wedding. It was unequivocally one of the best wedding’s we’ve ever attended. We got a welcoming arrival from the reception staff and our room was immaculate. We had booked a premier room, which we were told, had just recently been refurbished. It was spotlessly clean and well presented. Our room had a lovely view of the back gardens and the surrounding woods.

The wedding itself was fantastic. Everything from the food to the dancing to the drinks were superb. The waiting staff, we found, were very attentive to the other guests. The bar staff also were very friendly and seemed happy to be there. Our breakfast on both mornings, the Sunday breakfast being a buffet, was both of a very high standard…especially the sausages!

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at this hotel and would happily return when we get a chance. Hopefully next time we’ll get a chance to explore more of Oxford.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GROxford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
115 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2011

Conveniently placed on the outskirts of Oxford and recently modernised in a contempory style. Warm and friendly welcome from Reception. We had Room 28 on the frist floor which was part of the modernisation programme. Spotlessly clean and beautiful bathroom - let down by shower off the taps which suffered from sudden variable water temperature changes (presumably when other users turned on their taps).

Restaurant was almost empty (unusual for a Friday night) but was well furnished with white liunen and nice glass/cutlery. Menu was limited and more like a pub menu with only one fish course (Smoked salmon salad). We both chose tenderloin of pork wrapped in bacon which was overcooked (probably at least part pre cooked and reheated). Service was friendly.

Breakfast was excellent.

In summary, a hotel with a lot of potential

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VANDICARLTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2011

We had our wedding at the Westwood Country Hotel in August this year. It was in the end a lovely day and a beautiful location to have our wedding and on the day the waiting staff and wedding co-ordinator were excellent.

However, I unfortunately cannot recommend the Westwood for anyone else planning a wedding due to the nature of some of the other staff. I am only just putting this review on- over 2 months afterwards as they have only just given us one of our wedding presents... This was a bottle of champagne that was delivered to the hotel on the day of our wedding. They failed to give this to us on the day or the day after, despite us asking reception if anything had been delivered. We found out on return from our honeymoon that they still had this- as we do not live around the corner and this was their mistake we asked them to send it to us. They agreed and yet it took 8 more phonecalls (each time being told they would send it the next day) and 9 weeks after our wedding before we received it.

If this was the only issue we could have overlooked this. However, this was only the last straw. On booking we were assured we could have use of the hotel rooms the night before (as many of our guests were travelling from Ireland) but found out, only 2 months before, that they had actually booked another wedding the night before without telling us.

We were also consequently told that out guests could not check into their rooms until 2pm. Which was the exact time of our ceremony so not very helpful to guests travelling from a long way away.

There were several big mess ups with room bookings too. One guest somehow managed to pay a deposit for her room without them writing down her name and so the room was booked under 'Irish lady'... The worst mess up probably was another guest being allocated the honeymoon suite! They did not even notice this until we pointed it out.

This was the general disorganised and unhelpful service that we received from the Westwood. Organising a wedding is stressful enough, and having to get my husband to call them several times as they were not replying to my emails really did not help.

I know weddings never run perfectly but I did expect better service than I received considering the fact that we were paying them £5000+ for this one day.

So all in all, a lovely location for a wedding, and although the actual day went very well, the service we received both before and after the day makes it impossible for us to recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2011

Booked this hotel, not knowing a lot about it, but required accommodation near the Oxford town centre to see a show at The New Theatre.

Glad we took the gamble, as we were very pleasantly surprised. The hotel allowed us to check-in earlier than 2pm and all the staff were helpful.

The upkeep of the hotel in general was very clean and our room had a door which led out to a small patio area, so you could sit outside in the sunshine.

Breakfast was plentiful, offering a variety of cereals, etc and of course a full English breakfast.

The location of the hotel was ideal, just a couple of miles away from the town centre. A taxi ride costing £10.00 or a 13 minute bus ride at a cost of £3.20 (return). Buses ran every half hour and on the hour after midnight. The bus-stop was only a two minute walk away and on the return, the bus-stop was right outside the hotel.

All in all, will definitely be re-visiting this hotel, was so convenient.

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Flapjack005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
92 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Not quite a full-blown country house hotel, but good value for Oxford. Only a couple of miles out of the city. Room was comfortable. Breakfast was good, although the service was slightly disorganised.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Boringmiddleagedman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 966 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 485 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.1 mi away
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
#15 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 718 reviews
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 708 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Property: The Westwood Hotel
Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing