We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really immaculate and comfortable hotel”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #29 of 45 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed here during a business trip. Hotel was beautiful. Very clean and immaculately presented. Bedroom was very comfortable and cooked breakfast was very good. Plenty of places to sit and relax with beautiful gardens. Staff were friendly, polite and professional. Would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PaulaLiverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (341)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

164 - 170 of 341 reviews

Reviewed 10 March 2014

My daughter and I stayed at the Westwood Hotel last week. We had a very comfortable ground floor room with a lovely terrace overlooking the beautiful garden. It was very clean and well thought out with hooks in all the right places (hotels don't usually get this right). The hotel is very close to the park and ride so it was easy to get into Oxford. We had the most delicious evening meal with a imaginative vegetarian main course, served by very efficient staff. I can't wait to return.

Room Tip: Down stairs room with terrace overlooking the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Judy49650
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Lovely small country house hotel set in woodland.
Located near the ring road and easy access to the park and ride into Oxford.
Very comfortable sofas and beds which had crisp white linen.
Delicious food with a good range of prices and choices. Excellent cooked breakfast.
The staff were lovely, friendly but courteous and helpful.
We made a return stay and were upgraded to a better room which was very spacious and comfortable.
We would definitely return if in the area again.

Room Tip: Some rooms overlook the garden at the rear rather than the car park area,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Excellent hotel, friendly staff and great food. I used to live in the area and had never heard of this hotel and on a recent visit back to the are chose to stay in the hotel. The hotel is old worlde with a professional feel. Will be stopping again!

Room Tip: Room 23 was perfect
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank chat54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 January 2014

Rooms were clean, and decorated to a high standard.
Bed was comfortable and we enjoyed a quiet night's sleep
Breakfast was buffet style, and there were about 8 hot ingredients to chose from if you wanted a cooked breakfast. Plenty of continental alternatives also.
Staff were efficient and welcoming

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OxfordTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2014

I stayed here on business with a collegue and we both share the same view as each other with this. Sometimes, the privately owned hotels that have put in the effort and quality are really the most comfortable of stays. Very nice modern bedroom, large bathroom, food to a way above avergae standard..... Really did the job. For a businessstop over infact, it was perfect. Will definaltey return.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled on business
Thank samuel P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you for your feedback and am so thrilled to hear of your stay. We have made an extra effort to be more accommodating to our business guests, with our regular menu changes, early check outs etc. so its very satisfying to hear your review. I hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

The Westwood is a small, privately run hotel, and the fact that it has stayed this way is probably its strongest point. It still has the indefinable, welcoming feel of a private house despite its contemporary and high standard décor. The gardens are delightful, even in the winder, with some stunning trees and a woodland surrounding the lawn. The food is simply excellent, and the service too. The lovely conservatory restaurant was heated just for me, and candles lit on every table. Quality is never compromised. If I had one make one criticism - given the luxurious quality of everything else (such a comfy bed!) - I was surprised by how small the towels were; it's the sort of place that would suggest large fluffy towels on emerging from the shower. Otherwise, perfect.

Room Tip: I managed to get a good rate through the hotel's website presumably due to a quiet period. I was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank westcountrywalker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2014

Thank you so much for your kind review. We are currently in the process of changing from the slightly smaller bath towels to the larger bath sheets, its seems you unfortunately had the smaller ones. I'm hoping to have the larger ones in every room by the end of the month. Thank you again for the review and encouragement to hurry the changeover. I look forward to welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 45 in Oxford
753 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#20 of 45 in Oxford
1,089 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.2 mi away
River Hotel
River Hotel
#25 of 45 in Oxford
300 reviews
1.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#9 of 45 in Oxford
1,915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £82 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing