We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The best!”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
1 review
“The best!”
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I love the place and the hotel so much! The owner is so humble and friendly! I just love the scenery from my room, i get to see the forest and the owner(forgot ur name sir!) mowing the lawn in the morning. I still remember the fresh air, the coldness, the wind. It was autumn that time. I will definitely go back there and enjoy myself being surrounded with the trees. Need a getaway from all the hussle and work? Come to westwood hotel. U'll love it there. Good services btw! :D

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Munirahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    88
    61
    21
    25
See reviews for
74
131
11
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Apremont, France
Level Contributor
165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stopped here 1 night the room had a broken sink with sharp edges the walls in the room looked as if world war 3 had splattered all over them the window could not be locked in a downstairs room! The main desk in the room was dangerous as wobbled severely on its legs up to 200mm in both directions!!!!
The restaurant service was very slow as only 1 member of staff and we presume that with pace of food only 1 chef. The food was average the sauces overpowered the food.
Generally the hotel is becoming shabby and in need of a refurbishment.
The member of staff on the front desk was more interested in the computer than dealing with customer requests.
Would not consider stopping here again, we have stopped in Travel Lodges at £29/night that are far better than this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank o1jerkbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family thought the service and food was fantastic. The staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a great time there and have already booked a return visit. Great location for Oxford and the oldest town in Britain called Abingdon-on-Thames.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good hotel with lovely views out back. Spacious family room with large bathroom which was a little dated. Would be more tempted to stay again if breakfast was included in price. Overall enjoyed our stay. Denise Dean

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denisedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Stayed one night, spacious, clean comfortable room. Nice bathroom, but poor shower pressure.
Breakfast was well worth the £10.50.
Room came with a free taxi ride into and out of oxford - what a great idea and certainly and incentive for staying there.

Good value for money and courteous, helpful staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Monkeynuts2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed for one night with my partner. We arrived an hour early but wasnt a problem and got our keys for room. Friendly man on desk asked if we needed any help with bags, but we were ok. He told us where room was. Room was ok, we had a corner room and had windows both sides of the room. The bathroom was clean although the cleaners had left a used shower gel and soap in bath. But wasnt major issue.
Shower goes from boiling hot to very cold within minutes and kept needed to change temp.
Nice comfy beds.
Nothing to fault really.
The park & ride is a 5 min drive and we got the bus into town during day and at night. Nice location.

Would stay here again, i managed to get hotel on offer at £110 a night, but i think its normally £125 which i think is a bit much.

We didnt try food or drink as we ate out in oxford.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charlie d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abergavenny, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed for one night, 18 Feb. the two rooms we had were lovely and comfortable. They felt like really nice bedrooms rather than the typical hotel room. All the staff we met were friendly and helpful - they brought me an extra heater when I felt a bit cool at dinner. Overall the food was very good although the risotto could have been hotter. Excellent location. Easy and quick to get to park and ride. Would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Rooms with view of garden at back would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ferne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
718 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
980 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
283 reviews
3.8 mi away
Galaxie Hotel
Galaxie Hotel
#18 of 44 in Oxford
427 reviews
1.7 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Property: The Westwood Hotel
Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing