We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The service of this hotel is not very good.”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 10 May 2014

Firstly, it is too far away from the Oxford city center, and the room is always cold. So I think you should improve your service. Because of the long distance, you could provide pick-up service, or it is very difficult for the foreign tourists.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank 鹏 游
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 May 2014

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to read that you had a less than perfect stay with us. We very clearly state how close we are to the city centre and the attraction to the hotel is that we are just far enough outside of the city centre to be able to offer unspoilt woodlands and beautiful gardens. We are a few minutes away from a park and ride, which gives regular transport to all parts of Oxford. We also, as you have suggested, provide a free service to and from the city centre using a local taxi company. The special offer has been advertised here on TripAdvisor for the past 6 months.

The heating times at the hotel are changed with our seasons, the warmer we get the less heating we have on. We have monitored this closely and have it set so that the heating comes on at the coldest points of the day. In addition to this, every room has a separate heater which is controlled by the guest and is more than adequate to quickly heat the room. My staff would have been more than happy to show you how this works, had you any difficulty in using this.

Thank you again for your review, however I can see no areas of improvement that I can initiate as we already provide the services you have suggested we lack.

Best regards

Drew Ireson, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

147 - 153 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

We had a pleasant stay in a family room at The Westwood. The restaurant is also worth a look because of the good service, interesting menu and reasonable prices. Although a little out of Oxford, access is easy.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DocJarad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Our only gripe was that the bottom sheet was too small for the bed and therefore could not be tucked in, which led to ruckled bed and disturbed nights. Basic requirement is for sheets to fit the bed.
Apart from that the location was very good for our purpose which was to see family nearby. The staff were very pleasant, helpful and polite, The dinner menu was good with very reasonable prices.
The room was small but well appointed with a lovely view over the garden and wood.
If the sheet problem is sorted out I would be happy to stay there again.

Room Tip: Rooms at the back are very quiet and have a lovely view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Judith B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

I love the place and the hotel so much! The owner is so humble and friendly! I just love the scenery from my room, i get to see the forest and the owner(forgot ur name sir!) mowing the lawn in the morning. I still remember the fresh air, the coldness, the wind. It was autumn that time. I will definitely go back there and enjoy myself being surrounded with the trees. Need a getaway from all the hussle and work? Come to westwood hotel. U'll love it there. Good services btw! :D

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Munirahhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2014

We stopped here 1 night the room had a broken sink with sharp edges the walls in the room looked as if world war 3 had splattered all over them the window could not be locked in a downstairs room! The main desk in the room was dangerous as wobbled severely on its legs up to 200mm in both directions!!!!
The restaurant service was very slow as only 1 member of staff and we presume that with pace of food only 1 chef. The food was average the sauces overpowered the food.
Generally the hotel is becoming shabby and in need of a refurbishment.
The member of staff on the front desk was more interested in the computer than dealing with customer requests.
Would not consider stopping here again, we have stopped in Travel Lodges at £29/night that are far better than this hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank o1jerkbait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Our family thought the service and food was fantastic. The staff are wonderful. Nothing is too much trouble for them. We had a great time there and have already booked a return visit. Great location for Oxford and the oldest town in Britain called Abingdon-on-Thames.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liz F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

Good hotel with lovely views out back. Spacious family room with large bathroom which was a little dated. Would be more tempted to stay again if breakfast was included in price. Overall enjoyed our stay. Denise Dean

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank denisedean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#19 of 44 in Oxford
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £85 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing