We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoy bird singing!”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Enjoy bird singing!”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Comfortable country hotel with good food, close to park and ride for city centre. Attractive room. Staff friendly and welcoming. Nice sunny decking with table and chairs to enjoy room service is you wish.

Room Tip: Garden view excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Linda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

321 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    124
    89
    61
    21
    26
See reviews for
74
131
11
46
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I organised a weekend in Oxford for a hen party with 10 girls. We had 5 of the rooms, 4 of which were next to each other and all led out to the gardens through our own personal patio door. These rooms are 29, 30, 31 & 32. I highly recommend them especially on a sunny day like we had. It felt like we had the hotel to ourselves. The staff were also very friendly, helpful and responsive during the organisation stage and the weekend. I couldn't fault it and all the girls raved about it! It is only a 10 minute car journey from te centre of Oxford but you feel like you are in the countryside. Taxi's are a decent price too. I booked these through the hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_odyssey2288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level 6 Contributor
107 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We found it difficult to find any relatively reasonably priced accommodation for a weekend night stay in or near Oxford but opted for the Westwood Hotel which is about 4 miles away from the city centre. The hotel is set in a pleasant wooded area about half a mile off the A34 but the surrounds make it feel further away, although you can hear some of the traffic.It is about £10 in a taxi from central Oxford though we did have fares varying from under £8 to over £14 during our stay.
We were in a Premium (or Superior) Room on the first floor which had a sizeable balcony with table and chairs overlooking the terrace, the well maintained lawn and the wood.
The room felt spacious looked newly refurbished with a dark modern feel and furnishings. The en suite was a bit cosier with powerful shower (no bath).
Staff throughout were friendly and helpful, with the reception team and Australian waiter/bar person impressing.
Breakfast is served in the dining room overlooking the garden. It was decent value with a small buffet and a choice of hot dishes. The hotel also has a nice terrace area suitable for drinks or breakfast and there are plenty of comfortable areas near the bar if the weather is cooler.
We woudl definitely consider staying there again for any future trips to Oxford.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a view of the garden or a room with a deck/terrace. If you are not keen on stairs...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maddison65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
glan conwy
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here as other places were too expensive. Had a very comfortable an relaxing stay. Location is great, nice and quiet. Staff are Very welcoming and helpful. Food wasnt all that but to be honest it didnt ruin the stay. Would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank robinson2347
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
255 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Watch it if you step in the shower. There is a tendency for either no hot water or instantly scalding. Luckily my wife could move quickly, even more luckily her 80 year old mother did not use the shower. However she did try to use that hand basin to find cold water.
Water works problems aside, the rooms were noisy from the adjoining rooms and the hen night.
Breakfast was again spoiled firstly by the very poor quality of the food and by the hen party being put smack bang in the middle of the restaurant making conversation impossible. Let's get back to the food. Cold, one sided toast, cold beans, over cooked hash browns and inedible sausages.
Now we all have off days, so when my wife asked for English mustard a pot of whole grain was dumped unceremoniously on her table by a surly waitress.
Yes, the breakfast was taken off but no it did not stop the stay being ruined. Luckily we have trip advisor and the chance to vote with our feet.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Herbie_and_Elaine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 14 May 2014

A lovely country hotel not too far away from Oxford. The bus service exists but is not very frequent. So had some problems getting to town since we didn´t have our own car. I wished to wander in the near by nature that the hotel pictures offered but there were no walking trails around. The service was overall pleasant and the breakfast excellent. The hotel has quite ok restaurant too.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank lee h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bicester
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Our daughter and new husband had their wedding reception at this lovely country hotel.
We were fortunate to have exclusive access to the hotel, and were treated very well.

The service at all times was excellent, and the staff were understanding, attentive and very courteous.

We had previously been for a 'tasting' session and also had good service then too. The reception staff were very helpful in assisting me with setting up a surprise movie on their lounge TV for the happy couple too. All in all, a wonderful weekend for us all.

Room Tip: We had room 4 with a 4 poster bed - no sign of any spooks!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank neil40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
334 reviews
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#17 of 44 in Oxford
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,071 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Property: The Westwood Hotel
Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing