We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible breakfast service”
Review of The Westwood Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Westwood Hotel
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 28 July 2014

Yes, the hotel in itself is fine. Our room was very spacious and had a wonderful view on the garden. But the breakfast was terrible. There is only a small buffet table, that contains only one plate (!) wih some cheese and meat for all guests together. The girl walking around and asking if we'd like coffee or tea showed no emotion whatsoever. Working there must be hell for her as she never smiled or made a nice gesture. When asked for a cooked breakfast, we indeed received that, but without bread or toast. So, where should I put my fried egg then?
All in all, this took away all the fun of our stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank MartinRook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback and very sorry to read about your experience during breakfast.

I have met with our waiting staff and Head Chef and addressed the points raised, once again I appreciate your feedback and I have directly used that as a training exercise for the hotel.

Your comments have helped improve our service and am very confident that we will continue to maintain these standards and strive to improve them.

Thank you again for your response.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (336)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 336 reviews

Reviewed 23 July 2014

I recently spent a number of nights at the Westwood, on a golfing break with friends, and we all found the accommodation, food and service to be excellent. The Hotel itself is in a delightful country setting, but within easy reach of Oxford. The staff are particularly friendly, welcoming and helpful.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Graham B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

We were in Oxford for one evening and the next day and The Westwood fit the bill. It was out of town and a little hard to find (get a GPS ) but turned out great! We had dinner in their dining room which was very nice, romantic, And convenient. The room was adequate although a bit outdated, but was roomy and the bed was comfortable. The hotel was quiet, we suppose mainly because there were no weddings or other activities underway. The bar was very good. If we return to Oxford we would stay here again.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank HoustonRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2014

The Westwood Hotel turned out to be a very quiet hotel with nice surroundings. Travelling by bus it was also easy to get to Oxford centre. The hotel bears sign of being a bit worn but it has a lovely atmosphere. The breakfast could be better though. Small amounts of food and when we asked for more, they brought only one piece at the time. A friendly staff but breakfast serving could be better.

Room Tip: Try to get a room with a door right out to the garden.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sveino
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2014

I stayed here on business for a week and was unfortunately disappointed that the attic room I stayed in was boiling hot (on a moderately warm week). This is not really acceptable when paying nearly £150 per night. On the plus side, the surroundings are nice and its a short drive into Oxford. Also, the staff were friendly and helpful. Another disappointing hotel that I've stayed in the Oxford area, desperately needs a large modern affordable hotel for business travelers or for smaller hotels to step up to the mark.

Room Tip: Don't go to the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

Attended a beautiful wedding, the gardens and location were brilliant and luckily the weather was warm enough to enjoy the beautiful surroundings. I thought the B&B room price at £150 was high considering the room and choice at breakfast - a little disappointing.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Suze888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014

This was a luxury location for us, so I just could not believe they put us in a room in which there was mold (and fully-grown mushrooms!) at the junction of the ceiling and the wall, on an area more than a foot wide and half a foot long. If mold and mushrooms had had time to grow that much, it means that maintenance of the place was very poor and who knows what else they could have let slip! And we were likely not the first they put in that room in those conditions. They offered us another room, but at the same price and nothing else. When I asked to talk to the manager they did not let me do so. I'm very disappointed. The second room was fine but I did not have confidence in their maintenance of the place anymore. I would not recommend to anyone.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Josee_Canada695
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DrewIreson, General Manager at The Westwood Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Thank you for your feedback, as always feedback is an essential part of our business and aids us to continually improve our offering.

I am very sorry that your stay with us was less than enjoyable. The room which you were first checked in to had been decommissioned so that building work could take place to rectify a small leak in the roof. Unfortunately a mistake on check in put you into this room, as soon as this was noticed we immediately changed you to an upgraded premier room, within a matter of mists of you checking in. No guests ever stayed in that room until we fixed the problem. This was obviously a mistake that we have ensured will not happened again and the room has been fixed and completely redecorated.

I do hope that should you need a hotel in Oxford again, you will afford me a chance to restore faith in us. Please contact me direct should you wish to book and I will personally deal with your booking.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
4.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
736 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
1.7 mi away
Hawkwell House Hotel
Hawkwell House Hotel
#19 of 44 in Oxford
1,047 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,845 reviews
1.7 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
4.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
532 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westwood Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westwood Hotel

Address: Hinksey Hill, Oxford OX1 5BG, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £85 - £145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Westwood Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westwood Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Westwood Country

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing