We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Value Accomodation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good Value Accomodation”
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have stayed here three times now when business has required me to overnight in Oxford. The accomodation is basic but clean and comfortable. With a cooked breakfast included in the price it is good value. If you just want somewhere to stay but have no need of, for example, spa facilities or a lounge to idle the afternoon away in with coffee and biscuits then this is worth looking at. There is no evening meal but you are a 10 minute drive from the city centre where there are plenty of places to eat. The staff are helpful. On my last stay I found that I had been e mailed some papers that I needed to print off for that morning. Whilst there is no business suite the receptionist was quite happy to loan me her computer and printer without charge so that I could get them. I would certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrogateMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

761 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    304
    255
    63
    42
See reviews for
158
236
34
205
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed with our three children (10, 7 and 3) and found this hotel to be ideal in every respect for our family. We booked two rooms - better value than one family room in most hotels - and were really pleased that they were interconnecting. Children found the sofa beds comfortable and the rooms facilities were good - flatscreen tv, good shower etc. Breakfast (included in the price) very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Good location if you are driving - we didn't go into Oxford city centre but there is a park and ride nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Molesey, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
91 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2012

We were visiting Oxford to meet up with some friends and, not having visited Oxford for many years, had no idea where to stay. Didn't want to pay a fortune and nice as it would be to be situated within the centre, anyone who knows the city will also be aware of how horrendous parking can be.

I don't mind walking and in fact love closed off city centres. However, that being said, when I arrive with luggage and all the trappings that a family brings (!) I want to be able to unload my car outside of the door and not have to worry about stopping on yellow lines or then having to find car parking (at usually prohibitive costs).

Our friends had stayed at this hotel once before so on their recommendation we made our booking. We travel on business but I have to say cost wise I was very pleasantly surprised ~ less than £130 for two twin rooms with en-suite shower rooms, flat screen TV, tea & coffee making facilities, plenty of towels and spotlessly clean.

The checking in/out times were also sensible ~ check in after 3pm and check out by 12 noon.
I do so hate staying for one night and then having to be be out by 10am ~ what do I sacrifice ... sleep, breakfast or properly packed luggage. Here, we lingered with friends over breakfast until after 11am. The staff cleared up quietly around us but no-one hassled us to leave or made us feel uncomfortable.

The staff overall could not have been more friendly or helpful. Check in was simplicity itself, parking was immediately outside the building with security cameras linked to reception. Although we were only staying for the one night, there is also a complex a few hundred yards away offering cinema, bowling and restaurant.

Getting into Oxford was simplicity itself ~ a very easy journey of about 3 miles.
There are lots of signs to the hotel as its nearby the stadium.
So, although its not walking distance to the centre, its easy to get into and also I don't suppose that expensive if you did want to take a taxi.
The hotel will happily make restaurant reservations.

All in all, a really excellent trip was had.
We signed up to their loyalty card as we were so impressed and if the rest of the chain match up to this, will enjoy saving costs over the usual hotels we use for, what turned out to be, a much better deal!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dolcevita-italia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Me and 3 of my friends stayed here this weekend. It was £27.50 pp so we weren't expecting alot. But when we got here we were amazed! It was really clean, fresh and new looking. Our bedrooms were lovley really clean and really comfortable beds. We had an interlinking door which was great because all four of us could go between the both rooms. We were saying this would be great for familys or groups of friends. The breakfast was lovely to. The hotel is abit out of the city centre but only costs £10 in a taxi to get into town which was only £2.50 pp. I would stay here again and if i went to other citys and i would use the holiday inn express again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hebs1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, England
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 February 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 2 nights whilst we visited Oxford and Bicester. The hotel is a standard Holiday Inn Express, the good points were: the breakfast was very good, the room is a decent size, there are three restaurants nearby, staff were very helpful, you can watch Oxford United if they are playing at home!!! On the down side, the sofa bed is terrible, very cheap mattress and was extremely uncomfortable. No heating in the bathroom, and heating in bedroom very hit and miss. The coffee supplies are not replenished, but assume that is normal. No view from very small window.

It is near to a park and ride in Redbridge which is by far the best way to go into Oxford, parking prices are horrendous. Bicester was great, had a meal there and it is open until 8 pm weekdays, some bargains to be had.

For the money this hotel is not bad but could be improved in some areas.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ps01273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level 6 Contributor
112 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 February 2012

I used this Hotel to stay with family for a one day visit to Oxford - it does 'exactly as it says on the tin' and is a typical Holiday Inn Express; good value, clean accomodation, a little out of town with a good breakfast buffet and a choice of other 'eateries' nearby.

I would certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ForestFan1001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Styria
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 February 2012

The room was equiped with an electric room heating system, but without radiator in the bathroom. Due to set to defrosting level only the room was on a very low temperature at check in. Setting the thermostat to a higher value will only work, if the room key (ore something similar) keeps the main electrical switch on. But even then, the bathroom stays cold.

The most disappointing "feature" of this hotel is the "High speed internet access" in rooms.
Attached picture shows how the Hotel is describing the internet access on its homepage.
5 GPB per hour in 2012, but not for public areas only!? Nothing more to add..

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mariacher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
618 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
393 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing