We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only football fans would love this hotel !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Penang Island, Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Only football fans would love this hotel !”
Reviewed 2 April 2012

I checked into Holiday Inn Express Kassam Stadium in May 2011 and stayed 2 nights after coming in by rail from Croydon and then hoping onto a bus from Oxford Station to Grenoble Road , my bus did stop in front of the hotel though . Compared to Holiday Inn Express Croydon , this location is way out from the City unless you are a Oxford United football fan . The buses on the main road are infrequent , you need to walk past Fry's Hill Park to Pegasus Road / Knights Road at the rear of the hotel to catch the frequent buses that will take you to the City . Nothing to do in the evenings as in reality the location is on the outskirts , the nearest place to go will be Blackbird Leys by foot a good 1 km away and I would not want to walk across a dark Park at 10pm . The rooms are somewhat inferior compared to what I experienced in Croydon , smaller too , cleanliness could be improved , breakfast is ample but variety is not , wifi is chargeable too . The only plus points I would give is that parking places are bountiful , a big cafe for the breakfast area and the helpful staff for directions . For a first timer from Malaysia like me who needs to explore by bus or foot , this hotel is a no-no for it's location .

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms facing Grenoble Road if you need a good night's sleep
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 9 May 2012
Dear Tan H ,

Thank you for staying with us and leaving such a detailed review. I am deeply sorry you you did not find our location satisfactory and also the problems you encountered with the cleanliness of your room. The feedback we receive from our valued guests, like you, enables us to target problem areas, We welcome any opportunity to improve.

Katie J
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

759 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    304
    254
    63
    41
See reviews for
157
236
34
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Wigan
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2012

This hotel is more for the business traveler or some one visiting the kassam staduum as its on the outskirts of oxford next door to the stadium , hotel its self is of a good standard and clean but being picky I would say likes to charge you for anything it can I.e no free WiFi in the lobby. It has a leisure club close which charges 5 pounds for a day pass ,cinema , bowling and a selection of food places within a five minute stroll away

  • Stayed March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WiganPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2012

Agree with other comments about value and nice staff. One thing that is helpful is though there is a bar in the evening there is no food, however they have take away menus and a dedicated phone so you can order food. This has to be eaten in the dining room. This seems more civilised than eating in your room.
Taxi fare was £10 from the hotel, this might be a fixed price and £11.50 when we returned.
On looking at prices for Oxford hotels it is worth considering whether the cheaper rate here and using taxi or Park and Ride/local buses mentioned by other reviewers is a cheaper alternative to city centre hotels.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LuckyduckBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands, UK
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 March 2012

Great hotel for a holiday in Oxford. Great public transport links every 4 to 10 minutes even late at night. Room clean and very quiet. Breakfast good, would have liked to have seen more fresh fruit. Staff were very helpful and friendly. We took our bikes and the staff allowed us to store them over night in the hotel store room which was a great addtional service. Would visit again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank claire99_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Norfolk
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

This hotel is ideally based for visiting Oxford and has easy access to the Park and Ride. The rooms were nice and clean and the staff very helpful and pleasant. Breakfast was OK but, as others have remarked, a bit of a scrum. There is a free phone to order take-away which you can eat in the breakfast area and the Indian take-away we had was lovely. The best way to find this hotel is to follow the clear signs to the football stadium (with a football logo) as the hotel is next door. Despite there being a derby between Oxford and Swindon on while we were there it did not affect us. I would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank NorfolkRoamer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2012

I have stayed here three times now when business has required me to overnight in Oxford. The accomodation is basic but clean and comfortable. With a cooked breakfast included in the price it is good value. If you just want somewhere to stay but have no need of, for example, spa facilities or a lounge to idle the afternoon away in with coffee and biscuits then this is worth looking at. There is no evening meal but you are a 10 minute drive from the city centre where there are plenty of places to eat. The staff are helpful. On my last stay I found that I had been e mailed some papers that I needed to print off for that morning. Whilst there is no business suite the receptionist was quite happy to loan me her computer and printer without charge so that I could get them. I would certainly use this place again.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HarrogateMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 February 2012

Stayed with our three children (10, 7 and 3) and found this hotel to be ideal in every respect for our family. We booked two rooms - better value than one family room in most hotels - and were really pleased that they were interconnecting. Children found the sofa beds comfortable and the rooms facilities were good - flatscreen tv, good shower etc. Breakfast (included in the price) very good and the staff were friendly and helpful. Good location if you are driving - we didn't go into Oxford city centre but there is a park and ride nearby. Highly recommended.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rach00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
616 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,082 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
385 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
2.2 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Abingdon Road Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing