We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff went the extra mile”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 12 July 2012

I would like to highly praise the staff of the Holiday Inn Express in Oxford for saving me a lot of grief when I accidentally left my backpack (rucksack as they called it) in the lobby. I did not discover that it was missing until I was on the train back to London. For all I knew it could be on a city bus or in the train station or stolen. When I got to our London hotel the clerk relayed a message that the Holiday Inn Express in Oxford had found my backpack and to call them back. Wow! Staff member Chris (I don't know his title) had found the backpack and found my itinerary listing our next stay and phone number. He went the extra mile to contact me. I returned by train and retrieved the backpack and got to meet to Chris and Anna (who he gave some credit to). Everything was still in the backpack. Nothing was "pinched" as he called it. 12 hours later we were headed back to the USA.

We had also traveled with our son and daughter-in-law. When we checked into the Holiday Inn, they gave us adjoining rooms. We had not requested it, but this is even more evidence of a staff willing to go the extra mile to make us feel welcome. We will not forget what you did.

Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
Thank KenLarsen14ers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2012

Dear Guest

Thank you for your comments. It is very much appreciated. The photos were a surprise

Best Regards
Chris Mason
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (767)
There are newer reviews for Holiday Inn Express Oxford
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

557 - 563 of 767 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2012

Large, clean and well appointed rooms at this hotel just outside Oxford. Though the hotel restaurant is nothing worth commenting on, there is a small complex a 10 minute walk away where you will find a couple of options to choose from. The staff were helpful and friendly. Definite value for money but you do need to have your own transport if staying here.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SRPURI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
470165
Reviewed 6 July 2012

Stayed one night room was fine clean with all facilities, bit off beaten track for oxford.
Staff were fine, but breakfast was a joke, sausage scrambled egg and beans.
sausage I think that's what it was, scrambled egg, salty seem like it had come out of packet and toasters that warm bread.
what a let down

Room Tip: none really all the same
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

I stayed here 30th June / 1st July as I was attending a Conference at The Kassam Stadium on the 2nd July. It was my 1st experience of Holiday inn ( Dedicated Premier inn person most of the time). I did not have a choice of where to stay as the hotel was part of the Conference arrangements but I had read some of the other reviews about it before arriving and I don't feel that some of them are very fair.
I travelled to Oxford by train and got the No 5 bus to pegasus road a few minutes walk from the hotel. I was very wary as I had read that this area was on a very dodgy estate but I have to say that it is not any different to any other Council estate that i have ever come across before, maybe growing up on a similar estate in the North East of England gives me a different point of view.
The breakfast food although not brilliant was very adequate, Fruit, cereals, Scrambled eggs, Beans and sausages ( could possibly try for a slightly better quality of sausage and add bacon to the menu) yoghurts, Toast, croissant and small muffins. Enough to give you a good start to the day.
Every member of staff that I dealt with were polite, helpful and professional. On the day i left they booked a taxi to pick me up after the Conference and asked if there was anything else they could do for me.
The room (139) was very clean and comfortable and I can't fault it. There was tea and coffee making facilities in the rooms and maybe a couple of biscuits might be and idea to slightly improve that experience. Overall my experience of this hotel was very positive.
I do have to mention a couple of things that I saw as negative. Although there are a couple of restaurants and a bowling alley within 5 minutes of the hotel it still does not get rid of the feeling that you are in the middle of nowhere.If like me you were not in a car then you are basically stuck there at night (unless you want to pay £12 each way for taxis into Oxford) although the bar does help out. I do also think that it is a little bit too expensive for a hotel without any evening meal facilities although you can ring out and have the choice of 4 different takeaway options delivered to eat in the breakfast area.
In summing up I would only stay here again if I was attending a conference or something to do with the football stadium. If I go back just to see Oxford itself I will book something much more central. I still think it does not deserve a lot of the negative comments in other reviews.

Room Tip: 139 was at the back of the hotel overlooking the football stadium and was a very quiet room
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Colhunt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

its a typical holiday inn. Rooms are ordinary but relatively clean and breakfast is adaquate. Its ok for an overnight stop. Wifi in the rooms is charged at £5 for 24 hours....extortion.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DaveBaldBear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

This hotel was ok for a very short stay though the "standard" prices are very high for what you are getting - i was very glad that i paid less by shopping around - though be warned, I had paid via the agent when I booked but the receptionist tried to make me pay again when i left and was adamant that I had not paid.
The rooms are clean but missing some key essentials on a business trip (e.g. an iron). the hotel serves breakfast in a morning which is average. As advertised, there are restaurants nearby, but, as a female on her own none of them were appealing and the walk to them didnt feel particularly safe so you would have to drive to them.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ant35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2012

Dear Ant35,

Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your stay with us. I'm delighted you found our hotel to be clean. I'm sorry you were not 100% satisfied with your room amenities. I assure you that we take every comment seriously and hope to host your next stay in the area again.

Sincerely,

Irish V.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Typical Holiday Inn Express in a quiet location next to the Kassam football stadium. Breakfast area is small and difficult to move around when busy. Basic room with shower. Wifi in rooms is chargeable. Ok for a quick overnight if on business or leisure in Oxford. There is a leisure area with bowling alley within walking distance. Very pleasant reception staff.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joanne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
624 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,099 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
443 reviews
5.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £60 - £133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, IHG, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing