We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still a good Pub nearby” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
John O'Groats, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
223 reviews
203 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Still a good Pub nearby”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014

I was in this hotel again. Cheap and cheerful with a good pub nearby (The King's Arms. Check on google maps - a fine evening's walk). Breakfasts are ok, although the sausages are disappointingly poor quality. Room is fine. Internet is fine.

I was swithering whether to give 4 stars, but have to judge against other expresses - so a solid and dependable three it is.

All in all a good place.

Room Tip: No connecting door is always a good idea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank canoepunkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

729 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    291
    245
    61
    37
See reviews for
150
228
34
194
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Abingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

this hotel is clean comfortable and welcoming. it had all the things we needed. the breakfast was lush cooked fresh . we had a few drinks to ..for what we got it was not bad price .. the rooms are big and there is free parking too. it was peaceful and good night sleep if thats what you want.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobby4442014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for your posting. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your stay
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
172 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 December 2013

One doesn't expect luxury in a Holiday Inn Express, but the Oxford hotel is clean, comfortable, and the reception staff we encountered were helpful and friendly. The free parking was a bonus, as HIEs often charge for overnight parking. The breakfast buffet was well-stocked, and the cooked food fresh and hot. I am surprised that one commentator suggested their stay was expensive - £68 for bed and breakfast for two people seemed a bargain to me!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ukangelique
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sending in your comments. I am very pleased to read that your stay "ticked the boxes"
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 December 2013

We were very pleased with this hotel. Friendly staff, lovely room, comfortable beds. Staff were very helpful. Would definitley stay there again. However, our nights sleep was ruined by very noisy neighbours who were banging doors, and talking loudly when they got in at 1am until 2.30am. The hotel staff attended to the matter immediately and had to again warn them about their behaviour. Breakfast was self service and was included in the price, cooked and continental. We were also given a voucher for free wi-fi which was unexpected.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CarolSouthampton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 17 January 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your posting. I would also like to like to expres my thanks regarding your reaction to the noisy guests who. Our night staff patrol the corridors to check for noise etc and are trained to deal with this issue.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013 via mobile

Very comfortable hotel. Rooms spacious and comfortable. Staff very friendly and helpful. Good value for money. Only criticism was that the plug in wet room shower was totally inadequate and the bathroom floor flooded every time we took a shower. But despite that I would consider returning if we visit Oxford in the further.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 12 December 2013
Dear guest
Thank you for sending in your comments. I am very pleased that you found the staff friendly and that you enjoyed your stay. You noted that would stay here again which is good to hear. I would suggest that you ask for a room without the wet room bathroom on your next visit. The wet room bathrooms are designed for wheelchairs users and the bathroom floor is very flat
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
96 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

Like most Holiday Inn Express hotels you do not expect luxury, but rather functionality. The problem with this hotel is if you are on the back where they arrange for laundry to be delivered at about 5.30 in the morning. The lorry arrives - you get the reversing siren; then they leave the engine running for ½ an hour, while you hear every metal basket loaded and unloaded. When you say something in the morning they blame the football stadium next door. - Really not good.

Apart from this the staff are quite friendly and you get what you expect - BUT very expensive for a Holiday Inn Express!

Room Tip: No where near the service entrance!!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 929ScottB929
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am very sorry that the laundry van was at the hotel at this totally unacceptable hour. Could I ask that you email me the date that you stayed so that we can investigate this? My address is:
cmason@expressoxford.com
I have spoken to the laundry company and they have assured me that this will not happen again.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

I stayed here last week on business having had a comfortable stay here before. On arriving (as a Platinum IHG Member) I was promptly informed by 'James' on reception that I was booked in to a twin room and not a double room as there 'no doubles left'. Having informed James that I had booked a double not a twin, he informed me 'It's first come first served'. There was no hint of an apology or compensation. I wasn't welcomed as a Platinum member or offered a free drink, which is now standard at all HIE. On asking for my free drink voucher I was told 'oh yeh I forgot' and then when I asked for an extra bag of complimentary peanuts, the affable James informed me ' I suppose so, the cost of them isn't coming out of my pocket' !!!! The room was cold, even with heating on and the single duvet cover didn't help keep me warm. Everything else including breakfast was standard HIE, clean and fairly well presented. I feel that given the basic offering of HIE, a helpful and courteous reception staff is mandatory and I certainly didn't get it on this visit!

Room Tip: Arrive early if you want a double room rather than a twin, even if you book a double!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 10 December 2013
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am very sorry about the way your whole check in was handled. I would apprecaite it if you would contact me via email on: cmason@expressoxford.com, so that I can investigate this further.
I certainly agree that reception training is required in this situation. I would also like to assure you that if you book with the hotel, we always sell the exact room required either a double or a twin. If we have fully sold our doubles we would therefore offer and sell twins. Some sites accept the bookings and forward them as double/twins which I think is wrong. I would like the opportunity to find out how this happened. It certainly is not the case of when a guest actually arrives that they could receive a double or a twin. These are booked when the booking is made
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#26 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Linton Lodge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing