We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 6 April 2014

It was an ok hotel, facilities were what you would expect in a holiday in, although not what I expected for 60 pounds per night. We arrived half an hour before check-in and we're not allowed to check-in, even though we had phoned a few days previously to make sure we would be able to and the man on the other end of the phone assured us it would be fine. We ended up having to leave our bags in a room crammed with boxes stacked nearly to the ceiling as we were going to a concert and needed to get there as soon as possible. The other disappointment in my experience was the charge of 30 pounds for security, which I was told would be refunded the next day when we checked out. Even though I was refunded, I would have preferred pre-warning prior to my arrival so it was not a surprise when arriving. The staff were quite welcoming and the best part of the experience was definitely the breakfast. Another point was the taxi service the hotel called for us, they were an excellent, polite firm although expensive, but were prompt in picking us up.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
Thank misslizzy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Dear misslizzy95,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the check in experience and the deposit policy. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (778)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

390 - 396 of 778 reviews

Reviewed 2 April 2014

we have used this hotel several times now and it always comes up to scratch. Rooms are clean and presentable. Free breakfast is fine apart from the cooked which could be improved. Staff efficient and in quiet area (as mentioned provided no football at the stadium). There are some eating places just down road at the Leisure park. We have used it for an overnight and got it at a good price (usually around £60) so good value in our book. As others have mentioned not handy if no car.

Room Tip: no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MrandMrsSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As a previous reviewer has said you will need your own transport if staying here.
Good accommodation in a very quiet area by the Kassan Stadium at a reasonable price. The breakfast is included and offers a reasonable choice. Free WiFi throughout

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Even for Oxford, this hotel is too basic for the prices asked. Better give a bit more and have a higher ranking, more central hotel.
Only 10 mins drive out of the city but no convenient public transport in the area so do not even try if you don't have a car. Nearest bus stop is a 10 min walk but area not great and quit deserted at night.
Beds and matrasses are horrible! Very tin and full of springs. Walls are paper thin getting in all noises from rooms around (and above) as well as hallways.
Room amenities are basic and could do with some modernising.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
Thank naja58000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2014

Dear naja58000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

This is a great hotel, no doubt. Great rooms, high quality of sleep, impecable cleaness, a bit better than standard breakfast and, free wifi throughout the hotel.

I was a bit concerned because several reviews mentioned that wifi was a comodity that was billed apart from the room. Not any more, you actually have good wifi connections in the rooms and in the lobby.

The biggest drawback of this hotel is that it's a bit far from the city centre and a taxi to Oxford costs you 10£ (a bit more from Oxford to the hotel).

Staff is helpful and friendly. Definitely an hotel to ponder next time I'm in Oxford.

Room Tip: all the rooms are pretty quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NGarcia65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Loved it here- always spot on hospitality. Could stay in the beds forever. Clean and airy, friendly service and very quiet. A bit out of the centre so taxi was quite expensive, but overall great stay :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alicia W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2014

Good clean hotel.Big bathroom and bedroom .Only let down was no bacon at breakfast .Massive car park and cinema complex nearby with four resteraunts.Close to football ground for fans.Not too far from town centre and all the sights.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Anne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
635 reviews
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
1,115 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
532 reviews
15.2 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#29 of 44 in Oxford
221 reviews
5.5 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £62 - £115 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly, HotelsClick, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing