We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good clean hotel.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Fleetwood, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Good clean hotel.”
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Nice, clean room and really enjoyed the breakfast of sausage, scrambled eggs and beans, cereals and fruit. Drinks were expensive. Hotel offers a £10 taxi into Oxford which takes about 10 mins but there is also a bus you can take from the adjacent estate. Next to the stadium is a cinema, bowling, Frankie & Bennys, an indian and a chinese buffet, which was very good but no other pub. We found Oxford to be expensive coming from up north (£6.60 for a pint & a half in one pub) but Wetherspoons prices were OK. Lovely college buildings but most charge to look around and, again, some quite expensive, as was the punting at £25 for 30 minutes so needless to say didn't see anyone doing that whilst we were there. Nice hotel and great location if you are an away fan for Oxford Kassam stadium because its right next door.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 857louise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your comments. I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay. I would also like to mention that there is a nice pub on the river Thames, about a mile from the hotel. The pub is the Kings Arms at Sandford Lock, there are also other pubs 2-3 miles from the hotel.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

754 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    302
    253
    62
    40
See reviews for
156
232
34
204
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Large and impersonal. No frills .Quick checkin and out .Simple cooked breakfast included in reasonable room rent. On business park a little way from Exeter centre but hotel is right by park and ride facility and other bus stops . Only complaint is that bed covering itoo light and air conditioning took a long time to warm up room. No provision for meals other than breakfast

Room Tip: No choice!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johnsden2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for posting your comments. I am pleased that you the hotel was satisfactory for an overnight stay. I hope this review is for our hotel. I would just like to mention that the hotel is next to the Science park and there is a park & ride nearby, but the hotel is in Oxford not Exeter.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2014

Good checkin, clean, very nice room free wifi Serge behind counter excellent chap made the stay most welcoming next door to Oxford Utd ground so plenty of fans around on this particular day but very nice time had

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 764steves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sending in your comments. I am very pleased that you enjoyed your stay and particularly your comments about Serge. He's very pleased to read such nice review
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 April 2014 via mobile

It was an ok hotel, facilities were what you would expect in a holiday in, although not what I expected for 60 pounds per night. We arrived half an hour before check-in and we're not allowed to check-in, even though we had phoned a few days previously to make sure we would be able to and the man on the other end of the phone assured us it would be fine. We ended up having to leave our bags in a room crammed with boxes stacked nearly to the ceiling as we were going to a concert and needed to get there as soon as possible. The other disappointment in my experience was the charge of 30 pounds for security, which I was told would be refunded the next day when we checked out. Even though I was refunded, I would have preferred pre-warning prior to my arrival so it was not a surprise when arriving. The staff were quite welcoming and the best part of the experience was definitely the breakfast. Another point was the taxi service the hotel called for us, they were an excellent, polite firm although expensive, but were prompt in picking us up.

Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank misslizzy95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear misslizzy95,

Thank you for your feedback. We take our guest comments very seriously and always strive to provide comfortable and friendly accommodations. We appreciate your nice comment regarding our staff.

However, we’re sorry we fell below your expectation regarding the check in experience and the deposit policy. We will look into this concern. I assure you the feedback of our hotel will be reviewed and most certainly forwarded to the appropriate departments. We take the confidence our guests place in us very seriously and work diligently to rectify any unsatisfactory experiences. We hope you give us a chance in the future to show you how great our hotel is.

Sincerely,

Orlando A.
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peterborough
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

we have used this hotel several times now and it always comes up to scratch. Rooms are clean and presentable. Free breakfast is fine apart from the cooked which could be improved. Staff efficient and in quiet area (as mentioned provided no football at the stadium). There are some eating places just down road at the Leisure park. We have used it for an overnight and got it at a good price (usually around £60) so good value in our book. As others have mentioned not handy if no car.

Room Tip: no preference
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrandMrsSJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
198 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

As a previous reviewer has said you will need your own transport if staying here.
Good accommodation in a very quiet area by the Kassan Stadium at a reasonable price. The breakfast is included and offers a reasonable choice. Free WiFi throughout

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mps1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Even for Oxford, this hotel is too basic for the prices asked. Better give a bit more and have a higher ranking, more central hotel.
Only 10 mins drive out of the city but no convenient public transport in the area so do not even try if you don't have a car. Nearest bus stop is a 10 min walk but area not great and quit deserted at night.
Beds and matrasses are horrible! Very tin and full of springs. Walls are paper thin getting in all noises from rooms around (and above) as well as hallways.
Room amenities are basic and could do with some modernising.

Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank naja58000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 14 April 2014
Dear naja58000,

Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your stay. It is unfortunate the accommodations you received prevented you from fully enjoying your time at the hotel. We take all of the reviews we receive very seriously as they allow us to identify areas that may benefit from additional attention. We have shared your comments with the staff and we’re confident the necessary adjustments will be made, in order to achieve complete guest satisfaction.

Thank you again for your comments, we hope to have the pleasure of serving you again soon.

Sincerely,

Adrian D
Case Manager
IHGCare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
611 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#13 of 44 in Oxford
1,072 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing