We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value for money, good service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Hull
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good value for money, good service”
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile


Stayed here last week and this week and would definitely stay again. Rooms are kept to a good standard, staff are friendly and happy to help. Free breakfast and Wifi only add to what's a decent hotel for the value. Unlike previous reviews I've had no issues with noise from other guests, hotel is a short distance from oxford and has a cinema and food outlets within a 5 minute walk.



Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Mcdoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 23 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your feedback. I am very pleased to read that the service was good. I would just like to add that occasionally we have a small minority of guests who want to be noisy. We try and control this by credit card swiping at the front desk and also corridor checks during the night.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

749 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    97
    299
    251
    62
    40
See reviews for
155
231
34
203
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Walsall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

It's easy to forget what great service is when we could so easily look at a multi chain of hotels and expect it all the time, every time. With just an overnight stay to go on, I was pleasantly surprised at how professional the admin/booking in staff were. Within 5 minutes we were in the room settling in having used the sometimes dreaded keycard (no return visits to reception to gain room entry in this hotel). Modern décor, comfortable bed and all the usual facilities.
The hotel was clean throughout and enquiries to staff were dealt with effortlessly.
Location of this hotel has been thought out as it would look out of place in the middle of Oxford and probably cost a whole lot more for a nights stay. Buses and taxi's are plentiful to the city for shopping or sightseeing. Sunday mornings are great for a wander round the large market/boot sale 200 yards from the hotel, near Oxford City Football Club.
Breakfast is a variety of cereals, croissants, yoghurts, toast, beans, scrambled egg, sausages and hot/cold drinks. No full English brekkie, then again Holiday Inn don't claim they do it....
On the whole I was really pleased with the experience and would return.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for sending in your feedback. I am very pleased to read that the service was great.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 2 nights... I left a large glass swarovski ring on the shelf under the clothing rail and on second day cleaner had moved it further in the corner. When I left I forgot to pick my ring up. I now know why...the cleaner had pushed it in the corner of the shelf so I would forget! I telephoned hotel a few hours after leaving when I realized i forgot it. Receptionist told me nothing had been found by the cleaners. Absolute disgrace!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amanda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 20 June 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for sending in your comments.
I am very sorry that you have lost your ring. Your husband phoned the hotel after you had departed to ask if we had found the ring or if it was in lost property. We looked for the ring but unfortunately we have not found it. I understand that you phoned to say that the ring had been stolen. I would ask that you contact the police about this, because theft from a room would be a very serious incident. I am very surprised about this very unusual allegation which naturally we take very seriously.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Beans scrambled eggs and processed sausages if u want a decent breakfast stay at premier in. Would never stay here again on breakfast alone. Few people complaining. This hotel is nice hotel clean but get with times u expect a good breakfast.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank nik s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear guest

Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that you were disappointed about the breakfast choice. We currently offer a complimentary breakfast for all our guests. The breakfast choice is continental plus three hot items. Many other hotels charge between £8-12 per person for breakfast.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014

The staff were very helpful and let us check in 3 hours early, I had read the reviews before we booked and I knew the hotel was not in the city centre, but had not realised just how far it was and there is no getting away from the fact that it is not easy to get in and out of Oxford (we were there in school holiday week so this may have added to the problem?), the hotel room was good, the other guests were a bit of a problem as some seemed to turn up drunk at 2am with no regard to other hotel users! Overall the hotel is fine but if I returned to Oxford I would look to stay closer to centre so that it would be easier to pop in and out of town. The taxi service is good but means £20 per return trip to centre which soon adds up....

Room Tip: We had a room facing the car park and it was a bit noisy as groups of travellers were arriving
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gnsdq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for sending in your comments. I am very pleased to read your comments about the good service. It is very disappointing that a small minority of guests return from town very much the worse for wear and can be very selfish in their behaviour. We take credit card swipes for all the guests to discourage noisy badly behaved people for staying here. Our night staff also regularly check the bedroom floors through out the night
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oldbury
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 May 2014

This is the 3rd time that we have stayed at this holiday inn, and never been disappointed, we stayed one night this trip as we needed to be at a family party for 1230, check in was not until 3pm but the staff allowed us to check in early, so we could get to our party on time, the staff could not be more helpful. And as usual the hotel was spotlessly clean throughout. We will be staying there when we come back to oxford

Room Tip: Ask for a high room, it wil be quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GaryOldbury
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. It is very pleasing to read such positive comments and even more so as you have stayed here several times.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sutton Coldfield
Level Contributor
79 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 May 2014 via mobile

I gave 4* not for the great amenities as it is a budget hotel but it does exactly what it says on the tin!!..clean large room..more than adequate breakfast..pleasant helpful staff..cinema bowling & some restaurants 5 mins walk away. request a quiet room. Its located right next to the football stadium so 20 mins away from the centre of oxford..not great for a night out in oxford but good if you want to explore oxforfordshire are in the area for business or going to football!! used it as an overnight stop enroute to avoid the m25 on a bank holiday friday!!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Littlehall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 28 May 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your comments. I am pleased that the hotel suited your needs. I would just like to mention that access into Oxford for a night out is very easy. We have £10 fixed price taxi arrangement, there are also a local buses 1 and 5, and also there is Park & Ride nearby.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
609 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
280 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,055 reviews
4.4 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
6.4 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo, Lastminute, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing