We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Only if you're desperate”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Only if you're desperate”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 August 2014

The hotel is quite new, clean and the shower pressure was good. Other than that I cannot recommend it. We used it as a place to stay before heading to Heathrow. No AC, worst mattresses ever (think sofa-bed circa 1975), curt service, awful breakfast, ridiculously rough towels, awful pillows...plus hard to find in the dark (head for the stadium if you dare). Could only recommend if you're desperate.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed about your stay. I have passed your comments about the air conditioning to our owners
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    95
    294
    250
    61
    38
See reviews for
153
229
34
197
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
66 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

After a horrendous night in a room above the main entrance we asked to be moved. The staff were very helpful and soon had us in a room facing the stadium.This room was quiet but still unbearably hot. No a/c in either room made it a tiring experience.Hotel is clean, modern, friendly staff, nice breakfast and free wifi. Would have rated it 5 but for the heat

Helpful?
1 Thank dave1050_1
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am sorry that your room was so hot during the recent hot spell. I have passed your comments on to our owners.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
153 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014

I love this hotel chain. The room was spacious, well equipped, clean and comfortable. The bed was a little small but otherwise I was very pleased with the room. The complimentary breakfast was hot, plentiful and a good start to the day but the location was too far from the centre of Oxford and the only nearby restaurants a disaster. It felt quite isolated but I think my lack of knowledge of the area contributed to this feeling. If you are just passing through this hotel is great value or if you are a football fan the stadium is next door but if you are planning on looking at the many sights of Oxford then this is a bit remote.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Spiritus26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased to read the "lovely hotel" title and that you liked the breakfast. I am sorry that the location was disappointing. taxis are available at reception for a £10 fixed charge to the City Centre and there are also local buses. There are other hotels which are closer to the City Centre but they tend to be a lot more expensive and also charge for parking.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel is in the middle of nowhere but staff are very helpful and happy to book taxis into Oxford. Standard £10 rate, good deal if in a group. Breakfast was basic and beds small (though comfortable). Good value for money.

Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Rrachel G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. It is very uplifting to read such a positive title: "Great service" it is what we are striving for. Thank you.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
162 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2014

No a/c in the bedrooms - too hot and very uncomfortable. Location was fine with a car. Plenty of choice of restaurants on the stadium complex. The hotel bar was rationing ice cubes but staff were generally quite pleasant. Breakfast was ok and was included in the price. Would go back if we needed to be in that area again. Worth the money.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicholap19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am very pleased to read that despite the heat that you would stay here again
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

Stayed here at the end of July 2014 for a Oxford based stag weekend. As many others have stated, it is a bit out of the way, and currently roadworks on the main ring road to the south of the city so a good idea is to check traffic with the free wifi before setting into Oxford. As a Reading FC fan, my view from the room was an acquired taste! Sometimes you can hear guests having conversations as they walk by the room, but that's generally the norm in hotels like this. The area for serving breakfast could do with a layout change as its quite cramped with lots of people trying to find what they want.. And where did the bacon go? I've not frequented a HIE for a few years but i'm sure there was bacon as well as the sausages, scrambled egg and beans. Nearby is a DW gym, F&B and bowling alley.

Room Tip: rooms facing the Oxford United stadium seemed to be the quieter ones
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bb0118
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. It is pleasing for us to read the title "Good Hotel". Thank you. I would just like to mention that the breakfast in a Holiday Inn Express which is included in the rate offers a choice of three hot items: scrambled egg, sausage and beans. In surveys where our guests have been asked would you like more choice and pay extra or keep the selection as is?; it seems that the majority opt for the current choice.
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2014

The room was cramped, we arrived in hot weather and no air conditioning, we asked for a fan, they said they would check if any were left over, luckily there was one. They had provided a thin summer duvet on the double bed but on the sofa bed it was a sheet and a very scratchy blanket, we asked for another summer duvet and were told they could only provide a duvet cover for the blanket even after I explained my daughter would come out in a rash from the blanket fibres!! Glad we didn't have to do a anything other than sleep there, but the mattress was hard and lumpy and in need of a change. The following morning even though at weekend breakfast was only served until 9:30am. The hot breakfast was sausage, scrambled egg and beans, no bacon etc and none of it very nice. The cold selection of cornflakes etc had definitely come from the super super saver range and was not good. The toaster only toasted one side of the bread! I didn't want to complain but wanted to see if I was asked how the stay had been but no, when I said check out for room xxx, the member of staff repeated the room number then carried on with what she was doing. The previous evening we had ordered a taxi, told 10 minute wait and it was actually 20 minutes. Overall not a good experience in future I will avoid this hotel and indeed this chain. In the room there was a thick layer of dust on the surfaces.

Room Tip: quite frankly wouldn't bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cmason, General Manager at Holiday Inn Express Oxford, responded to this review, 11 August 2014
Dear Guest
Thank you for posting your review. I am very sorry that you were disappointed with your stay. There is no extra charge for breakfast, it is included in the room rate. The hot items consist of scrambled eggs, sausage and beans. I would just like to reassure you about the cereals: the Conflakes, Rice Crispies and the Frosties are all Kellogs products, in addition we have Weetabix branflakes plus Muesli. I have noted the comments about the bed and the taxis
Kind regards
Chris Mason
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.0 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#27 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 597 reviews
6.0 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#8 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#11 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,030 reviews
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
4.4 mi away
Best Western Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Oxford

Property: Holiday Inn Express Oxford
Address: Grenoble Road, Oxford OX4 4XP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Express by Holiday Inn Hotel, Kassam Stadium-Oxford is ideally situated for business or pleasure. By car only 14 minutes from Oxford city centre, one hour from Heathrow Airport and an ideal base for exploring the Cotswolds or visiting one of the Oxford theatres, BMW Mini or the John Radcliffe Hospital . Popular local attractions include: Ashmolean Museum, Botanic Gardens, Pitt Rivers Museum, Blenheim Palace, Bicester Village, Oxford University, walking tours, punting on the river and many more.The Express is next door to the Quadrangle Conference Centre & Kassam Stadium and a few minutes walk from Oxford Science Park. There are plenty of entertainment facilities within 5 minutes walk of the hotel: including two restaurants, 11 screen cinema, 10 pin bowling, Gala bingo, children's activity centre and leisure club. The Leisure Club has a 20m Swimming Pool, with a large gym with steam room, sauna spa pool and various aerobics classes (must book). Guests staying at the hotel can buy a pass for the leisure club for only 5. The Express by Holiday Inn has a Meet Smart conference room, ideal for meetings for up to 30. High speed wireless Internet is available throughout the hotel.Maximum 3 adults per room, supplement for third adult. All rooms are non-smoking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, IHG, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Oxford Hotel Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing