We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Truly awful - choose the car!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Oxford

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Ramada Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Truly awful - choose the car!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2011

Best bit was the lovely receptionist! Having dropped our daughter in Bath we set off through the Cotswolds not realising you need to book in advance at weekends. No accommodation available and recommended Oxford. No room at any inns as Graduation weekend - then we happened upon the Days Inn. Desperate for food and sleep we took the last room. The receptionist recommended next door for eating so off we went. Truly awful - back to hotel which absolutely stunk of what we think was cleaning fluids. O.K. it was c£70 room only so you don't expect a huge amount but it was awful - uncomfortable beds, poor quality towels, lovely light stream through the curtains and freezing cold. We have often stayed at Days in the States and these are o.k. - can only assume the the UK version are run as a franchise. Recommendation: run for the hills!

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bouncydog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    197
    151
    59
    60
See reviews for
141
192
51
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Sussex UK
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2011

Ok its not the ritz but I was pleasantly surprised by the Days Inn. I have now stayed there 4 times over the last 3 weeks
The rooms are a little tired but spotlessly clean and as its on a road off the motorway and not right on the motorway itself its fairly quiet ( ok a little noise from the car park but that usually dies right down during the night)
Its right next to a nice service area with Waitrose , WHSmith , Starbucks , KFC and Burger King - as well as a few other stores.
The free WIFI included is very fast and reliable and can be used both in the restaurants and the hotel room
Beds are comfortable and there is plenty of room. I never thought I would want to stay regularly at a 'motorway inn' but there is everything I need here and as a female lone traveller I feel very safe here.
Staff in my experience have been friendly and efficient and I have had no problems.
Basically - good cheap no frills accommodation and very quiet considering its location

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RozzieUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

It is in excelent location as it is in service stop next to M40. All amenities eg resturents, wh smith news agent, wetrose outlets, kfc, burguer king, costo coffe, etc, within same campase. Parking facililities are good. We had to attend a professional conference nearby a mile away. So we choosed this location and visited oxford city next day. Amenities from hotel are reasonable for executive room, not excelent.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank lastdewdrop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stockport
Level Contributor
97 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2011

Stayed for one night whilst visiteing Oxford. Booked it on their tenth anniversary promotion for £10 which represented very good value but would not be if paying full price. It is in a very convenient location being just off the M40 motorway (located within tha service area) and only five minutes from the Oxford park and ride. You do get free parking in the car park.
The room was a good size with everything you need for an overnight stay. The bathroom was spacious and clean.
Breakfast could be purchased at the hotel but we found a beefeater restaurant a couple of minutes away where we ate dinner and breakfast at a reasonable cost.
Overall I would recommend this hotel for an overnight stay but no longer.

Room Tip: There is no lift in the hotel and no porter so if you have walking difficulties as for a ground floo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank trelynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2011

The room itself was ok and fitted my purpose which was a place to lay my head after a work's function - that's the good part.
The bad part was that unfortunately I left a couple of things behind when I checked out including an expensive electri toothbrush costing over £100. The problem is despite the fact that I called immediately I got home and before another guest had occupied the room I was told nothing was found. I knew exactly where I had left it in the room so this could not be possible. I was also treated with some disdain by the hotel manager who I was promised would look into a complaint promptly if I e-mailed him - he ignored me for over 2 weeks and only eventually replied after I reported the incident to the police.
The problem is the lack of responsibility, hiding behind procedures and a lack of courtesy and respect for the customer. The fact that these hotels are independent business also meant that Days Inn corporate were simply not interested in helping me.
Sadly I am resorting to writing this review to share my experience to warn others of the dangers here when dealt with in a different manner could have resulted in a more positive experience despite the problems.
I would not recommend this hotel purely as they cannot safegaurd your belongings and then don't accept responsibility and treat customers poorly in the process.
I would run for the hills if I were you...

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Garforth3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Guilsfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2011

I sometimes wonder what people expect from budget hotels. We stayed two nights at the beginning of June on the way to Sussex and back from Mid Wales. We paid £85 for a double room which would have slept three comfortably and found the room to be clean, comfy with everything we needed. No problems with tv, mobile phone signal and there was free Internet access for my lap top. Staff were helpful and friendly. Great for access to Oxford as park and ride down the road, easy access to London on the Oxford tube and motorway access good. Would definitely stay again. janey42

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janey42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jacksonville, Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2011

We were looking for a cheap place to stay in the heart of Oxford. The booking website we used said this hotel was 6 miles outside of the city, which didn't seem too bad. When we finally arrived, we realized how small Oxford is and how far away the hotel actually was (it was in Wheatley despite the Days Inn Oxford name). It ended up working out, and we could take a 30-minute bus into Oxford. We booked a room for 4, and had a double-size bed with a couch, so it was a little crammed. You can't beat the price though if you're willing to be far from the city center. The rooms themselves were decent, and there was a big Welcome Center right next door with some quick places to eat.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank acrossthepondtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
8.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
16.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#10 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oxford

Property: Ramada Oxford
Address: Welcome Break Service Area, Oxford OX33 1LJ, England (Formerly Days Inn Oxford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Ramada Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Days Inn Waterstock
Waterstock Days Inn
Oxford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing