We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not bad for the price...”
Review of Ramada Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ramada Oxford
Ranked #25 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
UK
Level 6 Contributor
83 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Not bad for the price...”
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Come on..its not like your going to take your other half here for a romantic weekend is it! It's at the motorway service station! Clean practical room that fit for purpose for a stop over on the side of the motorway. Got here late and left early. Doesn't everyone? Cheap for Oxford; expensive compared to mainland Europe equivalent but welcome to rip-off Britain. As with most similar hotels I stay in I really cannot understand why it is that they can never see fit to reinvest just a few of their rack rates back into things like redecoration or new chairs. A shame really 'cos with regular ongoing refurb it could be really quite nice. No real compaints though.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Simon P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    126
    210
    158
    62
    62
See reviews for
148
199
52
147
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (79)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Guernsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

I have never written a poor review yet so am disappointed to feel it necessary to write one now but sadly The Days Inn has definitely, one hopes, seen better days! Admittedly we were looking for a budget hotel and were not expecting luxury accommodation from a motorway motel but we did hope that Days Inn would at least provide a comfortable bed in a clean, if basic room. First impressions were pretty good, a pleasant and efficient receptionist, great parking facilities and impressive facilities at the service station next door. Unfortunately this was shattered as soon as we rounded the corridor to our ground floor (non-smoking) room. The smell in the corridor was of an extremely powerful air-freshener (possibly, having read the reviews below, in order to combat the smoke from the floor above?) however on opening our door, the odour changed to a fairly pungent essence of sewer! This was not aided by the state of the carpet and upholstery in the room ... Various unpleasant stains on the chair (I placed a towel on it before sitting down), a large patch of what looked suspiciously like blood on the very tired looking sofa and I dare not think what had made the stains on the carpet. At least the sheets on the bed appeared to be clean and fresh but I wore socks until actually getting into it to save putting my bare feet on the carpet! The bed itself was extremely firm ... rather like sleeping on a rock, which given the state of the rest of the room seemed rather appropriate since zig-zagging around the carpet stains to get to it had been rather like finding a causeway to get to an island!

The bathroom, though a bit tired was perfectly fine, the towels were clean and fluffy and the water hot (although the bath did take a very long time to run).

The inclusive continental breakfast was delivered to our room exactly on time and comprised cereal, apples, yoghurt, croissant & jam and orange juice - all perfectly acceptable. There were tea and coffee making facilities in the room also as well as a hair drier and TV. Free Wi-Fi was available (though very slow and required you to keep putting in your password every time you wanted to use it).

All in all the location was good, the staff were good, the facilities were fine it is just a great shame that the room was so shabby and felt dirty even though it was probably thoroughly cleaned every day. What a difference it would make to clean or replace the carpets and upholstery and maybe get a plumber in to investigate the smell. The next night we stayed at a Premier Inn In Poole ... Lovely room, comfy bed, odour-free, not a stain in sight and a cheaper price too. Lessons to be learned I think.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wizzie-Lizzie-GBG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 September 2013

Stayed here to attend a family wedding in Oxford. Very convenient with a bus stop close by and a good service into Oxford.
Would have been a good place to stay if they didn't allow smoking in the rooms. I thought smoking was banned in England. The corridor outside our room reeked of tobacco and the room was just as bad.
Facilities in rooms were good but couldn't sleep as it was too hot and smell of tobacco made me feel ill. Too noisy if we opened window.
Very quiet in night no sound from other guests. Were there any?
Would not come back unless they change it to non smoking.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mollydancer407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Caerphilly, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 September 2013

Stayed here for one night for work to say . This hotel is within the Welcome Break services on the M40 so plenty of parking available. The services were actually pretty smart by the standards of such things. I'm rarely seriously critical on my reviews, but here goes.

The hotel itself is a typically styled budget roadside premises. There was one member of staff available for check-in so there was a reasonable wait to check in. The decor throughout is now somewhat tired, although fairly clean. The main issue I had was the hotel's insisting that I had booked a smoking room. Having never smoked a cigarette in my life and now living in a country where smoking is illegal in almost every hotel and public place I've visited, I was amazed that you could still get smoking rooms. The receptionist told me that they pay a licence fee to allow this. I'd rather they saved their cash and had a room that didn't smell terrible. Unfortunately the hotel was "full" so I couldn't move.

Of course, it's absolutely fair to say that some people love the freedom of smoking in a hotel room. If so, this hotel is for you. For me, it was a thoroughly unpleasant night despite open windows and liberal amounts of whatever spray I could find in my overnight bag.

The room itself is ok, and the bed reasonable. The bathroom is clearly ageing and the shower in the morning was a genuine experience - I've never known water come out in lumps before. To be fair, it was more like spurts I guess, but it felt like lumps.

Overall, if you make sure you book a non-smoking room this is a potential location for an overnight stay outside Oxford. However, the poor chappy from BMW who was negotiating 40 nights ahead of me has my sympathies. Personally, I'd buy a camper van.

Room Tip: Make sure you avoid a smoking room if you don't smoke.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lambsie_the_Wanderer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 September 2013

Booked online choosing a more expensive room option of double plus double sofabed for our toddler. Got given a double with single bed, which was way to high and narrow for a safe toddler bed (and about £10 cheaper than what we had booked). Reception claimed they had no record of what we had booked, so with a tired toddler in tow we had to get out the laptop and show them our full booking before they would change us. Ended up with a pull out bed for the toddler as it was all that was left, but at least it gave him a safe place to sleep. Tired and needs refurbishment. Sofa was torn and the thermostatic control in the shower didn't work.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beckie F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2013

This is what it says on the tin. Its a motorway services hotel and we used it after driving from France.

The decor is dated and bathroom needing a refit. Bed was a bit soft and bouncy castle like.

However it was clean, provided what we needed. We were put in room next to back entrance and got a bit noisy early on with staff coming and going but we were up anyway.

If this hotel was anywhere else it wouldnt be worth the money but as it was a service hotel the price £60 was expected.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stephanie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013 via mobile

Recently stayed here for two nights. The room was clean and basic and the decor a bit dated but it was fine. Bed was very comfortable and extra pillows are available, Bathroom spotless however the shower was not very powerful. Our room rate included a continental breakfast and this was delivered to the room in the morning. The location is handy just off the m40 and close to oxford city centre. We caught the bus in to the city and it runs every 20 minutes. First time staying at a days inn and I would stay here again

Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank jimbob077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
8.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
392 reviews
8.9 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
16.1 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#33 of 44 in Oxford
193 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,084 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oxford

Property: Ramada Oxford
Address: Welcome Break Service Area, Oxford OX33 1LJ, England (Formerly Days Inn Oxford)
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Ramada Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Days Inn Waterstock
Waterstock Days Inn
Oxford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing