We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice to be greater by happy friendly staff, with a smooth...” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ramada Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ramada Oxford
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
...
1 review
“Nice to be greater by happy friendly staff, with a smooth...”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 July 2014

Nice to be greater by happy friendly staff, with a smooth check in, only one blot as far as we were concerned... Being given a smoking room (not requested) with an overwhelming smell of smoke that was difficult to cope with as non smokers!
I would not stay again for this reason.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Ch L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    123
    197
    151
    59
    60
See reviews for
141
192
51
138
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (76)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

I had a day free and thankfully the Oxford Days Inn had room. I always find that there is a warm welcome and all my needs are met. Nothing is too much trouble and the room was clean and even though it was a smoking room, the room smelt fresh. Thank you everyone!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank .T S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014 via mobile

6 of us stayed in 3 rooms for 1 night. On booking was told only smoking rooms were left and as none of us are smokers we found the smell vile. The windows hardly open which means the smoke obviously has nowhere to escape. Walls are stained and there are burns on the carpet. It was a warm day so the rooms were hot and sticky with no air con and a barely openable window. A very bad nights sleep was had. There wasn't even any cold water in the taps to splash ourselves with which was odd. I honestly don't know why £90 is the price for such a smelly, unventilated room. £50 would be more reasonable. What I would say though is that it seemed to me to be well soundproofed. It was also very clean (apart from the smoking burns and nicotine stains) and the towels were very big. Receptionist was also very helpful. The location to quite a good service station is also a plus.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Dunfermline
Level Contributor
66 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 July 2014

We were at longleat with the grandkids and their parents - we decided to recover and had a 3 night visit to Oxford. Since the hotels in Oxford were pretty expensive we located the Days Inn at the Welcome Break Service station on the M40 and decided since the park and ride was only 4 miles along the A40 it would be an economic solution.

As it turned out it was a great solution - you get the 280 Alesbury to Oxford bus adjacent to the service area, every 20 mins and runs until 2330. It cost £4 each for a day ticket and is about 30 mins journey through Wheatley and Heddington. We used the bus every day so we did not have to drive and I could have a few beers in Oxford's great pubs (these are many and varid and serve good food)..

The hotel was as you would expect - clean and satisfactory with very helpful staff. I would certainly consider a Days inn again on this showing. We had their continental breakfast on 2 days at a cost of £10 a day for two which was sufficient. If you want a cooked breakfast there is the service station which is very modern - I personally would wait until i was in Oxford. The covered market on the main high street right next to the 280 bus stop offers very cheap good food.

Oxford was no disappointment and is stunning - just like on Morse or Lewis. We had a great time - took the hop on hop off bus - although realistically Oxford is compact and can be done on foot and had a nice boat ride down the Thames.

There are loads of good pubs and eateries so you can go expensive or cheap. We visited some of the university colleges which was an eye opener and Oxford castle is great.

To me Oxford university is steeped in privilege - although they try to hide it. I think most working class students would be told this is not for you - since I suspect you need a bit of money. This is just an observation and may be untrue - but get past this and the University colleges are stunning in architecture and layout. What further surprised me is the ratio of students to staff at less than 2 to 1 and this reflects Oxford unique study methods. You could probably run a few more universities of the budget for Oxford.

Back to the place - it is well worth the visit and if you want to save money - do what we did - stay on an accessible route. One alternative we noticed was a Travel Lodge in Wheatley just round the corner and on the same bus route.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ascott01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaga, Spain
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 July 2014

Better than average motel style at motorway service area. Excellent in every way. Only complaint no control over heating/ventilation and room was too warm for us. Quiet, clean, very convenient to Oxford.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank N B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 July 2014

The Hotel was clean, comfortable and reasonably priced. The Staff particularly the young lady on reception when we arrived were superb. My wife had to be taken to a local hospital in the morning and she remembered us and made sure we had a ground floor room and in general could not have been more helpful.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Malcolm B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bl1 7dz
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stay at these properties as I drive around the country on business. There is a tv and free Wi-Fi, with plenty of cold drinks available. There is also coffee and tea making facilities in the room.
All great, except for my most recent stay with the family on a trip to Silverstone.
A group of 6 individuals from a wedding party arrived - drunk, and continued to argue, slam doors, jump on the floors etc most of the night. They should have been removed, but with just one girl on reception over night, what could she do alone? Would have had a better night if we had slept in the car.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn

Helpful?
Thank Robert S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
8.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#20 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,419 reviews
5.2 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
16.4 mi away
The Holt Hotel
The Holt Hotel
#34 of 44 in Oxford
3.0 of 5 bubbles 142 reviews
9.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#9 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,014 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ramada Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ramada Oxford

Property: Ramada Oxford
Address: Welcome Break Service Area, Oxford OX33 1LJ, England (Formerly Days Inn Oxford)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Ramada Oxford 3*
Number of rooms: 58
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ramada Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Days Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Days Inn Waterstock
Waterstock Days Inn
Oxford Days Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing