We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Five star AA rating totally misleading” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Bocardo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Bocardo
Ranked #73 of 84 Oxford B&B and Inns
Bali
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Five star AA rating totally misleading”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2013

What a disaster! We booked what looked like, according to their website, an AA Five Star rated hotel in the city centre of Oxford. What we got was a grotty, hot, noisy, unfriendly and over priced box room. It's 4am in the morning, we haven't slept for two days and have £260 for two nights - unacceptable! The first morning we made a complaint to reception and were told that it was the city centre and they were fully booked but would see what they could do to help us after 9am when the manager was available. We were told to turn the heating off in our room in the meantime - the heating wasn't even on. We never heard again from reception or the manager. The Bocardo looks to be a converted digs hall. There is no breakfast option, no bar, no lounge - nothing. Just a stairway, a small reception desk and ten rooms...

There was a delivery van right outside our room window between the hours of midnight and 3am, the drunken louts up and down the street are a nightmare and there is no proper double glazing or sound proofing on the windows...hence the serious lack of sleep.

After very recently returning from a round the world trip and staying in various types of accommodation along the way I would go as far as saying this "luxury guest accommodation" hotel, as it calls itself, is not even close to three star, never mind five...AA rating has clearly dropped its standards considerably.

Sad our weekend in Oxford was ruined by such a place...

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaChampion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anton K, General Manager at The Bocardo, responded to this review, 5 November 2013
Dear "VictoriaChampion",

Thank you for spending your time to give us a straight and detailed feedback.

The satisfaction of our guests has highest priority. We express regret that the you were disturbed by the street noise during your stay. It is the nature of our business to provide a high quality guest accommodation in the city centre, where all the buzz is.
We are always willing to find the perfect room for every single guest. One of our staff members was instructed to offer you a room at the back, however she reported that you have not confirmed this option, while it was available. Our personal recomendation is to always request a quiet room, whenever you book city centre hotels.

We make an effort to offer our guests an excellent service at the The Bocardo. We position ourselves and were rated by AA as a Guest Accommodation type of premises with limited service, therefore the layout of The Bocardo is minimalistic in terms of common areas, which allows us to offer the best price for 5* rooms and concentrate on maintaining the quality.

We truly apologize for your bother.

Thus it’s very pleasing that you remarked noticed the central location of The Bocardo. We are also very happy that you noticed cleanliness of the rooms.

We really hope you will give us a second chance to ensure that you enjoy your stay on your next visit.

Yours sincerely
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    60
    42
    28
    23
See reviews for
37
68
14
31
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 September 2013 via mobile

No cheap accommodation in Oxford but this place is central located and the manager very helpful and makes you feel welcome. Rooms good but a little noisy due to location. Ticked box for a room for a night out in Oxford :-)

Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Toshkins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 September 2013

Very well located, nice, clean and modern. The staff is kind and willing to help at any time. Despite the it is over a busy street, you don't hear any noise. Drawbacks: It doesn't offer breakfast; I couldn't tune all the TV channels, and the fridge made a noise that could be disturbing if you want to keep it on while you're sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ian M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Moscow
Level Contributor
40 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2013

I booked this hotel based on the incorrect info in booking.com - thought it should be 5 star hotel, there is some parking space, and that it would be able to have some rest there.
Nothing of a kind. As the receptionist explained it is not a hotel, but a 5 star guest accommodation. Very confusing.
1. Arrival - there is NO parking at all near the entrance - be careful when you travel by car. and especially with some luggage.
2. To get to the reception you need to ring the bell for the receptionist who was not very happy to accept us after 9 pm. Furthermore, the reception is located on the second floor and the stairs are narrow and steep, we had to leave the luggage in our car and take only toothbrushes and other necessary things for one night here.
3. The room was a shoebox not the 24 sq.m. definitely - the room itself 6-7 sq.m., plus small shower. DO NOT be confused by nice photos taken by wide angle lenses.
4. Noisy AC.
5. Noisy street.
6. Public parking quite far and expensive.
7. The word boutique when describing this hotel can be used only as synonym to small.
8. Too expensive for such deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Igor1964
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Oxford hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
156 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 September 2013

The hotel is within walking distance to the colleges, bus station, train station, and all the shops. The reception staff is very friendly and helpful. Room is relatively small, but clean enough. The bed is comfortable. The AC in our room was a bit old and noisy. It made weird sound if you try to turn the temperature lower. They don't have elevator, only stairs, so it would be a little more work if you carry big cases. Also, we stayed two nights there, but they did not change new towels for us. I did see some towels on the chair in the hall way, not sure if they are meant to be taken as clean ones....

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bobster30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingston-upon-Hull, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 August 2013 via mobile

I've stayed at the Bocardo twice now. It's a nice, modern, clean hotel right in the centre of the city and close to almost everywhere.

I would stay here again. I would recommend that you park your car in one of the park and ride facilities if you just intend to see the city as the hotel has no parking and the public parking is ridiculously expensive and busy. The bus stop to/from the park and ride is actually right on the doorstep of the hotel so it's perfect!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank LFJ2307
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 July 2013

This was second so called boutique hotel we stayed in on this trip to UK...clearly the terminology has lost it's significance. This room was very stuffy, and not really possible to open windows as there are bright street lights and bars with noise right outside. The floor felt strange ( carpeted) and almost not level. The reception was very friendly and stayed up late to accommodate our late check in, no complaints there.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kgiordimai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.3 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#16 of 44 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.0 mi away
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Vanbrugh House Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
4.5 of 5 bubbles 624 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Richmond Hotel
Richmond Hotel
#36 of 44 in Oxford
3.5 of 5 bubbles 93 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Buttery Hotel
The Buttery Hotel
#26 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 352 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tower House
Tower House
#20 of 84 in Oxford
4.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bocardo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bocardo

Property: The Bocardo
Address: 24-26 George Street, Oxford OX1 2AE, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 84 B&Bs / Inns in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Bocardo 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Bocardo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing