We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fabulous find”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“A fabulous find”
Reviewed 4 January 2012

We visited this hotel for twixmas break, made to feel at home straight away, from receptionist to bar staff and waiting staff, nothing was too much trouble for them. Great food, reasonably priced drinks, what more could you ask for. Would recommend it to anybody.

Room Tip: As a dreaded smoker, ask for a lower courtyard room and they open straight out onto the patio, with...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sandy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    285
    156
    57
    34
See reviews for
123
335
44
128
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
York
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

I needed to stay overnight in Oxford for a work meeting, and a colleague recommended the Cotswold Lodge. It was convenient for my meeting the next day, and easy to get to. I walked to the hotel from the rail station (about 20 minutes, your mileage may vary). Check-in was easy and I was given a room on the ground floor.

My room was small, with a queen sized bed, desk, chair, closet, and bathroom. The decor was too "twee" for me (lots of frills and such) but that's my taste; the bed was comfortable, and everything worked. The room, however, was very warm, and this was August. The hotel supplied a fan, which I had to keep going all night - unfortunately the window allowed for no air circulation. In any event, I did get a decent night's sleep.

Breakfast the next morning was very good - freshly prepared and good quality ingredients. The staff in the restaurant were friendly and helpful.

Checkout was as painless as checking in.

Overall, the hotel was absolutely fine -- the decor was just not my taste, and the temperature is difficult to do anything about. I'd certainly consider staying again if my business took me to the university in Oxford.

One final note: the website quoted me different prices than I was offered by telephoning. Do give them a call to see what offers they have available.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pandoras_chocolates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Biggleswade, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Having stayed at this hotel for 2009 christmas and enjoyed a thorouhgly festive break with excellent food and great staff we decided to make a return visit.We arrived on Christmas Eve
to a negative reception and absolutely no atmosphere at all. Christmas day was even worse with no festivity at all.The breakfast was abysmal and lunch defies description but I'll try the turkey had been cooked days before carved and reheated it was bland and tasteless, the christmas pudding was inedible and cold The evening buffet was even worse if you can believe that possible. The heating in the room was uncontrollable and the musty smell in the corridoor was overpowering. It ruined our Christmas. We will definitely not be returning ever

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bernard c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wells, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
86 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2011

The pros:
15 min. amble into centre of Oxford
Good sized free car park
Bus stops outside hotel and frequent buses into city centre
Helpful staff
Very comfortable bed
Atmospheric bar (although overly warm and airless on lst evening)
Dinner of good quality and everything well presented and served

The cons:
Stayed 2 nights and I experienced only lukewarm water from shower all 3 days
V.expensive wifi charge - £7.50 per day
Very poor service 1st day at breakfast, waited 10 mins. plus at table and then had to ask
waitress for coffee etc. and ask how we ordered breakfasts. Only then were we given menu
After ordering we waited nearly 40 mins. for cooked breakfasts to arrive. An apology ("because there was a table of 8 to be served") was forthcoming eventually.
Why doesn’t chef cook all the basic & keep them warm in oven, just cooking eggs etc. at last minute ?


Duvet cover was torn and ragged at opening end.
Rather aggressive waiter at dinner who, after we had been seated, demanded in v.loud voice to know whether we had booked in for dinner (which we had of course)

All in all we had a pleasant stay though, and it was a special offer break which we felt gave good value for money.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Val M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lincolnshire, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

The whole two night stay was wonderful. We had booked an autumn deal which included bed, breakfast and evening meal for just over £45 a night - fantastic deal especially with the free parking. We ate off the festive menu which was very varied and was beautifully served, tasted great as well. As we had to get to the theatre by 7.30pm we were offered an early dinner at 6.00pm, and asked if we would like to have our puddings and coffee when we returned. We were upgraded free of charge to a feature room, so nice we would have liked to have stayed longer. Nothing was too much trouble for any of the staff. There was an oil filled radiator in the wardrobe to top up the heating, it is an old (but beautifully maintained hotel), we put this on and the room was always warm.
We would definately stay again. Walk into town was easy, even after the theatre - just wouldn't fancy it in the rain.

Room Tip: The extra you might pay for a feature room would be worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank llc7peacock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
186 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

Liz and I only stayed here for one night on a long weekend trip to Oxford then London. We booked via Late rooms and only paid £85, which is pretty competitive for a hotel close to the city centre and on a Saturday night.
A week before we due to arrive I received an email from the hotel telling me that there was a Christmas party in the hotel on the night of our stay and that there was likely to be some noise until midnight. Pretty considerate I’d say.
Another notable feature of the hotel is a decent-sized free car park which is significant consideration when choosing a hotel in Oxford, as parking is generally in short supply and not cheap!!
The hotel is situated in nice looking old building just on the Banbury Road, about 10 minutes’ walk from the City Centre. We were greeted by a friendly and helpful receptionist and our room was available although we arrived 30 mins before our allotted arrival time.
Our room as on the first floor and it’s worth noting there is no lift, but we were told this and offered help with our baggage immediately without asking.
The décor in the hotel is pleasant enough and above all I would say it is very clean. The corridors and some fittings in the room showed a few signs of wear and tear but it had the feel of a well cared-for establishment. We didn’t eat there but the menu looked good and there were a couple of interesting veggie options.
Regarding Wifi, it seems there are two options; a low speed connection which is free, and a high speed connection which costs £7.50 per day.
The TV was a decent sized fairly new looking flat screen Toshiba with Freeview, and the TV reception was good.
The bed was firm but comfortable and we both had a good night’s sleep with minimal disturbance from other guests.
We didn’t stay for breakfast as we always feel hotel breakfasts are bit on the expensive side, but opted to use a little café down the road.
One point of note, when we arrived the window was open and we didn’t think to close it before we went out for the evening as often hotel rooms can be a bit too warm and stuffy. When we got back it was a bit nippy and even though I turned the radiator up full it never really got properly hot. Not a problem for me as I don’t like it too hot but Liz found it slightly cool in the morning. Might just be this room, and I didn’t mention it at all as we only stayed one night.
Overall, I’d say this is a nice, reasonably priced hotel, with friendly and professional staff, situated very conveniently for the centre of Oxford and I would certainly stay here again.
I hope you find my review helpful.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lizandtone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 December 2011

I stayed by myself in the hotel for one night for an interview in Oxford. Parking was fine. The reception staff were ok but didn't seem to really understand me because they were foreign so felt quite hostile and unsociable. I felt like a nuisance when I needed to ask about something. The room seemed to be really nice but was a bit rough around the edges. It was very cold and even with the radiator turned right up it barely felt remotely warm. The bathroom was even colder with no working radiator and much to my surprise..there was urine and toilet paper in the toilet which was unflushed by whoever graced it before my arrival!

I booked in for dinner at 6.30 and when I arrived at the restaurant there was no body there to great me! It took 15 minutes until a waiter came in late and served me..again I felt in the way. I was only given water with no offer of another drink like wine etc..maybe because of the foreign nature again.

At breakfast I had the buffet which was average, I ordered a cooked breakfast also which never came so I left as I had to go to my interview

All in all not a great place. Seems nice on the outside but needs a better manager!!

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oxfordlodger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
700 reviews
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
723 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,786 reviews
1.0 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Property: Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing