We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"GREAT LOCATION WITH FREE PARKING"”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #10 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 30 July 2014

This is a very pleasant hotel close to the City Centre and University with free parking for guests which is very good for anyone visiting Oxford. The staff are very friendly and helpful, rooms modern and clean and well equipped. Many nice pubs and restaurants are a short walk away. On the downside the service in the bar was pitifully slow. This is a great base in Oxford especially if you are coming by car. It also a good deal cheaper that the main City Centre Hotels. Would I stay again? Absolutely.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (797)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

448 - 454 of 797 reviews

Reviewed 30 July 2014

I stayed here after a recommendation from a colleague. The hotel is a nice, old hotel in a nice area, 5-10 minutes walk to the center of Oxford.

The rooms are fine, and the bed was very good (that's what brings the rating above average).

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Freiro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 July 2014

This hotel is ideally situated, within walking distance of Oxford centre and very near some excellent restaurants in the Jericho area. The hotel is clean , comfortable and charming, if a little dated.The breakfast was very disappointing. There was a good choice of continental breakfast items but the cooked breakfast was very ordinary for the price we paid. What made this hotel stand out was the exceptionally friendly and helpful two gentlemen on reception, They are a great asset to this hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Patricia16031959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2014

Stayed here one night with a friend as I was taking my child to Oxford for a summer program. It is a charming hotel and the staff were very kind. It was a nice 15-20 min walk to Oxford. The room was nice. We had the breakfast in the morning and the croissants and coffee were very good! Good value and nice peaceful location.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank mkini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2014

This hotel is a little dated. Would be nice if they provided bathroom minis to make it easier for guests. Also a smile would go a long way!!! One positive the water pressure in the shower was very good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank notahappybunny1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2014

Friendly staff, clean bedrooms and pleasant looking bar. Also a convenient location and plenty of good car parking. However there is no lift and some of the internal parts look a bit like student accommodation. Our bedroom was fine but the bathroom was very small and needed an overhaul. Poor shower. The breakfast was expensive and not very good. Comfortable bed. The problem was we paid £150 for B&B and last week I stayed in the Waldorf Hotel in London for the same price. It is extraordinarily expensive for what it is. In truth it is probably a three star hotel...and a good one if it were £100 per night not £150. With breakfast it cost £170...next time we'll stay in the Randolf for the extra £100!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

By far the worst stay I've experienced. The bed worn and sagged in the middle, walls very thin, a horrible breakfast buffet (cheap juices, stale fruit salad, half-hearted pastry selection) - a proper breakfast will cost you extra - i.e. more than the 90 Pounds you pay for single occupancy of a double room. Without the location, this hotel would go bankrupt.

As an alternative, try the Galaxie hotel further down the road. It is less convenient, but quieter, more comfortable and with a proper breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank restk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#4 of 44 in Oxford
737 reviews
1.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,851 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
1.8 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £98 - £231 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing