We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice hotel, Service was a little slow”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Cotswold Lodge Hotel
Ranked #9 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 15 August 2009

Stayed here with work in July. was impressed overall with the hotel. Felt quite grand given its 3 star ratin. The restrant was excellent, if not a little on the small side for the main!
Bar was small and no staff serving on a number of occasions but not too long before someone came out and saw to us.
Overall good value for money - considering it was Oxford!

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AdamDroitwich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

727 - 733 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 17 July 2009

I recently stayed at the Cotswold Lodge and was disappointed. The hotel overall is looking a little shabby. My room was poor, a very old mattress on the bed, plumbing in the bathroom secured with sticky tape, and generally a worn feel. I think the owners stopped spending money on maintaining the hotel some time ago. It may have once deserved its four stars - but no longer does. I have stayed in cleaner, brighter, fresher Travel Lodges.

One receptionist was friendly and polite. The other two I encountered did not even make an effort to be pleasant or even to smile.

The location is beautiful and very convenient for the city centre, without city centre noise or bustle.

Cotswold Lodge is simply not worth the money. I was relieved to leave.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SomersetJane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2009

I liked staying in this hotel, it is not far from city centre and has a very cosy touch to it. I loved also the cream tea with scones!

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hola_miola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2009

My husband and I stayed for 2 nights recently. We decided to splurge as it was the end of a long trip we had been on and wanted this to be special. We picked this hotel as it was close to oxford but with parking which is what we needed. I booked the deluxe room superior. The staff were polite on arrival (not overly though) however the room was amazing. The deluxe room was huge and beautifully set out. We were delighted.
It was worth the extra money. Breakfast was included and was lovely both hot and continental. Oxford is walking distance about 10-15 minutes to the village centre.
We loved our stay the lady who checked us out was lovely much nicer than a couple of others we had encountered. However nothing would spoil this beautiful room and food, and we thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ROAMING9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2009

We stayed here last night for 1 night - the offer we got was £99 for Dinner, Bed and Breakfast. I booked over the phone and found the receptionist to be most helpful. The hotel, with her directions, was very easy to find and a 10 min walk from the centre of Oxford. My husband commented that it is not often you find a hotel which says it is a 10 min walk from town, and actually is!

Good points - Friendly, attentive staff. Beautiful lounge where it is possible to have afternoon tea (it also has a good selection of magazines and newspapers). Excellent location and good little shops and restaurants nearby (especially Gee's restaurant). Free car parking.

Poor points - Lighting could be much improved in lounge. The bedrooms are not 4 star standard and could be dramatically improved. The restaurant is slightly lacking in atmosphere but this is a small niggle as the food was very good. Internet access is charged for.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and will definitely return.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BunnyPalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2009

Stayed here a few months ago when going to see friends in Oxford. Comfy room, of a size that you expect in city hotel, so that was alright. Friendly, helpful staff. Relaxing bar and a sitting room with big sofas. Price was somewhere between £50 and £80 on a Sunday night. I wouldn't have wanted to pay much more. It's not right in the centre so you do have to walk along a busyish road to get there, but there is a great pub halfway along and a little row of shops and a cinema down a sidestreet across the road from the hotel. So we were fine. I'd definitely go back and am in fact thinking of doing so in the next couple of months.

  • Stayed: September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sceptical_Stayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 August 2008

My fiance and I booked this hotel for a 3 night stay in Oxford at a total cost of nearly £300 (room only). We chose it because it seemed a good price for a 4* hotel, it seemed to have the character that alot of the 'chain' hotels lack and it was perfectly located for the City - only a 15 minute walk. On arrival, the hotel looked every bit its 4 stars with a beautiful frontage and recpeption area, the staff were polite and eager to please.
However, we were disappointed when we entered our room. It was very average and could have easily been a travelodge or similar hotel chain room. It was quite small and lacked character. The bathroom was a little shabby around the edges too.
We had gone for the room only option to give ourselves a choice of breakfasting in th city, however we did have breakfast in the hotel on the first day. At a cost of £12.50 per head for a full English, the meal served was again distinctly average. The continental buffett also ran out of croissants halfway through service and. despite another guests request, were not replaced. Overall, it was not an unpleasant stay but I do feel that if people are looking for a hotel with character and charm they should avoid the Cotswold Lodge unless they are prepared to pay the addtional cost for a 'feature room'.

  • Stayed: August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank soniaandpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.7 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
1.8 mi away
Oxford Spires Hotel
Oxford Spires Hotel
#8 of 44 in Oxford
1,860 reviews
1.4 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
741 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
3.8 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cotswold Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cotswold Lodge Hotel

Address: 66A Banbury Road, Oxford OX2 6JP, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Luxury Hotel in Oxford
Price Range: £93 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Cotswold Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cotswold Lodge is an independent 4-star hotel located in a conservation area within walking distance from Oxford’s historic city centre. Visitors are assured of a warm welcome and a highly professional level of service, whether they are popping in for a coffee, meeting someone for lunch, staying at the hotel or hosting an event. The elegant Victorian building combines period features such as bay windows, high ceilings and open fireplaces with all the facilities required by today’s business and leisure travellers, including secure wireless broadband internet access. All our guest rooms offer a good level of comfort and privacy. Our ten feature rooms are named after Oxford colleges and retain the distinctive architectural features of the original building. Restaurant 66 has a modern, fresh design and an acclaimed menu. We also have a welcoming bar, charming terraces, a spacious drawing room and a Mediterranean-style courtyard garden. The Norham Suite is the ideal venue for business meetings, private dining functions and special events such as weddings, birthdays and parties. Cotswold Lodge is one of the few hotels in Oxford where parking is not a problem. We provide complimentary parking for residents – and we are just 10 minutes’ walk or a short bus ride from the city centre, visit our image gallery. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Cotswold Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cotswold Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing