We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing for a Premier Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Ranked #11 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Dorchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Disappointing for a Premier Inn”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Whilst the good sized family bedroom was as usual spotlessly clean we were disappointed generally. We were on the ground floor and we could hear the people in the room above. The hotel receptionist was not the usual bubbly and outgoing type but quite gruff and abrupt. The breakfast was again a disappointment. Having stayed in many premier inns we have never had to tell the staff that the hot trays were empty and also ask for a Costa Coffee when it is advertised as free on the menu! The breakfast tables were in need of monitoring, topping up and cleaning on a more regular basis. Would not recommend this one!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicola C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,361 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    436
    526
    234
    100
    65
See reviews for
419
475
48
218
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (219)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

This is the first time I've used a Premier Inn. I've usually used Travelodge which usually works out cheaper. On this occasion it was booked by a colleague and had no choice in the matter. The hotel was clean and comfortable, the rooms being larger than expected. The staff at the desk were friendly and welcoming and happily sorted out a rather complex booking.
Our booking included a full English self service breakfast. The food was plentiful, but came across as a little 'mass produced' and rather thrown together. This did not detract from the overall quality of the stay and provided a good start to the day.
I would happily use this hotel again, provided the right offers were around.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PermanentlyPuzzled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haverhill, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Stayed here two nights for a wedding in oxford city centre. Easy to find, clean room, moderate breakfast, window didn't close properly so bit noisy from the nearby road but didn't disturb sleep. We knew it was near the bypass so was aware we may be able to hear it. Nice big tv with freeview. Clean room. Pleasant staff.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 09Mdr86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alcala de los Gazules, Spain
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Of course, a chain hotel is going to be uniform and the hygiene standard and service are excellent. The rooms are large and well-equipped, large bed, TV, place for clothes, etc, but there are a few drawbacks. The bed is very high off the ground. I'm over 6' and I couldn't put my feet on the ground when sat on the bed... A little hop off is no big deal for me, but if you're older, perhaps with a weak hip or back, it might not be so trivial. The mattress is a good foot thick and I didn't find it all that comfortable.

Secondly, although the leaflet in the room says "warm up or cool down" pointing to the temperature control in the room, it actually only controls a heater. You can't reduce the temperature. Not typically a problem in the UK but when I arrived the temperature in the room was 23ºC and I had to have the window open all the time I was there. It's not aircon. Again, not a really big problem but something to bear in mind if you like a cooler room.

The thing that irritated me was that they offer you an hour of free wifi and then charge you three quid a day. At eighty quid a day for the room, that seems to me quite a cheek. I can get free internet access in a café and it ought to come as part of the room booking for any decent hotel. And it dropped occasionally as well. Not a good deal, but often you simply have to have the connection.

The staff were very very helpful but, as was indicated by the monitoring survey sent to customers after their stay, these people are very closely monitored by the company. Not only the focus of the questionnaire, ostensibly to improve service but clearly directly monitoring staff performance, but also the scripted responses from the staff indicate that they'd be much happier and relaxed if there was more trust and less monitoring and control. I noticed that the staff, when not interfacing with customers, were much more relaxed and human. That relaxed and natural manner is much-appreciated by many customers.

So clean, efficient, good location, but also uniform and a little anonymous and squeezing out the extra cash from customers.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlcalaBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 April 2014

This is a very good premier inn, and offers the high standards and consistency you can expect from this chain with a few extras! The staff are extremely helpful and polite and was made to feel welcome from the minute I checked in. Also has a great restaurant attached where I ate breakfast and evening meal. Food is an extremely good quality and again the food was excellent!

Definitely be staying here again

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bristol1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Corby, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

Stayed one night on business room was fine but getting served at the bar and in the restaurant was very very slow considering it was not that bizzy
Thank goodness i don't have to much work in that area after a long day you don't want to wait an hour for your dinner or a drink to arrive

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 250williew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2014

Quality room but no air conditioning and with busy road the window could not be left open.

No walkway from restaurant to Annexe - need to walk at side of roadway where cars entered at far too fast a speed.
No hand rail for shower and high side to bath.

Room Tip: Ask to stay at back of annexe away from road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
5.2 mi away
Jurys Inn Oxford
Jurys Inn Oxford
#7 of 44 in Oxford
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hampton by Hilton Oxford Hotel
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Oxford
Holiday Inn Oxford
#12 of 44 in Oxford
1,070 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.6 mi away
Travelodge Oxford Peartree Hotel
1.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Oxford
4.6 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn Oxford Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn Oxford Hotel

Property: Premier Inn Oxford Hotel
Address: Garsington Road | Oxford Business Park, Oxford OX4 2JZ, England (Formerly Travel Inn)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Best Value Hotel in Oxford
#8 Romantic Hotel in Oxford
#9 Family Hotel in Oxford
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn Oxford Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated for both business and leisure guests. For business this hotel is next to Oxford business park and for shops and local amenities Oxford city centre is only 3 miles away. Our Oxford Premier Inn has everything you'd expect, incredibly comfy beds in every room and an onsite Beefeater restaurant serving freshly cooked chargrilled food. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA so you can book your Premier Inn Oxford Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel Oxford
Oxford Premier Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing