We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very satisfactory”
Review of The Victoria Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Victoria Hotel
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Reviewed 22 July 2013

We stayed here just for one night; 5 adults, 2 rooms. Very comfortable and clean with a lovely breakfast. The walk to town took about 15 minutes, very flat and easy.
Strong wifi signal in the rooms..free.
I think we paid around £210 for the one night for 5 of us. Perfectly adequate with good staff.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Lindaro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (159)
There are newer reviews for The Victoria Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 159 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2013

We arrived earlier than expected and received a warm welcome.We went into Oxford and when we came back a young lady gave us our key.Our double room was lovely and clean as was the en suite bathroom.There was tea, coffee and biscuits. The breakfast was beautifully cooked,hot and tasty and the service from the elderly gentleman was exemplary. I could not fault the hotel or the staff

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ClevelandHarleygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2013

Double room was clean with en suite, toilet could have been cleaner. very dated decor, good hot cook breakfast, fine choice of cerials, fruit juices etc. Good service at reception and at breakfast but overal it was good for one night. Toilets in the reception area were in need of a very good clean

Room Tip: Although on the ground floor it was quiet
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pete80_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2013

If you want luxury do not stay here. It is very scruffy and the decor has seen better days. The room was adequate but the bathroom was not nice. The shower was terrible and it was difficult to get wet as the water pressure was so weak. I also found the hotel noisy due to other guests or the staff moving around every morning at 6am. The location of the hotel is good though as it is within close walking distance to Oxford centre and is close to a couple of nice pubs. There is adequate parking at the hotel which is a bonus, especially in Oxford. The staff, particularly the man who served breakfast, were very friendly and nice so have no complaints there. The breakfast was also good. Overall though we had a good time and this did not spoil it at all as we were not in our rooms much.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dd21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2013

My colleague arrived here to find her bathroom was filthy and had not been cleaned, there was no loo roll, there was a hole in the cupboard, and the light fitting in the bathroom was covered other with tape, suggesting a potentially dangerous electrical fitting, which could be a fire hazard. When she complained she was shown to another room, where the windows were fixed in an open position. When a complaint was made, the manager said the claims were not true. Fortunately the photographs prove otherwise. The charge was £ 93.00 for the night, and only 50 % was refunded. This hotel is a disgrace, and should not be booked by anyone. There are plenty better other hotels in Oxford at better prices.

Room Tip: The only tip is not to book a room here; go somewhere else
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 April 2013

My daughter is spending her 21st Birthday at the Victoria Hotel this weekend.
She has arrived to a lovely comfortable hotel with exceptional staff.
I would particularly like to thank Milos for all the help I have received with making today a special occasion for my daughter. It's been fantastic to have someone who will go the extra mile and keep you informed with emails; that's real care and good service.

Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
Thank Davina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2013

This hotel is very dated which would be fine if it was clean, however it is not! The towels were stained and threadbare. The sheet had holes in it and there were hairs in the bed! There were stains on walls and carpets. The bathroom was dirty with hairs down the plughole and suspicious stains all over the tiles. The pillows under the cases were stained and should be burnt! There were also cobwebs everywhere. Had we inspected the room properly before going out we would have left and gone somewhere else. The breakfast was ok but no ketchup as they had run out, and there was no marmalade. The elderly proprietor was sweet but his wife on reception was extremely un-welcoming and unforthcoming with information. The best thing about the place is that the parking is free! Alex Polizzi would have a field day!

Room Tip: Different hotel altogether...
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.8 mi away
Balkan Lodge Hotel
Balkan Lodge Hotel
#30 of 44 in Oxford
76 reviews
0.2 mi away
Newton House
Newton House
#28 of 44 in Oxford
220 reviews
0.4 mi away
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
Ethos Hotel & Caffe
#22 of 44 in Oxford
507 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Oxford Linton Lodge Hotel
1.1 mi away
Royal Oxford Hotel
Royal Oxford Hotel
#13 of 44 in Oxford
674 reviews
6.8 mi away
Ramada Oxford
Ramada Oxford
#25 of 44 in Oxford
624 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Victoria Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Victoria Hotel

Address: 180 Abingdon Road, Oxford OX1 4RA, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £81 - £138 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Victoria Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Victoria Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Victoria Hotel Oxford

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing