We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing Food!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The One Restaurant & Bar

The One Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #109 of 622 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly
Dining options: Brunch, Dinner, Lunch, After-hours, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An incredible fusion of Asian and English food! Fabulous service, beautiful presentation, and the food is delicious! They also have a ovely garden for outdoors eating.
Oxford
Level Contributor
55 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Amazing Food!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

We are a local family and have been to The One on many occassions
for dinner with our very young grandchildren.We have always been made very welcome by Candy, Miffy and Alan. and all the staff. The chef who is Alans son Raymond will often come out to greet us. The food is the best Chinese we have ever eaten very fresh and so much variety.We love it so much we are planning to spend Christmas Day there! We hope the One will be there for the duration so we can keep going you must pay a visit to see for yourself,

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    28
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
94 reviews
62 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Posh fusion with prices to match but food can't match expectations.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 September 2012 via mobile

This place tries hard to be trendy and actually the restaurant decoration is quite good but expensive prices and average food quality make it a bit of hard place to come often. With off street parking it avoids expensive car parking in Oxford but you'll find that although the choice of food is wide, the selection for each type of cuisine is small. Recommendation is Fried Beef Ho Fun which was nicely cooked, although why on earth is there a salad on the side of it ?!

    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Tclite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOneBar, Manager at The One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your review.

We do have an onsite car park which is for our customers only. There are also 2 hours free parking down the roads near us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Uninspired”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 September 2012

The food tasted of too much starch and MSG, the service was ok but a bit slow, the atmosphere is ok, if you like Frank Sinatra jazz on repeat. Quite overpriced, too, in my opinion.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank DaGaMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheOneBar, Manager at The One Restaurant & Bar, responded to this review, 11 October 2012
Thank you for your review. I like to clarify that MSG is BANNED from our Kitchen.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Fab food!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 August 2012

When we went there the first time, the food was good. We decided to go there again on our next trip to Oxford, and the food was excellent. Service is fantastic too. Would highly recommend this restaurant to anyone - will not be disappointed! We shall definitely go back there again and again when we return to Oxford.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank holybird_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
123 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“A hidden gem not to be overlooked”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

I can't count the number of times we have walked past this family-owned restaurant without going in but we decided to try it and were delighted with our experience. As it is 10 minutes from the house, it has become a regular place to eat, relax and enjoy a drink.

We have enjoyed a beer in the outdoor seating area, several sit down meals and chilling with a coffee in front of the sport in the bar area.

As a family-run business, there is a lovely welcoming atmosphere and the owner, Raymond, is always on hand to make us welcome and have a chat. The other staff are friendly, courteous and attentive.

The food is always presented well and delicious. The cuisine is a successful fusion with the option of a good value lunch menu, Sunday Roasts and a first rate drinks menu from mocktails to European and Asian lagers.

We also enjoyed watching the Olympics in the bar area over a coffee. Suitable for parties, singles, couples and families alike.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank mermaid109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The One Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The One Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing