We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another great meal and outstanding welcome.”

The One Restaurant & Bar
Ranked #109 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: An incredible fusion of Asian and English food! Fabulous service, beautiful presentation, and the food is delicious! They also have a ovely garden for outdoors eating.
Oxford
Level Contributor
59 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another great meal and outstanding welcome.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014 via mobile

We would like to say a huge thank you to the wonderful Chu family for making the most amazing birthday cakes for our daughters birthday and for my mums 80th The butterfly cake was fabulous much enjoyed by us all today. We also had yet another lovely family meal at TheOne on Saturday evening we are always made to feel really welcome and our grandchildren are treated so well making special desserts for them which they love. All the family love coming out for dinner here and intend to keep coming!!!!

Helpful?
Thank Janet K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

131 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    80
    30
    8
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Great place,Varied menu something for everyone”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Good food,Great atmosphere (Although a lot of that depends on you and who goes with you) Chinese fusion menu which just about covers most things.We go there for a lot of family celebrations .Good for largish parties if you book in advance. Interesting cocktail list.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Flaming good meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

It wasn't the fact that Creme Brulee' arrived on the table flaming and bubbling and on breaking the crispy top revealed the creamiest pudding ever.
Or the fact that it was accompanied by a lush sauce surrounded by hand cut fruit cartoon like characters.
No, it was the fact that the waitress remembered and commented to me, the last time we dined here they had to my disappointment sold out of this amazing sweet.
This was the just part of a great meal.
I started with Thai Chilli Crab Cakes
with Mango Salad and Thai Sweet Chilli Sauce, just the right heat for me, very tasty.
My wife opted for Chicken/Crab Meat and Sweet Corn Soup and enjoyed every last drop from a very generous bowlful.
She selected a sizzling plate of Fillet of Beef in Black Pepper Sauce with a massive plate of Salted Ribs with Garlic and Spices, and enjoyed them immensely, I chose a melt in the mouth Char Grilled Rib-Eye Steak served with crunchy chips and vine cherry tomatoes, it would have been nice to have been served up with mushrooms and peas but maybe this could be added at a future date.
Bannana split accompanied with delicious ice cream and the funny fruit characters, was my wife choice of dessert and again it was received with delight.
We had a couple of pints of Stella and glasses of House white ending with Irish coffees.
Our bill was less than £45 per head and we used a £10 off voucher from The Ones VIP reward club and we look forward to amassing a few more points to be used on our next visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank alancoleman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malta
Level Contributor
117 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great Dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

Went there for a quick dinner. Food was very good and service also. Waiter was very nice to us (sorry didn't get his name) and made sure to provide us with great service. We ordered salmon with rice and beef with vegetable rice. Portions were good and food was fresh and well presented. They also had some real nice cocktails which i would recommend to try. Price is reasonable and would recommend for a nice dinner with friends or family. Very close to centre of the city so easy to walk to. Parking near by as well.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Zanioculcas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Birthday meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 April 2014

We had booked this restaurant following an afternoon exploring Oxford. Enjoyed the food, which is a mix of asian and english with something for everyone. Staff were very polite. However, the service of the food was disjointed with main dishes arriving five minutes before rice, etc and one of our party waiting 15 minutes longer than the others for his meal. They did produce a lovely cocktail for my daughter which was complimentary and she really enjoyed!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The One Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to The One Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing