We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“VERY NICE”

Byron George Street
Ranked #75 of 627 Restaurants in Oxford
Price range: US$9 - US$26
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Groups, Kids
Dining options: After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Delivery, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Proper hamburgers made from British beef, freshly prepared and cooked to order, served with a craft beer
Naples, Italy
Level Contributor
76 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“VERY NICE”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 June 2014

Went there in Occasion of my journey to Oxford to Attend an International Law Competition at the university and we arrived on Campus very late since we were heading there from London. Byron was one of the few restaurant opened in Oxford on a sunday evening. It was a very fortunate discovery. I Had the most amazing mushroom salad with an homemade creamy dressing, tomatoes and mixed greens as well as a veggie burger. My friends also ordered some regular burgers with mature cheddar cheese and a lamb burger both the variants were amazing. The servers were also very welcoming and kind despite the fact it was almost the time the restaurant was about to close and prep for the next day. Nice selection of beers and beverages for a franchising company which has multiple location across the United Kingdom I Believe

I Highly recommend this place!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ugo M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

404 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    144
    156
    63
    34
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bicester, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“No ordinary burger bar”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

Great quality beef (also chicken and veggie) burgers.
Happy helpful staff, from arrival to departure.
Had the monthly special, Miami Spice. It is nicely spicy without being overly spicy.
Sides are extra so don't expect fries with your burger. Sometimes just a burger is all you need especially if it is a really good one.
Great atmosphere for a late lunch.
Great wines, good, better and best makes things easier.
Will go back again.

Helpful?
Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Overrated but great customer service”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

My and my boyfriend went to Byron on the evening of 22.05.2014, we were seated straight away, the waiter was lovely and drinks arrived quick.
I ordered the new Miami Slice burger, sounded amazing but when it came it was dry and the amazing combination of toppings didn't go well together. It had shredded potato chips in it which at the time looking at the menu sounded nice but really didn't work. The courgette fries were amazing as usual. My boyfriend didn't like his burger and the fries were ok. I had the caramel & honeycomb sundae which was really nice but was basically ice cream with a crumbled Crunchie bar (not all of the bar but like third of it!). All in all its over priced and your better off going to a Maccy D for a full and cheaper meal. The staff is fab but food not so much.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CupcakeChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Decent burger, pricey but basic”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Popped in Byron given the good reputation it has. We were in and out within half an hour service was quick and decent. The burgers themselves are very simple, they are just presented on a plate with some baking paper and a bit of gherkin. The meat is of good quality but the burgers have minimal toppings unless you have the special. The vegetarian option was OK, but please have something different than mushroom, it's so many restaurant's default veggie option! Overall I would prefer GBK or Handmade burger company.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank pea_chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Food ok - but service terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

Our experience here was marred by the lack of attention from the waitress. We sat and waited for menu's for what seemed like ages. The chips didn't arrive until we asked for them. On top of that - mid mouthful the waitress leaned across from my left to grab an empty glass on my right - I hate that! The burger was good - but the look is extremely basic - just a bun and burger on a piece of paper on a board - no healthy stuff next to it...

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Milly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Byron George Street also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Byron George Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing