We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Duck with cherries was divine!”

Cote Brasserie - Oxford
Ranked #14 of 628 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French, European, Soups
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Breakfast, Brunch, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Our inspiration for the food and design of Cote is a modern interpretation of the many famous bistros of Paris. Inspired by new trends, we are dedicated to serving authentic classic brasserie dishes with a modern twist, using high quality produce at great prices. On the menu, guests will always find brasserie favourites on our a la carte menu such as steak frites, moules marinieres, corn-fed chicken from rural Brittany and tuna Nicoise, for dessert, Cote's creme caramel and creme brulee are much-loved house specialities. Seasonality and Cote's commitment to sourcing high-quality ingredients results in a monthly changing specials menu, ensuring there is always something new to delight regular guests and gastronomes alike, as well as the excellent value set menu. Open early every day for breakfast, through to lunch and dinner; Cote's atmosphere is informal and friendly
Boca Raton, Florida
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
“Duck with cherries was divine!”
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Dining out alone was delightful as I sat in the window area to people watch. Tables are close together giving diners an easy opportunity to chat with fellow diners!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KaLeeSea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

904 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    470
    327
    77
    23
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reading UK
Level Contributor
78 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Excellent customer service”
Reviewed 11 August 2014

My husband and I are big fans of the Cote restaurant chain and the Oxford restaurant did not disappoint. I ordered the fillet steak medium rare (which I know is usually cooked exactly right) however, on this occasion it came well done. The staff handled this extremely professionally but I did have to wait for another to be cooked, which when it arrived was perfect! Making what could have been a dining disaster into a very pleasurable experience.

They made a generous gesture on our bill to make up for the error and inconvenience, which was totally unexpected. Again, another example of the level of professionalism and customer service by the restaurant management and staff, you expect this from Michelin starred restaurants but not necessarily in a chain. Full marks to the way Cote train their staff and to the staff themselves.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank PennypieceReadingUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Broseley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“First Class Food”
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We had an excellent dinner at Cote Brasserie In Oxford. The food was delicious and presented well. The staff were friendly and efficient and, overall, it was a very good experience! We will definitely go there again. It may be a chain but it performs at a higher standard.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lyn A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stratford, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
144 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“A great lunch and supper”
Reviewed 8 August 2014

During a recent visit to Oxford our task was to find a good restaurant for a group. As a result we had lunch and supper there. Both where very satisfactory. This is a smaller place than the big restaurants right in the centre of the city. However it is only about two or three blocks away and close to several theatres. Service was good as was the food. As it turned out one of our group had asked a local for a recommendation for supper and you guessed it, this was the place they recommended.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Terry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very good food”
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Both the food (although a bit pricey) and the service are consistently very good. Last time we went there was to celebrate a graduation and they even gave us complimentary prosecco :)
Also, the lunch menu is affordable and very tasty.

Helpful?
Thank Sophie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cote Brasserie - Oxford also viewed

 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Cote Brasserie - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing