We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 January 2014

One word "perfect" thank you VBHH for a lovely stay you made my wifes birthday complete, staff very polite and helpful ,room no 7 vicarage suite beautiful and spotless food excellent and thank you david for the Morse info you will be seeing us again soon i hope

Room Tip: if its something special vicarage suite no.7
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pfjf2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 February 2014

Dear pfjf2014,

I am so pleased that you enjoyed your wife's birthday at Vanbrugh House, The Vicarage Suite really does enhance that special occasion. It was really good to meet you both and I hope the Morse information came in useful! Thank you for your 5 star review......perfect.

We look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (705)
There are newer reviews for Vanbrugh House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

528 - 534 of 705 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2014

This little hotel is what all hotels should be and few achieve. Booking online was straightforward and quick. I received an email and a phone call reminder. It was very central, near everything one needed to be near. The welcome was friendly and practical. The little room was beautifully decorated and equipped. In fact the decor throughout was lovely. It was raining torrentially. The desk will lend me an umbrella, I thought. Got to room, only to find umbrella hanging in closet. Mini bar stocked with complimentary snacks, water, fizzy drinks and even fresh milk. Bathroom was beautiful and stocked with good quality products. Massive, heavy towels. (No extractor though; why do hotel bathroom extractors never work?) Even the coffee cups in the room were stylish. Breakfast was generous (although fruit a bit sparse; my vegetarian daughter would not have been happy, but it is the uk, I suppose, not the tropics). And the service is v good. In fact service throughout, delivered by lovely mainly young staff, was polite, helpful, earnest and just as it should be. They forgot my morning paper, so found me one and of course didn't charge me for it.

Room Tip: No lift as grade ii listed. Elderly might want to consider ground floor.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sandra s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 January 2014

Dear Sandra s,

What a fantastic review and what a pleasure to read! I am so pleased that you enjoyed your time spent at Vanbrugh House and that you appreciated our complimentary range. It really is comments such as yours that makes it all worth while!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014

1 night stay in the Vicarage Suite (room 7) post Christmas treat for husband and I. Our experience is overall fabulous, we booked on 1st Jan, had a phone call on Sunday prior to arrival to confirm booking and advise regarding parking (we had already researched and viewed on hotel website nearest car park cost a hefty £24.90 for 24hrs but took it on the nose as we wanted to drive!) On arrival wanted to drop our bags (we were an hour earlier than room due to be ready) no one around to check in or welcome, searched around until we found someone downstairs. Checked in standing (oddly asked if this was ok) although the front room we were in had a lot of chairs none would have been appropriately positioned for the job.
That aside, Thoroughly enjoyed the peace and tranquility of the fabulous suite: own front door, own garden, lovely bedroom area, complimentary soft drinks and snack, nice touch, but the icing is most definitely the bathroom! Two roll top baths and TV, add a bottle of Bollinger, bliss!! Walking distance to all surrounding Oxford sights and plenty of places to eat. Breakfast was included in our package, also fabulous, eggs Benedict, and a full Oxford, delicious, although the restaurant is in the basement and alittle tight.
A very special place, thank you

Room Tip: Room 7 every time, beautiful, especially the very special bathroom!!!! A lot of stairs/steps, not...
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hevandotis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear hevandotis,

Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review. It is fantastic to hear you got to enjoy The Vicarage Suite and all its splendour.
I am sorry to hear you did not receive a warm welcome at reception. Our guests welcome arrival is of paramount importance to us and I sincerely apologise if the desk was unattended for a few short moments.
I trust from the rest of your review that you had a fabulous time at Vanbrugh House and your final comment really does please me.........' A very special place'.

We look forward to giving you that warm welcome on your return!

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 January 2014 via mobile

Myself and my newly wed wife stayed at this hotel on the 3rd of January and stayed for 2 night for a mini moon after getting married on the 30th December! The hotel is beautiful inside and the rooms are amazing! On arrival the receptionist was very polite and extremely helpful even carrying our suitcase to the room which was the Oxford Suite, as it was our mini moon we order champagne and breakfast in bed the following morning which was also of high quality and sampled the restaurant one evening which is small but in a good way. Its romantic and perfect for couples looking to get away and relax! Thank you Vanbrugh hotel and its staff for making our Mini Moon the perfect way to start married life!

Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Bud198
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 January 2014

Dear Bud198,

Thank you so much for the review of your 'Mini Moon' stay at Vanbrugh House. The Oxford Union Suite is a personal favourite of mine, with its Georgian design and eclectic styling, and not forgetting the view over oxfords world famous debating chamber, this room is really popular amongst our guests.
I am glad that you got to sample the delights of the restaurant and what better way to start married life than Champagne and breakfast to your room!

We look forward to welcoming you again soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2014

I stayed at the Vanbrugh House Hotel a few days ago and was impressed by how beautiful the house was and how helpful and nice the staff were. We stayed in one of the basic rooms but was surprised by how big the room was, the decoration of the room and the amount of complimentary drinks and snacks included with the room. The only very minor issue I had was we had to pay a £50 deposit which I wasn't told about when booking over the phone and finding the car park they suggested using was very hard to find.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank kris c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Kris C,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am sorry if you had difficulty finding our suggested car park. We do aim to make our customers arrival to Oxford, and Vanbrugh House, as smooth as possible. If this situation does arise, I recommend the guest to call our reception team who can then guide you into the city centre.
It is great to hear that you were impressed by the building and its décor. Being grade 2 listed means that the hotel is very unique with no 2 rooms the same. Contemporary by design, in a beautiful historic building.

Once again thank you for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

Treated my wife to the Vicarage Suite with two baths side by side and its own private garden (Shame about the weather but in the summer will be worth a second visit). The room had its own private entrance from the hotel and it was very clean and a very good size. The staff were very helpful and very pleasant. Parking is away from the hotel but you can park outside for at least an hour to unload or load. (10 minute walk to the hotel ) The breakfast in the morning was very nice and a good choice of different options. we would visit again but in the summer months so we could use the private garden with the room.

Room Tip: Car parking for 24Hrs is about £25.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Paul R,

Thank you for taking the time to post your 5 star review. The Vicarage Suite is indeed a real treat for the guest who is looking for something special. With its spacious room with four poster bed, Luxurious bathroom with twin baths and rainfall shower, and as mentioned its own private courtyard , this really is a tranquil haven in the centre of busy Oxford. I am glad you enjoyed it!

We look forward to welcoming you again in the summer.

kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Stayed at the Vanbrugh this weekend with my family. We had two adjacent rooms. The location is fantastic if you want to walk around Oxford and not have to bother getting in the car. The standard of the decor and accommodation is also very good. Very comfortable.
I had read some reviews talking about noise from the street, but we didn't find it an issue at all.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Sanity_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 January 2014

Dear Sanity_UK,

Thank you for your review of your recent visit to Vanbrugh House .Our guests comfort is of paramount importance to us, not only by way of the rooms but also in terms of the customer service that we deliver. I am glad that the décor within the hotel was to your liking, we aim to provide a contemporary design within an historic building.
Our fantastic location means you can explore the beautiful city of Oxford without the need of transport.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
709 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
727 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £151 - £281 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing