We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A little haven of tranquility in the heart of Oxford.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 March 2014

We had the pleasure of afternoon tea at the Vanbrugh, courtesy of Groupon. The frendliness of the staff and the diversity, quality and presentation of the tea - with a generous glass of Prosecco, made for a very pleasant afternoon treat for our birthdays. We would thoroughly recommend treating yourselves in this lovely setting.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bestroo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2014

Dear Bestroo,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your five star review. It is pleasing to read that your afternoon tea and the service received was to the high standard intended.
We look forward to welcoming you again in the coming months.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (715)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

521 - 527 of 715 reviews

Reviewed 28 February 2014

...undoubtedly so. Never have I encountered such personable and friendly staff. The hotel is located smack bang in the center of Oxford, yet is quite quiet. There is no lift as it is a graded building and it has an old world charm (fireplaces: not functioning but nice feature)and quirkiness. Rooms are extremely clean and pleasantly decorated. Small touches such as fun 'do not disturb' signs, an umbrella, some complimentary refreshments aside from the usual tea & coffee facilities (water, fresh milk, coca cola, crisps and even a Kitkat chocolate bar). The restaurant is small but the service is very good as were the breakfasts. The bathroom floor was rather cold, so some slippers would be just the thing to include with the luxurious toweling robes. A fantastic hotel I'd like to stay in again and will recommend to others.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LindaWheatley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 March 2014

Dear LindaWheatley,

Thank you for such a fantastic review. The team at Vanbrugh House really do take pride in their work and make every effort to make every guest feel welcome and at home. I really like that you appreciated the small touches, as these all add to the uniqueness of Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Thank you in advance for your future recommendations.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This is a wonderful little hotel right in the centre of town, off Cornmarket and near the bottom of Broad Street. The rooms are reasonably-sized and very well-appointed, and the breakfast selection has plenty of choice and was freshly and excellently prepared. There is only a small lounge alongside reception, but that's fine for short waits or preparing to go out. It's not cheap , but no hotel in Oxford is, and it's certainly worth it.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank simoninireland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear simoninireland,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review.The title 'boutique excellence' really is praise indeed, and definitely something that the team at Vanbrugh House are always aiming for. Its great to hear that you felt we achieved this. Thank you.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

I found this place via a Groupon voucher and took my boyfriend for his thirtieth birthday for a very enjoyable afternoon tea on our trip to Oxford. It was a bargain and thoroughly enjoyable. The restaurant is small but cosy, comfortable and beautifully decorated. Reception staff friendly and our waiter was very professional. We had finger sandwiches (made partly vegetarian on request), homemade scones, plain and sultana-still warm, homemade strawberry jam, generous amount of clotted cream, pistachio fudge, chocolate brownie bites, bakewell tart bites and chocolate ganache with strawberries. There was a large selection of properly brewed leaf teas and a freshly opened glass of Prosecco. Very nice.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 March 2014

Dear Sarah C,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review. I am so pleased you enjoyed your afternoon tea with us, whilst visiting beautiful Oxford. What a great way to start the birthday celebrations!

We look forward to welcoming you at Vanbrugh House again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

A gorgeous boutique hotel in a great central location. The staff are lovely and very helpful. Rooms are beautiful with some great little touches ie complimentary snacks in mini bar and real milk for your tea/coffee not the horrible milk jiggers, also an umbrella in each room as well as everything else that you would need. Breakfast was lovely and open until 11.00 each day. Would thoroughly recommend this hotel and will certainly stay there again when I visit my son.

Room Tip: All rooms are individual
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MHurfurt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 February 2014

Dear MHurfurt,

Thank you for choosing Vanbrugh House on your recent visit to Oxford, and leaving such a glowing review regarding your stay. We do appreciate all customer feedback, as it really is the best way of understanding and exceeding our guests expectations.
It pleases me that you will be coming to visit us again when seeing your son, and I thank you in advance for your future recommendations.

Until the next time...

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

I visited the Vanbrugh House Hotel with my partner, Sheelagh for afternoon tea with Posseco as part of our Valentine Weekend visit to Oxford. The hotel is in a great location, we had visited the Bodleian Library beforehand which is close by and deserved a rest after all our walking.

The afternoon tea was delicious, the tea consisted of a huge pot of a tea of your choice, we chose Oxford Brew and the Indian tea which I forget the name, both were good. The 3 tiered stand consisted of 8 delicious finger sandwiches, above that were two scones (two halves each, which we both felt was enough and satisfying), delicious jam and clotted cream, above that were two delicious chocolate pots, homemade fudge, fruit cake and cherry sponge, all were delicious!

All though the space is small where the restaurant is located, it has a cosy, intimate feeling with the bar located in the corner offering a wide range of drinks.

When we visit Oxford again we shall make sure we visit again!

Thank you Vanbrugh House Hotel for a superb afternoon tea which really did finish our day in Oxford off well!!!

  • Stayed: February 2014
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Thank antontothemax2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 February 2014

Dear antontothemax2008,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your review. Our homemade afternoon tea at Vanbrugh House is becoming extremely popular with residents and non residents alike. It sounds as though yourself and Sheelagh had a perfect Valentines weekend in Oxford.

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

This is a good quality hotel located in the centre of Oxford, in a side street so not noisy. Rooms are well furnished, comfortable and functional. Staff are friendly and helpful. The air conditioning (?) can be a little noisy at night and the breakfast room is rather cramped.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled solo
Thank tjshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2014

Dear tjshome,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent visit to Vanbrugh House. With the hustle and bustle of central Oxford only footsteps away, our location on St Michaels Street offers a tranquil setting in comparison. I am pleased to hear you found the rooms comfortable and of a high standard.

We hope to see you soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
722 reviews
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
0.5 mi away
Mercure Eastgate Oxford
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £152 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing