We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“ok hotel for one night in Oxford”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel for one night. The hotel itself is very pretty and location is very central on a quiet street. The staff at check-in was efficient and friendly. The room (Nr. 3, ground floor) was small. It was nonetheless clean and had a safe, free minibar & coffee/tea, an iron and ironing board, flat screen TV and free WLAN. The furniture was new and of good taste. The bed was comfortable although pillows a bit too soft. No A/C meant that it was 25 C in May on the ground floor. The small fan in the room would certainly bring some relief but A/C would be more appropriate for a hotel that markets itself as an boutique / luxury hotel. The minibar did not cool well. The bathroom was small but clean and functional. But having two people at the same time in the bathroom might be challenging. The "rain shower" worked well. Water pressure and temperature was good. The room at night was quiet, but was quite loud starting at 7 am when guest started going to the breakfast room. Overall, and despite the warm rooms, a good choice in the overpriced Oxford hotel market. Value for money compared to other hotels in Oxford acceptable, but not compared to other cities. I did not have breakfast so cannot comment on the quality of the food. I would stay at this hotel again, but would avoid the ground floor rooms next time. Major +: location and nice building, -: warm and noisy in the morning (hotel guests, not the street).

Room Tip: avoid room on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Springbank_21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Springbank_21,

Thank you so much for taking the time to submit your review on trip advisor. At Vanbrugh House our guests comments, either good, constructive or otherwise are of great importance to us. It is only with your feedback that we can begin to exceed customer expectations all of the time.

We look forward to your return to Oxford and Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (737)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

512 - 518 of 737 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2014

We stayed at the Vanbrugh Hotel for 2 nights. It was the perfect location for visiting Oxford, just a few yards from the main area situated in a quiet Cul-de-sac. We stayed in the Grand Fireplace room, which was perfect, although we could hear people walking about in the room above us, it did not cause too much concern (in fact they were our alarm call) other that that the hotel is very quiet. I did have a problem with the pillows not being fluffy enough but that is a personal choice The hotel staff were one of the best we have encountered, nothing was too much trouble and very courteous, certainly 5 star service! The breakfast was very good indeed. All in all I would definitely recommend people stay here, we will certainly be back.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jackie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Jackie W,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review, our guests feedback is just so important to us. The team at Vanbrugh House do take great pride in their customer service and it is comments such as yours that makes it all worth while. I will be passing your review to all departments. Thank you in advance for your future recommendations to others.

We look forward to your return visit to Oxford and Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 May 2014

The room was charming, the shower incredible (option to change it to waterfall spray), the location unbeatable and the service was great. The downsides were the price and the ventilation in the bathroom who made you feel like standing next to a Boeing.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bitien
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Bitien,

Thank you for taking the time to write your 5 star review. The hotels location in the very heart of Oxford is indeed 'unbeatable'. Situated on a quiet side street, only moments away from the theatres, museums and restaurants, makes for an enjoyable stay at Vanbrugh House.
I am pleased to hear that the service received during your visit was to the high standard intended.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Visited this hotel last Sunday and was not disapointed- It is absolutely beautiful and is set in a perfect location - right in the centre of Oxford
Upon arrival, we were told that they had upgraded us to a superior room ( The Grand Fireplace Room) for free and were very grateful as the room was really breathtaking and had everything we needed- The decor was in keeping with the style and feel of the hotel.
Service was great- Very helpful and polite
5* Hotel ! We will definately be back

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zoe H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Zoe H,

Thank you so much for your 5 star review. I am so pleased we were able to upgrade you on this occasion, we always endeavour to do so if occupancy allows. It is fantastic to hear you found the hotel 'absolutely beautiful' and the location 'perfect'.

We look forward to welcoming you at Vanbrugh House again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

In a quiet street away from tourist crowds but within easy walking distance of most Oxford attractions, Vanbrugh Hotel has the perfect location. A boutique hotel with charm. The staff are delightful and they ensured our 3 day stay was enjoyable. We are planning a return visit. Our room was compact with rainhead shower in the bathroom. The room decor has a luxe style but some of the elements could have been designed better. The mirror in the bathroom was too high for me (I'm 164cm tall) all I could see was my forehead. This irritated me, as did the poorly directed lighting throughout the room. I think their interior decorator has let down the hotel team. We had 1 dinner and 1 breakfast at the hotel and both were OK but I was glad I'd booked room only! Vanbrugh is a good choice in expensive Oxford.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Torvie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 16 May 2014

Dear Torvie,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent visit to Vanbrugh House Hotel. I am so pleased that your time spent with us was enjoyed. Thank you also for your constructive comments regarding the mirror height, I will look into this personally.
It is great to hear you are already planning your return visit, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014 via mobile

I booked this hotel a few months ago as had read many good reviews on this website and overall, we were not disappointed.
The service was exceptional from entering until leaving. The lady who greeted us on arrival showed us how to get around Oxford and she made a special effort for my partner who was celebrating his birthday.
The location was very central and within walking distance of all the main attractions.
The room was perfect for what we wanted. Very clean with a complimentary mini bar with milk, soft drinks and snacks.
The only slight criticism was the price. Having booked a few months ago, I thought I would be saving money however when checking the website on the day that we were arriving, found the room to be £70 cheaper. It does not state anywhere on the website or in the terms and conditions that the prices may vary and I would have booked later had I have known this as still had to pay the price given when booking.
I would highly recommend this hotel but just to check the prices before you book.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sara a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2014

Dear sara a,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review and submitting your constructive feedback. Guest comments, good, constructive or otherwise, are just so important to us at Vanbrugh House and I will be following up on your comments regarding the rate drop.
However, on the positive side I am really pleased that you would highly recommend us and we look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

We visited the hotel for 1 night for a short last minute trip to Oxford.

So glad we picked the Vanbrugh, it's right in the middle of everything we wanted to see, so we could walk everywhere.

The staff are amazing, never had such a lovely welcome to a hotel. Everyone couldn't do enough for you and very friendly. Really helpful with maps and showing you where to go.

There are lots of places to eat and drink around the hotel too. Didn't have dinner there, but breakfast was great.

No parking at the hotel, but we parked just around the corner in Worcester Street car park. It's £25 for 24 hours so not cheap, but it's handy and close.

Room was lovely, bit on the small side but not a big deal. Great shower.

If we ever go back to Oxford again thus is where we would stay.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Lyppard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Lyppard,

Thank you so much for your rewarding five star review. Its sounds as though you had a very positive experience on your visit to Oxford and of course Vanbrugh House. It is fantastic to hear that the staff made your stay pleasurable and we look forward to welcoming you on your return.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Oxford hotels
0.2 mi away
Malmaison Oxford Castle
0.3 mi away
Old Bank Hotel
Old Bank Hotel
#1 of 44 in Oxford
1,218 reviews
0.1 mi away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Old Parsonage Hotel
Old Parsonage Hotel
#2 of 44 in Oxford
731 reviews
3.1 mi away
De Vere Oxford Thames
2.2 mi away
Remont Oxford Hotel
Remont Oxford Hotel
#3 of 44 in Oxford
745 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Vanbrugh House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Vanbrugh House Hotel

Address: Vanburgh House 20-24 St. Michaels Street, Oxford OX1 2EB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Oxford
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 44 Hotels in Oxford
Price Range: £153 - £295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Vanbrugh House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Vanbrugh House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing