We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Vanbrugh House Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$253
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$246
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$152
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$144
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$173
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$165
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$475
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$120
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$116
Trip.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$141
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Holiday Inn Oxford(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$106
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$102
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
US$128
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$108
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$160
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$155
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Premier Inn Oxford Hotel(Oxford)(Great Value!)
US$96
PremierInn.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (803)
Filter reviews
803 results
Traveller rating
475
218
73
22
15
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
475
218
73
22
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsvicarage suitewhite company toiletriesprivate gardencomplimentary mini barlewis carrollboutique hotelrainfall showerreal milkquiet side streetlisted buildingfudgeafternoon teafresh milkgreat central locationcentral oxfordbreakfast was includedgeorge street
Filter
Updating list...
552 - 557 of 803 reviews
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Vanbrugh House is very well located. Rooms are really beautiful, very well decorated. Staff at front desk and restaurant were really nice and helpful. Breakfast was so delicious and well presented. Eggs benedict were my favourite. We would really have liked to have the time to enjoy dinner but we returned late every day. My only concern was the fact the hotel room we got faced the street and that the hotel in general was really noisy. Everyday a truck would arrive very early to unload goods for the hotel. The windows are not double paned. Cleaning ladies started their tasks very early and you could hear easily people leaving their rooms and closing door or talking. I did not rest at all. But I love Oxford so it make me forget how tired I was.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back of the hotel.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Abinin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 August 2014

Dear Abinin,

Thank you for taking the time to write regarding your recent visit to Vanbrugh House. I am sorry to hear that you found the hotel noisy, it is obviously our intention that our guests leave content and well rested. I will pass your comments on to the house keeping department regarding this issue also. I am really pleased that all other aspects of your stay were to your liking.

We hope to see you at Vanbrugh house again soon.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2014

We loved this place. Charming - and oozing pride, it really sets the bar for exemplary service. Someone is spending a lot of time and giving an abundance of attention to training the staff here - and it pays off. I cannot imagine a better location if you're in Oxford. Initially, we had booked a standard double room and it was tiny - but it was the noise from an outside neighbouring generator which bothered us, so we upgraded and changed rooms. I'm glad we did. Breakfast was really good (it was included in our rate) - many options in a lovely outdoor setting.
They did the little things really well - there were 'goodies' in our room, replenished daily ie bikkies, chocolate, mineral water etc. It felt as though nothing was too much trouble. We received our best 'Oxford tips' from the staff here, which led us to discovering the magical canal and Thames River walks. An excellent boutique hotel.

Room Tip: Check the noise out your window. Pay a bit extra for a bigger room than a standard.
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Aherns3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Aherns3,

Thank you so much for taking the time to write your 5 star review. It is pleasing to read that the service you received during your visit was 'exemplary'. Here at Vanbrugh House we do take great pride in our customer service and I am glad this was appreciated.

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 June 2014

The location and staff are excellent. Our room--not so much. It was small, cramped, and very hot, as in no air-conditioner. Luckily, there was a fan. We should have booked a suite, definitely not room 10. How could we know? The photos on the website looked good.

Room Tip: Book a large room.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jstaples900
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear jstaples900,

Thank you for taking the time to submit your comments. It is disappointing to read that you found room 10 tiny. I am surprised by this as this standard double, in my opinion, is of a good size with a lovely elongated shower room. All of trip advisor is subject to personal opinion of course, and I do most certainly respect yours.
On the plus side I am pleased to read that you found the staff and the location excellent.

We hope to see you again at Vanbrugh House Hotel.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a great small hotel in a central location, the courtyard is lovely for an afternoon drink in the sun. Rooms are lovely, decorated tastefully. Breakfast was nice, but note that the breakfast area is quite small so it's difficult to accommodate groups larger than 4. Reception can become a bit crowded as it's hosted out of a lounge area, with someone sitting with a laptop on their knee which we found a little odd and awkward given there were 5 of us checking in - this meant the lounge was full! On check out day, the lounge can become quite cramped with luggage being left so customers can still spend the day in the city.

Only other minor issue was service for drinks in the courtyard was slow.

Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
1  Thank Mistylibby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Mistylibby,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Since your visit 12 months ago, a lot has changed at Vanbrugh House. The reception area is no longer in the same format as you describe and therefore does not continue to have the issues that you rightly comment upon.
I am glad that during your visit you had the chance to enjoy a drink in the courtyard, the perfect way to enjoy the sunshine in the centre of beautiful Oxford!

We hope to see you again soon at Vanbrugh house.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is a delightful hotel right in the middle of Oxford. Our bedroom was spacious and very well appointed. The dining room was small but the breakfast menu offered a very wide choice. All the Staff are helpful, efficient, well trained and - most important - smiling! One word of warning. If you can't manage stairs, this hotel is not for you.

Room Tip: Side rooms have less road noise, but look out onto a derelict building.
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Sandra R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanbrugh House H, General Manager at Vanbrugh House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

Dear Sandra R,

I am pleased to read that you enjoyed your time spent at Vanbrugh House and the room and its furnishings were to your liking, our guests comfort is just so important to us.
Your comments regarding the staff will most certainly be passed on to the team. Point well made!

We look forward to welcoming you again at Vanbrugh House.

Kind regards

David Robinson
General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews